We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
Ranked #11 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted.”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

A friend and I booked to stay in Room mate Lola for a weekend in Malaga. Its proximity to the centre was perfect for us as we didn't have a car so it was just a 10 minute walk onto the Alameda. The hotel itself is very trendy with lots of different room to relax in our favourite being the chill out room, although there also was pink room and the breakfast room. The hotel came with free WiFi which was ideal in helping us search places to eat in Malaga. The area of Malaga it is in is the equivalent of of London's Soho area, there are a few bars and quite a lot of risqué night-life. The room was very clean and the staff were very helpful. However one downside to the room was it was very hot, although it was March and the weather we had at the time was unusual. The rooms have a tendency to carry noise which is slightly irritating at night but not enough to prevent any sort of sleep. The other Room Mate hotel in Malaga is in the epicentre of Malaga which would have been ideal, but unfortunately not in our price budget. Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    421
    128
    29
    10
See reviews for
59
583
43
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed here for one night this week. I arrived really late so probably didn't see it in full motion, but it appeared very neat and clean. The rooms look good, they're not very 'warm' in style, but are trendy and modern. The reception staff were helpful and good with directions.

It's about 5 minutes walk to the main shopping strip of Malaga. Parking wise though - beware. It's super tight to get in and around the cark park so be careful!

It didn't blow my mind, but it was clean, tidy and fine.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great location, very clean and beautiful, great service and adecuate breakfast......but the shower has a cycle of every 30 seconds you go from warm to really, really cold to really hot and back to normal ....
Also the trash (you dont see it) is pick up in the street across the hotel every night between 12.00 and 12:30 am, very loud!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
333 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed in Room Mate Lola two weeks ago (3 nights in a standard room) and really enjoyed our short stay.
The hotel has a great location, very close to the old town, approx. 5-10 minute walk from the train station on Alameda Principal (very handy, quick and cheap for getting to/from the airport) and within walking distance (5-15 mins) to a lot of attractions like Cathedral, marina, shopping area, Alcazaba etc. It also didn’t really feel like a red light district area, however it can become quite noisy at the weekends, at nighttime and early hours of the morning. There is a small family-run shop only 2 minutes from the hotel (round the corner) where you can get all your essentials (water, beer, snacks etc); we also found a great cute bakery/cafe nearby called Love Is Bakery, on Alameda Principal No.37, only 5 mins from the hotel - great cakes and cupcakes, fantastic place!
The standard room we had (no. 202) was lovely, clean and very comfortable even though may seem quite small. We had their buffet breakfast included in our rate and it was very tasty, adequate, with fresh products but quite limited choice (e.g. no hot food, no veg like tomatoes for sandwiches etc, but their Spanish omelette was absolutely to die for). We really liked their breakfast but if you prefer eating something new each morning, you may be disappointed.
The staff were nice and helpful (e.g. helped us book into flamenco show), but definitely lacked a bit of smile and warmer & friendlier approach to guests.
All in all we really enjoyed our stay in Room Mate Lola and would recommend this trendy modern hotel to others without hesitation, the value and great location that you’re getting is really hard to resist.
The things I can suggest to the management to work on are: offering a bit more choice at breakfast, providing tea & coffee facilities in rooms (it wasn’t possible to get a cup of tea in the afternoon, we were told they’ve no kettles to boil the water...) and staff being more friendly and engaging. My rating would’ve been higher if it wasn’t for those little things and touches that were missing and that are a must in a 4-star hotel; therefore only 3-stars today from me!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the staircase if possible. We didn't want to spend hours waiting for the ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balkans
Level Contributor
99 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I Chose this place for its high Tripadvisor rating.
On the first morning I went to get breakfast late, 10 Minutes before they closed the service.
I was greeted by hostile waiting staff who started my breakfast experience by taking the tray away containing coffee cups in the middle of me making coffee.
When I expressed my dissatisfaction the response was pretty much F@#K You! breakfast is finished. Whilst arguing with the waitress the waiter continued quickly clearing away everything in front of me before I had chance to help myself.
I wish I'd never bothered as the coffee I did eventually manage to sample was acrid! The remains of the buffet breakfast was disgusting and I wish I hadn't bothered at all!
This place is over rated with exceptionally ignorant and rude staff.
The manager did try to appologise a while later, but I was so wound up and annoyed over the whole episode that I was in no frame of mind for apologies. I cancelled our breakfast booking for the next two mornings and we ate out.
The rooms were of reasonable size and fairly comfortable.
The bathroom was reasonable with a shower that flooded the floor and either froze you or scalded you once you'd spent 5 minutes adjusting the control for acceptable temperature.
There were no bath robes or slippers.
Sound insulation in the room was extremely poor.
I certainly will not stay in this hotel or chain again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jamestoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Clean and central located hotel with free wifi. For the price nothing to complain.

One can, however, already see that a lot of the interior and furniture is cheap. Even though the hotel cannot be that old yet, the furniture in the lounge and the carpets in the corridors show already substantial wear and tear.

Still. I recommend this hotel to anyone staying for a short time in Malaga. The train station for the train to the airport is literally three minutes away.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fere0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dokkum
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Nice place to stay, just two steps away from the old city center and the bus to the airport. Also the railway station is just a fifteen walking minutes away.
Good beds, nice people. .............................................

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank j z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,851 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Hotel Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Hotel Malaga

Property: Mariposa Hotel Malaga
Address: Casas de Campos 17, 29001 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Room Mate Lola)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#12 Business Hotel in Malaga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariposa Hotel Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mariposa Hotel Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Lola Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Lola málaga
Room Mate Lola Hotel málaga
Mariposa Hotel Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing