We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel in a great location to explore the city”
Review of Hotel Molina Lario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Molina Lario
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed in the new part of the hotel - top floor with views over the Marina (Superior Room 706). The room was reasonable size - with sofa, coffee table, desk, minibar etc. It lacked any bedside tables though - which was a little inconvenient. Another downside of this room was the road noise - despite the double glazed windows it was still noisy. Perhaps the rooms on the other side of the building (calle Bolsa) would have been quieter.
The beds are firm - excellent and there's a choice of pillows.
Bathroom was fine - quite large, but the shower was temperamental - especially early in the morning - I guess when there was lots of demand.
Breakfast was good - but avoid peak times when it can be manic. Best time seemed to be around 10ish - it goes on til 11. Selection was good, although working out where everything was took some time on the first morning.
Free wifi in the hotel was good - a little sluggish at times but good enough.
It was really windy when we visited so the pool area and bar was too clod, but it looked like a nice spot to sit and relax. Great views of the Cathedral from there too.
The location is excellent. Easy walk to the new marina area (lunches, snacks, boat trips, shops) and the beaches. Level walk to the main shopping and restaurant areas (5-15 mins depending on how far you want to go)
We had a nice welcome on check-in, the guy talked us through the location and recommended a couple of restaurants and things to do. All the staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English.
Overall a good, convenient hotel in central Malaga.

Room Tip: Some of the new rooms have a view over the marina/docks, but the drawback is lots of road noise. The...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pottering_pasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,922)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Molina Lario
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 1,922 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotel is ideally situated, only 15mins taxi journey from the airport and in the heart of the city. Surrounded by the Cathedral and some very good restaurants, the castle is 15min walk. The rooms are spacious for a city hotel , clean and the roof top pool adds a nice touch. All what you need for a city break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joecasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a 3 day mini break to Malaga in Feb 2014.

Good points...
Perfect location
Safe area and within walking distance to all of Malaga's sights, the old town, restaurants, marina and shops.
Very modern and clean hotel
Great pillow menu choice in rooms
Good value for money
Great choice of food at breakfast
Free water in rooms
Swimming pool on roof


Points for the hotel to work on...
When we checked in we received a very unfriendly welcome. It felt like we were interrupting the staff, even though we were the only guests at the desk.
Upon check in, they did not give us the basic information that everyone needs (breakfast location, Wi-Fi password).
No effort was made to enquire about our trip, or to attempt to make the stay extra special (we were there for a 40th birthday trip).
We were really disappointed as this, as we explained the reason for the visit within the booking
No offer of upgrade options/costs were provided.
Wi-Fi performance was very slow across all the hotel areas.
Mattress was hard
Only two English speaking TV channels, please add others!
Swimming pool area is small with very few beds. It was full on a sunny day in Feb.

In summary, the hotel's location and modern clean decor would mean we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an external view of the cathedral
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise0191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was our second visit and yes the place is still very good and just about lived up to our first trip excepting i feel it was rather understaffed,especially at breakfast or maybe this was just due to the hotel being busy,not sure but i feel they need more people around.We were given a free upgrade on arrival to a superior room and this was a nice gesture,room was on sixth floor and was very good with all the usual fittings and a very comfortable queen sized bed.Food again very good with ample breakfast menu and plenty of good coffee,we had room service twice in the evenings and again the food was very good and bought quite quickly after ordering.Would we stay again... yes but i feel you need to do a good search to get the best price before you go as some sites do charge very high rates.

Room Tip: have a good search on the net,there is quite a difference in charges between all the sites using thi...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just spent a great night here. The location was fantastic for central Malaga. Staff friendly and attentive, beautiful room with a small balcony, good breakfast too. I note other comments regarding hard beds, but we found our bed to be really comfortable. Also complimentary bottles of water, a carafe of a local liqueur (which we didn't sample) and peanuts. Well stocked mini bar which was also not stupidly priced and loads of added value extras. Even an umbrella for your use, which unfortunately was needed. We've stayed in 5 Star hotels in Malaga and have got to say that the Molina Lario was better.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and we could hear a lot of street noise, but not after midnight, whi...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperQ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Great Location in the middle of everything. Good Roms which were ready despite our early arrival. Good Service. Can recommend! Only minus I Could find was that their Garage was under Renovation dring our Visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glodstaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed with my Dad for 4 nights at this Hotel. It is in the perfect location for exploring Malaga. I had considered other hotels but plumped for this after Trip Advisor research. Downside first - beds a bit hard.
But lots of good points. As stated location excellent for shopping, Malaga old town, Cathedral ad bars/restaurants, Harbour area. We had a junior suite and it was lovely and kept to a great standard. My Dad has arthritis and needed a walk in shower. The room was kept clean each day by housekeeping. Surprised at one reviewer as I thought the Wi-Fi was good. Breakfast was excellent. Front desk very helpful. Pool area was lovely but pool just too cold in Feb!!

I would highly recommend this hotel and thought it was great value for money.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite but to be honest don't know if we really needed it for just two of us.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ret174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#4 of 89 in Malaga
3,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 89 in Malaga
1,096 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
518 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molina Lario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molina Lario

Address: c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Business Hotel in Malaga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £122 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Molina Lario 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Molina Lario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molina Lario málaga
Molina Lario Hotel málaga
Hotel Molina Lario Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing