We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Central location”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed there for a few days in June and were very satisfied. The rooms are clean and beautiful and the hotel has old style decoration. It's in a central location, walking distance from almost everything, squares, cathedral,museums and the port. But even if it is in a central area noise is not much of a problem. Breakfast is satisfying too, maybe a little bit more variety needed but ok. We would come back!

Room Tip: we stayed at a left side room and were very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonkst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    421
    128
    29
    10
See reviews for
59
583
43
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a lovely chic hotel in a fabulous location. Pleasant receptionist greeted us when we arrived. Language was no problem. The hotel felt modern and it was so clean. We had a yellow themed room at the back. Free safe. Good size bathroom with bath and shower. We slept so well, never heard any other guests moving about etc.

We didn't have breakfast so we can't comment. The hotel is on a quiet street round the corner from a bus station, and then beyond that to the Port. Easy walk to the Cathedral and Picasso Museum, perfect location. Malaga itself is so beautiful, the port and beach area are lovely. We hired bikes and cycled all round that area. In the evening the whole area is lit up with restaurants and people making their way down, wonderful atmosphere. We are certainly planning to go back to Malaga, and would definitely stay in the Room Mate Lola.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Went to Malaga for a friend's wedding & found this hotel via googling hotels close the Marriot. This hotel grab attention with it's 1920 decor & was reasonably priced for being pretty much in the centre of Malaga. It is 5mins walk from the hotel into Malaga centre, 15mins to a gorgeous garden & about 20mins walk to the beach... all depending on your strides, I'm a shortie.

We didn't have the breakfast at the hotel as prefer to sample the local flavours of where we're visiting. There are loads of places for breakfast, lunch & dinner & tons of places for a lovely ice-cream. The locals are friendly, even though they don't speak much English, but that is part of visitng a new place - taking in the culture :-)

The hotel is also about a 2-5min walk from the train station which is 11mins to the airport, which is absolutely brilliant & a single is 1.70 Euro - bargain compared to the Heathrow or Gatwick trains!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnie_wentzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel. Great location, not hard to find. No noise problems. The staff were okay but didn't find them friendly. Guests are able to borrow beach towels with a €10 deposit per towel. Please note that there is another Room Mate hotel in the middle of the shopping area so double check before booking. About a 15-20 minute walk to the beach, we walk fast. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights, for our honeymoon, we reserved a standard room but we were upgraded to the executive for free. the location is great, about 5min walking distance to the Larios, the main central area, spacious room, very clean and with new furniture, very big and comfy bed. the rooms don't have balcony, but it's ok.
the hotel sits on some very quiet, small streets, but in the morning, if you sleep with your window opened, you will hear every little noise coming from outside.
Breakfast was not so great though, for 10 days, eating the same breakfast every day it was terrible. only omelet, fried bacon, 2 types of cheese, 2 types of ham, fruits and yogurt. one morning, we asked if we can have fried or boiled eggs but they refused and that is not nice. they don't have any vegetables at breakfast!!
regarding the parking the hotel charges 17euro/day, but if you have a car, you can park on the streets next to the hotel, and read what it says on the meters for the parking. it's about 1euro/hour, but it's free between 13:00-18:00, and also at night and on sundays. we could easily find a place to park every time, it's much cheaper.
when it comes to cleaning, everything was spotless every day, except for the fact that in the first 3 days they changed our towels every day. starting from the 4th day, they didn't change them at all, unless we would leave them on the floor..

we want to thank especially Pablo, from reception who was absolutely great, he gave us a lot of tips regarding places to eat, things to see, other then touristic places, and he was extremely nice and friendly the whole stay He's an asset for this hotel!
overall, it was a very nice experience and would definitely choose it again, but room only, without breakfast :)

Room Tip: any side of the hotel leads to a quiet zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTA2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iseo, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I'm Italian but study in Marbella, went to Malaga with my boyfriend for a quick visit of the city,
The hotel is located in the near centre of Malaga, less than 5 minutes walking far from Larios, which is one of the main streets of the city, where all the shops are. Easy to find and 10 minutes far from the airport. Ther's a parking on site but also many blue parking lines pretty cheap.
The reception is open till late and also the breakfast is until 12:00 for lazy late riser as my boyfriend.
The staff was really friendly and Italian speaking. I found many nice items in the rooms as a message from the housekeeper saying that it was a pleasure to make my room, a welcome letter from the GM, complementary water and postcards, a full affordable minibar, laundry and bathroom amenities.
Breakfast was great. It has an extra cost that it definitely worths. The Buffet was both sweet and savory, fresh croissants, bread, tomatoes, ham, cheese, anything you would like to have for breakfast!
The room also was really clean, the air conditioning working perfectly, shower with bath tub.

I actually find the hotel really nice in all the aspects and I strongly reccomend it. Actually to any kind of guests: young couples as me, mature couples, business. I have no bad comments to say.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaPagliarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A quite location in the centre of Malaga and within easy reach of good restaurants and attractions. We stayed one night and the room was very modern and clean. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast however was very poor with cheap ingredients, which is a shame in such a very good hotel. It would be preferable to have less selection and better quality ingredients.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,858 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Hotel Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Hotel Malaga

Property: Mariposa Hotel Malaga
Address: Casas de Campos 17, 29001 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Room Mate Lola)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#12 Business Hotel in Malaga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariposa Hotel Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mariposa Hotel Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Lola Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Lola málaga
Room Mate Lola Hotel málaga
Mariposa Hotel Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing