We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Hotel Del Pintor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Del Pintor
Ranked #11 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We have just returned from a 5 day stay at the Hotel del Pintor and what a fantastic experience it was, the hotel is unbelievable, the staff are very helpful and you are very close to all the amenities in Malaga, particularly the arty quarter. I booked this hotel by luck but am so glad I did.
What more can I say... wonderful wonderful wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happywandererUpNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2009

We stayed a week in this hotel at the beginning of October. Arrived about 10.00pm, the reception staff were very helpful and efficient checking us in. They also provided maps of the town and details of bus services etc. The room was scrupulously clean and the airconditioning (controlled within the room) invaluable as it was 30+C most days. The decor is modern minimalist throughout and very pleasant.The hotel is no more than 200yds from the centre of the pedestrionised old city with its vibrant night life and a multitude of cafes, restaurants, and cultural attractions. Throughout our stay the servicing of the room was excellent and the reception staff were extremly helpful. We will certainly stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ChrisChris16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

The decor in this hotel is really the business. There isn't quite art on every wall, but every single fitting and fixture has been meticulously selected to make a powerful and striking experience. The rooms are very well furnished - and its in a great location (though difficult to find in the first place) to explore this great city on foot.

Sadly our stay here was marred by appalling attitudes displayed by the staff. Normally I find the Spanish service profession to be generous, kind, and more than willing to go the extra mile - here, we were treated very grumpily when treated at all, and ignored several times over the phone and in person at reception.

A few things to note: this hotel has nothing to do with Picasso if that's specifically what you're after, but another local artist.

There's also no restaurant as such and breakfast is a rather odd affair: just one small communal table right by reception where the staff occasionally throw toast at you.

An interesting visit, and a good hotel in any city, but there are better places to stay in Malaga.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuckmantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We stayed at this hotel for several days over a two week period. The reception staff was very friendly and accommodating; the maid very attentive. The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Malaga within walking distance of most touristic sights. The facility is modern and safe. At just 52 euros per night, the hotel is better priced than some of the newly arrived "discount" chain hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marbella10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Hotel del pintor is located in very central Malaga. Just a stone`s throw away are a lot of nice bars and restaurants. I stayed in a single room, which was small but got all the things i wanted. newly modern decorated showers, tv, clean, toiletry, etc.
Staff was very helpful and friendly. although walls a very thin (as everywhere in spain) i could sleep good. i would go there again. i didn`t choose breakfast - there are loads of nice bars around where you can get breakfast. also liked the selection of news magazines in the room. nice extra! the paintings and the decoration are very nice too.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

The room and the whole hotel was very clean. For the price the room was very chic. We had no experience of any kind disturbing noice. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is convenient but the hotel was a bit difficult to reach by car.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foca_Blanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

There is a major building conversion going on directly opposite the hotel and when the noise from that stops, the noise from the street continues until well into the early morning - we got to sleep at 5am. The traffic is constant outside on the street and it is a thoroughfare for late night revellers. When we spoke to the receptionist, he was not at all sympathetic, he just said that it was a problem for all guests. I think that 90 euros was much too expensive for this room.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nualaBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,234 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Pintor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Pintor

Address: Calle Alamos 27, 29012 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £52 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Del Pintor 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is a modern 3-star city hotel in the historic center of Malaga. We offer rooms with a unique decor, designed by our painter and poet Malaga, Pepe Bornoy.This decoration, present in every corner, is based on contemporary art in red, white and black.We are very close to the Picasso Museum, Alcazaba, Gibralfaro, Cathedral or the Cervantes Theatre and just 5 minutes from the beautiful Calle Larios or a 15 minute walk from the beach of La Malagueta.All around there are countless restaurants and tapas bars.All rooms are soundproofed Painter, air conditioning or heating, Wi-Fi, desk, satellite LCD TV and private bathroom with hairdryer and amenities a cute game.The Hotel del Pintor has a car rental service and bicycles as well as a 24 hour reception where we tell you about the sights of Malaga.The Painter offers the service bar / cafe / room service, serving drinks, snacks and meals 24H. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Del Pintor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Pintor Hotel
Hotel Del Pintor Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing