We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Hotel Molina Lario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Molina Lario
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

A lovely boutique hotel in Old Part of Malaga, just off pedestrian area. The rooms are big and airy with divine comfortable beds. The small roof top pool overlooks the cathedral and sea and has big cushions and chairs to relax on. The reception staff were welcoming and very helpful. The food is excellent and good value. Stay here - you ll love it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepsiilhagrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your gentle comments. We are very happy to know that staff, location and hotel’s facilities made you feel comfortable and well accommodated during your stay and that you spent a wonderful time visiting Malaga and its culture.
We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    980
    677
    129
    35
    12
See reviews for
240
1,027
63
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I have been staying at the Molina Lario which is very close to the Cathedral and the harbour area three times and enjoyed it every time. This time I took advantage of an on-line discount and this was good value for money.

The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms functional and clean. In the rooms there are all utilities you might need e.g. razor or toothbrush etc. and this you normally find only in 5 star hotels. My room was facing a quiet side street and I had no problems with noise. My colleague had a room on the 7th floor and was woken up by people leaving the roof top bar at the small hours of the morning.
The breakfast buffet is comprehensive and a good selection of food provides for every taste. You also can order from the breakfast menu at the table free of extra charge. The coffee machine is a bit slow and at busy times queues form because of this.
There is a bar with a magnificent view on the roof top and prices are not too expensive.
The pool at the roof top is quite small and you really can't swim there. There is a big gym but this costs an extra € 12 per go.
Staff are friendly, but could do a bit more to make guests welcome. At the chaeck in they also could volunteer the information about the free wifi.
All in all I would go there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHXTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you are a usual customer. We would like to apologize for any inconvenient you or your colleague may have had and let you know that we try our best to improve our guests’ rest and this is why, being aware of the noise issue, we are trying to implement a double pan glass window in all our rooms. About the breakfast issue, we are aware of the coffee machine but you can always order directly to the waitress and they will serve you the coffee personally at your convenience. We appreciate your honest comments and we will talk directly with our staff in order to make your stay as welcoming as possible.
Again, thank you for your review and if we are looking forward to seeing you in your next visit to the city.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two weeks on a room only basis. We had a superior room which gave us tea and coffee making facilities and a room in the older part of the hotel with a balcony looking out on the side street. The room was very well appointed kept very clean and came with a very comfortable bed. The a/c was very efficient and almost noiseless. Hotel staff were great and very helpful. The location was perfect for the old part of town, close to the Cathedral and the Picasso museum. A good beach was not far away.
The roof terrace had lovely views and was great for evening drinks. It had a small pool but the sunbathing area was small.
We did take a breakfast in the hotel on our last day and it was good with plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room for tea and coffee making facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear David
Thank you for your thoughtful comments on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear that you had a comfortable and pleasant stay with us, and that, to what we pay special attention, the environment and service, was of your taste and you enjoyed Malaga, its culture and all the charms the city has to offer.
If you ever come back to Malaga again, do not hesitate to contact us, we will be delighted to have you again.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The huge advantage of this hotel is its very central location, in the same street as the Cathedral and in easy walking distance of most of the major attractions in the city as well as the seafront and many, many restaurants. There are also wonderful views of the Cathedral and the port from the bar on the roof (which is also the place to be seen for locals as well, it seems!). It's not a memorable hotel but it does what it does very well. The room was spacious, quiet, and clean. Front desk staff all seem to speak good English and are immensely willing to sort out minor problems quickly. Breakfast was perfectly adequate: indoor or outdoor seating, a decent range of hot and cold food and other choices on request. My only gripe was the air conditioning, which didn't cool the room a lot although I was assured it was working normally. Another contributor complains that it is not a hotel you would particularly want to return to: that isn't really the point, is it ? As a base for sightseeing in Malaga - a place most tourists would probably visit just the once (and should visit, incidentally, even if on the way to the beach)- , it's absolutely ideal.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the end of a corridor, as we had. The corridors are carpeted but this way you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Simon
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience the a/c caused you and we will talk with the maintenance department to check the system. Nonetheless, we are very happy to know that you had a good time with us and that you enjoyed visiting the city.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in Malaga.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

we booked this hotel at short notice and still got a good rate
positives: Very comforable rooms, quiet, pool on roof with bar.
against: over priced breakfast, over priced parking
overall a very good place to stay. I would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motomah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Customer
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you had a cosy and gratifying stay at our Hotel. We would like you to know that we set our prices based on service and local area and that all our breakfast assortment is high quality , with seasonal products and all from the local area that is the reason why the price might be higher than somewhere else with not the same conditions.
We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We chose this hotel because of the great reviews on tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. The location is perfect; right in the middle of the old part of Malaga which means you can walk to everything. The pool bar was also a great place even though my kids thought the pool was a bit on the small side. The rooms were also spacious and clean and the staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanneInZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Susan
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to know that both, the hotel facilities and the staff, meet all your expectations and that you weren’t disappointed with what you had read beforehand. The entire Hotel team is happy to know that you had a wonderful time in Malaga and that you enjoyed the city and all the charm it has to offer.
If you ever come back to Malaga again, do not hesitate to contact us, we will be delighted to have you again.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in July and it was amazing. The hotel was very reasonably priced - considering it's location, rooftop pool and overall atmosphere/quality of the hotel.

The rooms were spacious and clean. The bathrooms were lovely. Communal areas were always kept clean and tidy. Overall it was a great hotel, lovely helpful staff and in a wonderful location.

My only negative would be the underground carpark which couldn't fit our van (had to pay €22/day elsewhere) but apart from that, it was ace and only 2 minutes walk from the airport bus.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear John,
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We are grateful to know that you had a wonderful and pleasant stay with us in Malaga and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience the underground parking lot might had caused you.
We are looking forward to seeing you in your next visit.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,851 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molina Lario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molina Lario

Property: Hotel Molina Lario
Address: c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Business Hotel in Malaga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Molina Lario 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Molina Lario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molina Lario málaga
Molina Lario Hotel málaga
Hotel Molina Lario Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing