We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Ranked #19 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel was incredibly easy to find. We caught the train from the Airport to Malaga Centro. When we exited the station we could see it straight ahead. It was about a 10-15 minute walk to the main attractions.

The room was your typical Ibis room. Decent size with a desk, chair, wardrobe and a basic couch. My only complaint is that the air conditioning was not working. I'm assuming they only turn it on during the summer. The bathroom was also a good size. A combination hair and body gel was provided in a large tube.

The wifi connection worked well for simple browsing, Facebook and emails.

Would definitely recommend this hotel based on value for money and location.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that doesn't face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d-eilatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 2,464 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank aligs81
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at the Ibis Malaga Centro Cuidad during a 3 night holiday to the city the first weekend of March. I booked online through Accor hotels as that was the cheapest way I could find.

On arrival at Malaga airport, the train station was just outside the terminal building, so we hopped on one of the frequent trains to the city centre. We got a ticket to Malaga Centro (not the Mario Zambrano) as I had read in previous reviews that was the station nearest to the hotel. We took the exit from the station signposted Andalusia Avenue and from there it was a 10 minute simple walk (and I am a slow walker).

Check in was quick and the guy on reception explained everything regarding the room, café and bar etc. in good English. As mentioned in another previous review, ask for the wifi code on check in. You could also get a map of the town from reception.

We were on the 4th floor as we had requested a smoking room. The room was a reasonable size with a (fairly uninspiring) view over surrounding streets, but it had an opening window, and was extremely clean. It had an en-suite shower room with multi-purpose soap/shower gel dispenser, towels, toilet paper and hairdryer. The shower cubicle was a lovely large size with easy to use controls. There’s no tea/coffee making equipment supplied so you need to bring your own travel kettle, although we didn’t bother as the bar does decent tea and coffee and is open 24 hours. There was a flat screen TV with a couple of English news channels and a very comfy double bed. All in all it was a good functional room and was cleaned daily while we were there.

From the hotel there are several footbridges over the river to the town centre. It was a 5 to 10 minute stroll to the historic part of town, with numerous café bars and restaurants down all the little side streets, a couple of lovely ornate churches and plazas. We chanced upon the market the first day there, which is full of butchers and fresh produce stalls of all sorts and was very busy. A further 10 minute walk took us to the port with its gardens and long promenade.

We spent out days exploring the town and ate out in a different restaurant each evening, returning to the hotel for a nightcap. We ate breakfast in the hotel on the first morning there but as we aren’t lovers of continental breakfast we didn’t think it was very good value for the money. It would have been nice to have a hot section or at least an omelette/egg station, however there was a wide choice of cereals, fruit, breads, cheese and ham which was replenished frequently.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Malaga and would happily return to the Ibis Malaga Centro. The hotel provided all the basic needs for a decent stay, excellent staff and the location to the town, port, trains and buses couldn’t be faulted.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pushkathecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We booked this well in advance and paid 57€ for the 2 of us including breakfast and is excellent value. Hotel is in a good position around 10 minutes walk from the train station that connects to the airport and 5 minutes to the Cathedral and the centre. it's around a 30 minute walk to the bus station. I could find no fault with the hotel- the staff were helpful, spoke good english, bed was really comfortable, bathroom facilites were excellent and the continental breakfast was as good as any we've experienced in Spain.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sean1006
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank chasmac_11
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Ibis is kind of the IKEA of hotels. And that is meant in the nicest way possible.
What you see is what you get. It's not super cheap, but cheap and you get what you need and it works and looks okay at the same time.
This Ibis in malaga was really nice. The bed was surprisingly good. So good, I kept going on about it to my wife.
The breakfast for 7-8 Euros extra was nice enough.
If you just need a good nights sleep I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
3,317 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Zenit Malaga
#27 of 88 in Malaga
482 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#36 of 88 in Malaga
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad

Address: Calle Cerrojo 01981, 29007 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Perchel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Malaga
#8 Family Hotel in Malaga
#9 Business Hotel in Malaga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £43 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad 2*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Malaga, easily accessible from the airport, the Ibis Ciudad de Malaga hotel is close to the principal tourist sites of southern Spain. The city centre and its numerous museums are nearby via the pedestrian streets of the capital of the Costa Del Sol. 189 airconditioned smoking or non smoking rooms are available for booking, with WiFi Internet access. The hotel features a bar and undercover parking. Pets accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad Hotel Malaga
Ibis Hotel málaga
Accor Malaga Centro Ciudad
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing