We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great position”
Review of Hotel Molina Lario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Molina Lario
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

a great hotel , friendly staff , good bar and food at reasonable prices. A few steps to the sea front bars and marina and 5 minutes from the main shopping areas. Clean rooms well equpped. plumped for a junior suite foe an out of season bargain ... the free whisky in the room is a nice touch

it lost a star for a hard bed and my biggest bugbear , thin towels !!!!

small pool at the top of the hotel , quality loungers and a great view of the harbour and north to the mountains over the rooftops of malaga. situated next to the very impressive cathedral

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yenkcoh220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,948 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

My partner and I and a girlfriend recently spent a week at Molina Lario Hotel. We knew the location was ideal as we had lived in nearby Alhaurin El Grande until January 2013. What we didn't know until we stayed there was just how excellent a choice the hotel was! We are quite well travelled and so we have encountered some dire hotels in our time. Which means our expectations are quite high. We were soon feeling relaxed about our choice. Our room was well arranged and kept spotlessly clean. Although we overlooked a busy side street, we were not disturbed by noise except when the local café owners were moving barrels over the cobbles in the early morning. Our girlfriend had a room which overlooked the courtyard which was quiet but lacking much natural light. The reception staff were extremely helpful and polite. We practised our Spanish with them, their English was probably better! We didn't eat in the restaurant though the menu was appealing, as we preferred to find local restaurants. We did sample the breakfast which was nicely presented and appetising, though we felt it was overpriced. Free Wi-Fi in the rooms and a choice of pillows and a towelling bathrobe were very nice extra touches. We would recommend this hotel as an ideal place to stay and when we go back to Malaga, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the Molina Lario after we disembarked from our cruise. The place was impeccably clean and of a fairly high standard. It is the best location if you want to spend a few extra days in Malaga... very central, close to all shopping and many restaurants and of course close to the best attractions Malaga has to offer... The price was also amazing, especially that we booked online to benefit from the best deal

Room Tip: ask for a room on the older side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel is perfect for a city break in Malaga. The hotel is convenient located in the heart of the city, but in a quiet street, Molina Lario, just three minutes walking from the overcrowded Larios Street where you can enjoy shopping and walking around. Rooms and toilet are large, with modern furniture, and they have all you can need, coffee maker included, which is not very frequent in Spain. The hotel is new, and includes two buildings linked, one of them is new and the another is an old building refurbished. I was in the old refurbished part and I advise this because its high ceilings and larger size. Beds are very confortable. Staff in reception was kind and helpful.

Room Tip: I advise superior room in the old refurbished building with views over Molina Lario Street from you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mistralksk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We recently stayed for 5 nights in a 1 bedroom suite with connecting room for the kids. Good combination and nice space, you actually have 1 main door for both rooms. So it is like a 2 bedroom with an extra living room.

Rooms were nice, bed was ok, but why are the extra beds always so bad. It should be possible to have a proper extra bed and not some cheap fold away for which you have to pay a high charge.

Anyway as said rooms were nice and our youngest sleeps everywhere. So no problems. Only minor bit was our shower, the door was not closing properly so our bathroom looked like a pool after taking a shower.

Breakfast was a bit of a hassle. Since we were usually a bit late, but still on time, many things were already finished and even we had to 'clean' and set our own table. On the last day we were a bit earlier and then the tables were set and there was actually a menu for eggs etc although nobody bothered to take our order.

Best to just go outside and have breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MvdK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our last night in Spain in Malaga. The hotel is a modern standard four star hotel which has a great bar/ restaurant downstairs and excellent breakfast. The main plus with this hotel was its location. Just near the cathedral and the old park of the town makes this an excellent place to stay. We got home after dinner and then decided to go out for ice cream. The shopping and dinning streets around the hotel are excellent. It was a Sunday night and they were all in full swing at 10pm . The hotel is also a 5 min walk across the road to the wharf area and more great restaurants and not far from the Alcazaba and Fortress.

Malaga was a pleasant surprise for us as were not expecting such a vibrant and beautiful city. The guide books do not do this city justice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zitaaussiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed in the hotel from 23rd to 28th dec 2013. Second time in hotel. Had room 511 looking out onto the street. Room was was modern and quiet. Beds really comfortable. Breakfast had everything u needed. Staff very pleasant yet again. Hotel is in the perfect spot for the town and the port. Returning to the hotel again in February with friends and family. Hayley and Simon :-)

Room Tip: Request a high floor as you don't get any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HayleyandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 89 in Malaga
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelo Malaga
#4 of 89 in Malaga
3,161 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
536 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molina Lario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molina Lario

Address: c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Business Hotel in Malaga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £117 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Molina Lario 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Molina Lario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molina Lario málaga
Molina Lario Hotel málaga
Hotel Molina Lario Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing