We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Your Money”
Review of Hotel Molina Lario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Molina Lario
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Value for Your Money”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a very pleasant stay. This is an excellent hotel. It is modern, very clean and comfortable with a small rooftop pool and bar that allows a magnificent view of the city. The hotel room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was spotless. Internet access was always available. Hotel staff was so professional, pleasant and helpful. The hotel has a perfect location next to the Cathedral and Malaga old town, with easy access to the main roads leading in and out of Malaga city. Churches, museums, art galleries, historic sites and restaurants are all within walking distance. To get to Malaga Port and Malagueta Beach, take a very pleasant walk along the main boulevard with its magnificent park (Paseo del Parque) in the center of the city. Local buses, taxicabs and sightseeing hop-on/hop off buses are next to the hotel. Upon returning to the hotel one night we requested a very early wake up call for the following morning because we would be going on a tour. The receptionist promptly said that because we would miss breakfast they would prepare a picnic lunch for us to take on our trip. That was so unexpected and very thoughtful. Should mention that the breakfast buffet is excellent. A great variety of high quality, delicious food. Would stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMCANBUDGET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    694
    130
    35
    12
See reviews for
242
1,042
63
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Central location near the Cathedral and the main shopping area. Citysightseeing bus hop on-hop off, local bus station and taxis are right next to the hotel. There are many shops and restaurants and the entire city life gravitates around this hotel. There is a beautiful park (Parque del Passeo) right across the street and it goes straight to the beach La Malagueta which is at 7 minutes away. There is a small swimming pool on rooftop opened until 8 p.m.and after 10 p.m. there are parties and a lounge bar. Staff is great, rooms are big enough and the 10 EUR + VAT per night for a balcony room is a value deal, breakfast means hot and cold dishes, fruits, croissants etc. and you may also ask them to prepare you some special free of charge dishes/desserts (there is a menu on each table). They also offer you information about ways to visit different cities in Andalucia and also nice guided trips. I'll definitely stay at this hotel next time I go to Malaga.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Núria V, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Silvia,
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. All our staff appreciates your kind comments and is very happy to know that not only did you have a comfortable and pleasant stay at the hotel but you enjoyed and spent a wonderful time visiting Málaga and all its unique attractions.
We are looking forward to seeing you and your family again in your next visit.
Best regards,

Núria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here for five nights in January, the hotel has a great location right on the seafront and adjacent to the magnificent Cathedral. Rooms are modern and a good size and come with a four poster bed and a decanter of free whisky!! The roof top pool and bar is small but has great views overlooking the Cathedral and the sea. I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel whether your stay is for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Núria V, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Alan ,
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. All our staff appreciates your kind comments and is very happy to know that not only did you have a comfortable and pleasant stay at the hotel but you enjoyed and spent a wonderful time visiting Málaga and all its unique attractions.
Again, thank you very much. Reviews like this make all our hard work worth-while. We are looking forward to seeing you and your family again in your next visit.
Best regards

Núria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This modern hotel is in an excellent position between the Marina and Old Town, adjacent to the Cathedral.
It is worth paying the 10 euros per night to upgrade.

Lovely, although small, roof top pool with great views to the Marina and the Cathedral. Pleasant reception staff.

Excellent housekeeping.

Room Tip: You need to upgrade to deluxe room to get the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitstop_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Núria V, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments. We are very happy to know that you had a comfortable stay in Barcelona and that you enjoyed your time in there and all our staff appreciates your nice opinion.
We are looking forward to seeing you in your next
Best regards

Núria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Coming to malaga for my Birthday we decided to stay here for the first 3 nights. After arriving and receiving a free upgrade, we went to our room and were delighted. This hotel is modern, right in the centre only 50m away from the cathedral (with views of it from the pool lounge area). The room itself was very clean, neat, quiet and was everything we wanted as a base for our stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly too.

However, the negatives were the wifi- it is being upgraded or something and as such is very temperamental.
Also the pool/lounge area is very small- although I didn't see this as a major issue, it can be annoying when you want to sit in the sun for an hour or so in the afternoon/evening and there are no spaces because people have decided to be on the pool for the day. There are about 10/12 chairs and maybe 8/10 loungers. We did get a space, but this was after waiting on occasions. Furthermore, it seemed strange that they hey had another level where it appeared people could sit which had additional spaces and chairs, but this was closed for our stay.

So it comes to 2 things, would I stay here again- certainly would! Why isn't it a 5* rating? simply the price. For what we paid I was very happy, but we had been upgraded room wise. If onto then I would think that (along with prices of drinks in the bar) it was slightly expensive compared to the other hotel we stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PartTimeFoodie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Looked at this through TA and thought give it a try....we were not disappointed.
Took advantage of the €10/ night upgrade as recommended.
As soon as we entered the front door the staff were experienced and friendly, talked us through what was happening whilst our 6 day at the hotel was happening....fashion show one evening and the Jazz night not to be missed.
The room was large with two bay windows opening onto the restaurants below..we were on the fourth floor room 420. The bathroom was large with good shower and Beth, the toiletries supplied were of good quality.
The minibar was slightly expensive, but to fill with water was plenty of room. We were supplied with complimentary brandy which we tried, the room was cleaned very well and the staff on this floor were very good.
The pool on the 8 th floor was only accessible by the lift as the door was locked until 10am. This is a good idea as there are limited loungers and people do go at ten and secure 3/4 beds with towels then piss off for several hrs and do the sightseeing bit, which is a little bit annoying.
The towel service in the room and around the pool area is Excellant.
The breakfast is off good quality and filling.
We had dinner one evening with the Jazz night which was also very good quality.
There are plenty of good restaurants around the hotel....especially La Mafia at the top of high street, fantastic crepe's.
The walk to the harbour restaurants is great 10/15 mins really works up a thirst, the stalls in the evening are really great to visit and really well priced products.
Would definitely stay on our next visit

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JC1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I am staying at the Molina Lario right now as part of our honeymoon and while we are low maintenance travellers, this hotel has been a pretty big disappointment.

The positives: the rooms are nice and clean and the views, if you have a room with them, are nice. There are no real beefs there.

But considering we are paying about the same as we did for a five star in another city that was truly amazing, we are really upset about the following:

A major part of why we booked the hotel is for the pool. But the pool is the size of a postage stamp and they have crammed in so many chairs and fold out weird mats that you have to step over people or risk falling in the pool just to get around.

The lounge attached to the pool isn't open, which would have been nice as a way to enjoy the evening views.

The service is bad. When you are standing at the pool bar for 20 minutes as the waitress stares at you and attends to other customers, something is not right.

There are no wine glasses or openers for wine in the room, so we have to call down every evening and wait just to have a glass of wine before going for dinner.

There is no gym and if you want access to one you have to pay extra and walk about 20 minutes to get there.

And it's worth noting that no one at the front desk so much as bothered to wish us congratulations, even though they knew it is our honeymoon.

At this point, I am considering checking out earlier and moving to another hotel because we were hoping for a really nice stay on such an important occasion.

This is not the worst hotel, but for the price, you can surely find somewhere better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elbadgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
2,906 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 88 in Malaga
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molina Lario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molina Lario

Property: Hotel Molina Lario
Address: c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Business Hotel in Malaga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Molina Lario 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Molina Lario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molina Lario málaga
Molina Lario Hotel málaga
Hotel Molina Lario Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing