We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
Ranked #13 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is situated perfectly between the harbour and the busy town. We were slightly disappointed however with our stay. The room was very clean, no issue at all with that but our 'double bed' was simply 2 single beds pushed together which was not very comfortable. Another thing, we didn't find the staff at all welcoming or friendly. When we arrived for check in, we stood at the desk for about 5-10 mins whilst the two members of staff continued their conversation, no acknowledgement what so ever, Not a great first impression! If we were ever to return to malaga, I am unsure if we would return to this hotel, if we did, it would be based on the location.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Missjessicalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

I was in Malaga for a short mid-week getaway and enjoyed a lovely stay at Room Mate Lola. My standard room was cosy, but felt bigger and brighter from clever use of lighting and mirrors on the walls and closet doors (lots of closet space!). The massive bed was super comfortable and my room was very quiet. Even though I was next to the lift I didn't hear it at all.

Its retro-chic style is fun and totally fits in with its location in the newly designated “Soho” neighbourhood of Málaga. What used to be a somewhat dodgy part of town has been transformed into an art-filled neighbourhood, within comfortable walking distance to pretty much everywhere I wanted to go. I also liked that I could easily walk there from the train station with my suitcase and laptop.

The hotel staff was both friendly and professional. And there was excellent (free!) WiFi throughout the hotel. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I stayed in Room Mate Lola in Malaga for 2 days. It is located 1 min from airport by walk and 30 sec by run to reach the Hotel. It is located at the centre of Malaga. It gives the full view of Malaga from top of the hotel. They were having a good collection of photos to narrate the heritage of Malaga city. The room was pretty clean and perfect. Staffs are kind to help you at anytime. Food is really good and delicious. High security and well protected hotel. Free Wi-Fi all around with high signal strength.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmosManCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The location is ideal! Close to public transport connectivity. Parking here is expensive and they don't reserve a spot for you. We returned our car to the car rental co. the day we arrived in to Malaga from Sevilla.

Rooms are huge! Decor is stylish. Bathrooms are quiet big as well!

Staff is friendly. Breakfast is decent. Not bad for the price!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siddhi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Like others I found the location of this hotel to be perfect to easily explore the city, just a short walk to the action, yet in a quiet street. We had a standard room, which was larger than you would find in many other hotels. The bed was super king size & very comfortable. Not only is the hotel stylishly designed it is well thought out in terms of comfort & practicality. There is plenty of storage space, the power points are conveniently located and rooms are equipped with a decent hairdryer. The bathroom has plenty of towel rails and gorgeous citrus scented toiletries. Staff were very friendly & helpful and the whole 6 nights were very easy & relaxed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TipsyScone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had one of the Suites in the hotel which were very comfortable and modern with a good size living/lounge room as well as a bedroom area. The service was great in the hotel and everyone was very friendly. The breakfast offering was quite limited though with not as much variety as we had in another hotel we stayed at in Malaga. Also we had to wait 40mins before they cooked more scrambled eggs to put out in the buffet so as each guest came down for breakfast they asked for eggs and were told 5 minutes (breakfast service on our first day did not have this problem). Also whilst the Suite we stayed in was a fantastic room which we enjoyed, the floorplan of the hotel leaves a lot to be desired as the door to the Maid/Cleaning cupboard is right next to the Suite door. This means from a VERY early time in the morning you will have someone right outside your door preparing their trolley and all cleaning items getting ready for servicing the rooms. So for light sleepers like us this was not ideal and strange to have this right next to the more expensive suite on each floor. Aside from the poor breakfast on one of the mornings, the noise from the maid outside our door each morning was the only thing we had issue with. Otherwise the hotel was a pleasure to stay at and this is a chain I’d consider staying at again.
It's in a good location 5mins walk to the main pedestrian shopping streets, 10mins walk to the waterfront shops and restaurants, 20mins walk to the beach.

Room Tip: The suites are lovely, however are next to the elevators, stairs, and maid cleaning cupboard so not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MR-Dublin-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Had a great couple of nights in August. Air con. Close to shops and Botanical Gardens. Stylish design but lacking bar and restaurant. Easy to find with good access to rail and bus network. Good value, very clean and lovely bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beviec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,233 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
553 reviews
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Hotel Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Hotel Malaga

Address: Lugar Casas de Campos 17, 29001 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Room Mate Lola)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#12 Business Hotel in Malaga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £79 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariposa Hotel Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mariposa Hotel Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Lola Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Lola málaga
Room Mate Lola Hotel málaga
Mariposa Hotel Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing