We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely clean rooms in an ok location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
Ranked #13 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
435 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Lovely clean rooms in an ok location”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel surprised us, very nicely designed rooms (executive room), spacious, spotless and comfortable. The staff were also very helpful and friendly. The area is a bit rough but nevertheless just a few minutes easy walk from Calle Larios and the Cathedral. The only negative was that the cleaners and/or other guests were opening and closing some doors which banged very loudly and woke us up several times. We could also here some noisy building work on the street, apart from that the hotel was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eatthemeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    434
    129
    30
    10
See reviews for
62
594
44
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in April. Rooms are spacious; cleaned thoroughly every day; had continental breakfast here twice-reasonable value.
The staff were really helpful. I was here for Semena Sancta and was told best places to go. Must single out Josan who was really pleasant

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel from the 3rd to 8th April 2014, as part of a first time trip to Malaga. The hotel staff were very helpful and efficient on check in and the room we were allocated was great - room 404 on the top floor. The room was well decorated, spacious and very clean. The hotel is situated in a quieter part of central Malaga, close to the metro station and only five minutes walk to the main tourist areas of the city. I have stayed in a Room Mate hotel previously and had a mixed experience. However, I could not fault anything about this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone who is planning a trip to Malaga.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the fourth floor - quiet and spacious
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We booked and paid for five days B & B and were told breakfast started at 7.30am every day. We were leaving early for the airport on the last day and went down at 7.30 to be told breakfast did not start until 8 on a Saturday. We explained our situation and were met with total inflexibility. Cereal, fruit juice and rolls were there, and the hot food was being put in containers, but the receptionist said: "If we let you have it early, we would have to do it for everyone." This was nonsense. There was no-one else in sight. He phoned our room at 7.50 and said breakfast was ready, insisting we had time to get to the airport. We said we did not have time. We checked out at 8 and asked if he would, at least, deduct the cost of a single extra breakfast for our daughter who lives in Malaga and visited us one day. Again, total inflexibility. We had to pay for this extra breakfast. All of this may seem insignificant in the grand scheme of things, but it really annoyed us that we had paid for two breakfasts we did not get, and were refused even a bread roll because of a receptionist who was incapable of adapting to the situation, insisting that HE always told people about breakfast times. There were no breakfast times posted anywhere in the hotel, by the way. This was my second stay at this hotel, but I will never return, although I must say other staff were all very pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Set in a quietish part of town but within easy walking distances to main attractions.

Rooms simply furnished; reasonable quality fittings. Good bathrooms.

Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Good breakfast too.

My room faced street which was pedestrianised but still some noise in morning.

All in all good value for money.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben-Saud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed several days at this hotel at the beginning of April and had a really nice experience: cleen and cosy room, good location and excellent service! Thank you all team of Room Mate Lola! Will definetely recommend to our friends!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VM130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We recently stayed a few days in Málaga, in Room Mate Lola.
This fairly new hotel is well situated, near to city center and sea.

Staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. Beds are comfortable.

Although we asked for a quiet room, we at first got room 107, overlooking Casas de Campos street, but, in front of our window were, as in many streets, city dustbins situated. As such, nothing disturbing, were it not that the Servicio de limpieza of the city usually empties these containers at around 02:50 a.m., and not in one time; but we had the honour of being woken up twice ... two different lorries. This event happens every night.

We complained and eventually got a quiet room.

Breakfast is quite simple, absolutely not 4 star, rather a good two star.
WiFi reception in room 107 was horrible, next to inexistant. In our second room, this was OK.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms at the end of the hotel, like 107, 207 etc..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Acacia9051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
2,917 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
441 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 88 in Malaga
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
1,860 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Hotel Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Hotel Malaga

Property: Mariposa Hotel Malaga
Address: Casas de Campos 17, 29001 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Room Mate Lola)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Malaga
#12 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariposa Hotel Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mariposa Hotel Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Lola Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Lola málaga
Room Mate Lola Hotel málaga
Mariposa Hotel Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing