We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel in good location”
Review of Hotel Molina Lario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Molina Lario
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quality hotel in good location”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here on a short weekend break and found the location ideal with restaurants, shops, the beach, the marina and other sightseeing locations all in walking distance. The room suffered from a bit too much street noise but apart from that the facilities are what you'd expect from a 4 star hotel and there was nothing that caused complaint. Breakfast is buffet style for pretty much everything which meant a little queueing but nothing too bad. The weather was good so we appreciated the rooftop sun deck, though the small pool was too cold to try.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    705
    132
    35
    12
See reviews for
245
1,059
63
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Like most people our main experience of Malaga was the airport. Decided to spend a 5 day break in the city as it seemed similar to Palma which we visit frequently.
Took the Line A express bus into the city at a cost of 3 Euros each, journey taking approximately 25 minutes. The bus has 7 stops terminating at Plaza de General Torrijos, and for the Molina Lario and adjacent AC Marriot hotels get off at 2nd last stop Alameda Principal. Short walk around 200metres to hotel.
We chose this hotel due to its high rating and its location adjacent to the Cathedral, City centre shopping and the Old Town area of Malaga. It is also close to the Marina area with its abundance of restaurants and also short distance to beach.

The hotel is made up of an original building and a more modern building with the main entrance being in the new building. We had booked a Classic Room on the 7th floor of the new building. The room was of adequate size for a short stay and pleasantly furnished. Unusually for a Spanish hotel there was a kettle, coffee, tea etc replenished daily and complementary bottles of water. In addition robes, slippers and an umbrella (fortunately not required) were provided in room. The bathroom had a good selection of toiletries with bath, shower, bidet etc.
The breakfast dining room is rather compact with the outside area closed in early season. So the tables were very close together which made accessing the various areas of the buffet difficult at busy times. The buffet provided all the usual combination of hot and cold options although choice limited due to size of dining room. Quality of breakfast was very good with everything being regularly replenished by waiting staff.
There is a very small pool on the roof with 5 sunbeds and some couches, tables and chairs. It was fine for relaxing at this early season but will probably be rather crowded during peak summer season.
We didn't have dinner in the hotel restaurant so can't comment, but had a drink each evening in their pleasant bar which adjoins the restaurant on the ground floor.

Will certainly return to Malaga and would be happy to stay in the Molina Lario again.

Room Tip: A room on the 7th floor provides direct access to an outside seating area and an outside stair to po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had a really enjoyable stay here. The room was a good size, with a very comfortable bed, pillows etc. The bathroom was one of the best-equipped we've had, even in more expensive hotels - and a special mention for the housekeeping which was immaculate.
Didn't really find the breakfast room as difficult to negotiate as some reviewers have, and what was on offer was varied and good quality.
The hotel's location couldn't be better - a few minutes from the beautifully-restored seafront and a few steps from the cathedral. Our room had a balcony looking onto a sidestreet, which was very quiet most of the time. I should mention, though, the street-cleaning lorry, complete with flashing lights, that slowly passes around 4 am every day. Not too bad - except on one night of our four when various humming and rumbling went on for hours. Not the hotels' fault, and their double glazing is good.
Reception staff were friendly if not super-efficient (we were initially checked in to a classic room until we pointed out that we had book a 'superior', and there were small items on our bill that we had not had).
But these are minor quibbles - we loved our room, ate too much breakfast, and appreciated the great location. Would definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank G_M_NGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here on a short visit after travelling back from Seville, the hotel is in a perfect location to see everything and a short walk to the marina with some fabulous restaurants. The room was very comfortable, clean, spacious, tea and coffee in the room a bonus. The roof top pool and bar a lovely extra with wonderful views. The only down side was that we had a room over the side street which was very noisy despite the fact the room had double glazing, so a few glasses of wine before bed would probably help or ear plugs. Plenty of lovely restaurants near by, but a lot of them were closed on Sunday evening. Breakfast is a must, plenty of choice and additional breakfast menu on the table with additional items the staff were very helpful and polite. Breakfast was 9 euros each which we thought incredibly reasonable. Will definitely stay here again if on a visit to Malaga and would highly recommend, but not to much or we might not be able to get a room.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djb472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, beautiful room overlooking quiet street. Very clean and modern, excellent location, excellent staff, friendly, helpful and speak English. Nice bar and rooftop pool. Perfect!!!

Bars/ restaurants literally on door step of hotel, harbour/ beach about 20 mins scenic walk.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Londondiners999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The hotel is located right next door to the Cathedral, in the old part of town. The main pedestrianised shopping street is just steps away as are a myriad of eating places. The marina area and cruise terminal are just a few minutes walk away and the marina area offers dozens of restaurants and bars.
To get here from the airport, you can take a bus or the electric railway. If you take the railway, it's only 4 stops and costs just E1.75. It's a lot easier than driving and, more importantly, parking in the city. If you take the train, get off at the very last stop. Come out of the station (there are three possible exits) and head for the main road that crosses the river area and turn right. It's literally 5 minutes walk from there, if that.
We were upgraded from a standard room to a superior one for free and the room was large, with a bid bathroom, fridge, effective air-con, etc. It was clean and very comfortable - with the exception of the hard bed which was the only negative.
There is a great rooftop pool and an open air lounge and a nice bar/restaurant downstairs although you'll probably be tempted by all the external offerings.
When we return to Malaga, and we will because it is a really great city, we will definitely come back here.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a high floor given the local restaurants, especialy if the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotel Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Friendly reception. Large room with very small window to the inner court. A few little things (shower hose, water outlet, radio, TV, room too cold, missing duvet) were not OK, but were changed/repaired/brought quickly. Large bed, furniture & bathroom perfectly OK, few little things (like spoon for tea in the room) were missing. Breakfast very good, but breakfast room too full and cramped at/after 9 a.m. Pool and lounge on roof very nice and with great view.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Marianna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
2,971 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 88 in Malaga
1,076 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molina Lario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molina Lario

Property: Hotel Molina Lario
Address: c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Business Hotel in Malaga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Molina Lario 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Molina Lario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molina Lario málaga
Molina Lario Hotel málaga
Hotel Molina Lario Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing