We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quirky hotel off the beaten path.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
Ranked #12 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Hotel can be a little hard to find if driving a car. Yet once there it all worth it. Staff was super friendly and the room spotless. Close to center of town and the boardwalk of the beach and port. plenty of places to eat nearby.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less pedestrian noise when the windows are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank atravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed for just one night in July.
The room was neat and spotlessly clean, and most importantly had an airco that blowed like a hurricane.

Location is great, right in between the lively downtown and the beautiful boardwalk.

Staff were courteous and helpful, especially Oscar who went out of his way to make sure we didnt take any wrong turns in the city.

I hope to return for a longer stay in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Spartakk L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We we're very pleased with our stay at Room Mate Lola.
When we arrved we met a very friendly man who upgrated our room for no reason.
The room was perfect and clean.
The hotel is in Malaga centrum and it takes about 20 minutes to walk to the beach.
Great experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MarteeO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Staff members are really friendly and informative, the rooms are clean and offer the usual services. Rooms are spacious and the ceilings are nice and high, which helps if you're not used to the pressing, Malaga heat. Rooms come with air-conditioning and free wi-fi. Wi-fi was a bit of a letdown. Slow to non responsive at times. AC was sufficient and quiet enough.

The breakfast service is a slightly above average continental breakfast. Try the whole grain, mini croissants, they're surprisingly tasty.

Location is OK, it's near enough to the city, the Puerte and a bus station, so you can get around quickly. The neighborhood is for a lack of better words... Odd. Not bad, just odd. The recession hit Spain hard, so a lot of the buildings nearby are seemingly empty. There are remains of-what I think-used to be a soft-core sailor area, with sex-shops and a brothel. At least, I think that's what it was. Not to worry, you'll feel safe and the streets are quiet and clean.

We had no issues with noise or anything (we were on the second floor), the only thing that woke us up, were the garbage trucks, collecting garbage from the subterranean garbage collectors, in the early mornings.

A suggestion: ask for the guided tours. The reception can book you a guided tour to several places and we picked the Gibraltar dolphin tour. Costed a little less than 40 euros per person, with discounts for children. With that, you get a guided bus tour to Gibraltar, with a guide offering you some explanation and who gets your through customs smoothly. The dolphin tour was a FANTASTIC experience, ESPECIALLY for just 40 euros and being on the road for almost a full day.

Great hotel, would definitely recommend or stay there again.

Room Tip: We had room 202, second floor, which is just high enough not to be bothered with noise from the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

When first arrived location was quiet driver couldn't find it but then couldn't believe how close this hotel was to the beach and everything else, restaurant and shopping area. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovellah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I am a young man who travels a lot. I have been to many hotels around the globe and this hotel looked good and is well situated in the center of malaga, but what makes this hotel unique is the friendly staff. When arriving the hotel we had some problems with a lightbulb while also needing some extra sheets for the bed - this was nothing the staff couldnt solve in the best way as possible. At hotel Lola, expect a very service minded staff. Everything from restaurant and bar recommendations, to places to visit, the staff will be very glad to help you - and wow, the restaurants they recommended all tasted amazing (and I am a picky man). Beside this, if they are not too busy with other customers, they will gladly have a chitchat with you. Personally I have had chats with all the receptionist and they were all really cool and smart people. When it comes to where the hotel is situated, it is situated in a peaceful street but only 20 meter away from a boulevard where you will find fast foods. On ther other side of the boulevard you will find the old town and all the goodies you as a tourist would like to experience (places to visit, shopping nd restaurants). The rooms are ok, everything except from a lighbulb did work (nothing the reception couldn't solve). Estethically speaking the nice looked well, but they were a little smaller than rexpected, yet comfortable to stay at. What makes this place unique is the service minded staff. Recommended

Room Tip: Ask for the purple room unless you want to live in a yellow one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. We upgraded to an executive room (401) and it's the largest room we have had in two weeks and the first king size bed. The room was clean and quiet. It is within walking distance to main attractions.

If you are driving a car it is challenging to find. There are so many one way streets in the hotel's location. We eventually figured it out and were able to park in the hotel's underground garage.

The staff was friendly and check-in was a breeze!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#4 of 89 in Malaga
3,157 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 89 in Malaga
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
536 reviews
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Hotel Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Hotel Malaga

Address: Casas de Campos 17, 29001 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Room Mate Lola)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Malaga
#12 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £84 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariposa Hotel Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mariposa Hotel Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Lola Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Lola málaga
Room Mate Lola Hotel málaga
Mariposa Hotel Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing