We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with a few disadvantages”
Review of El Riad Andaluz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Riad Andaluz
Ranked #6 of 37 Malaga B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with a few disadvantages”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

There is a lot to like about El Riad Andaluz - the charming decor, the friendly owner, and the adorable resident dog are three of them. The hotel has a central courtyard with free tea and coffee, really nice in good weather and lovely to spend an hour. Each room is individually decorated and named. The owner we met was also extremely friendly and gave us a map and suggestions for what to do and see in Malaga while we were there. She also very kindly moved us to a double room when she saw that we were a married couple who wasn't that keen on twin beds! It's also well located for Malaga's best attractions as it's in the historic centre of the city.

Unfortunately, neither of the rooms we saw had an external window, which meant they were very dark even in the middle of the day. The room also didn't have a proper light, so it stayed dark most of the time. In addition, the bathroom isn't actually a separate room; there is a transparent curtain blocking it off. You need to be very comfortable with the person you're staying with or things could get embarrassing quickly!

Overall we had a lovely stay, but it's worth bearing in mind those two disadvantages when choosing a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mbookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    93
    32
    15
    7
See reviews for
55
161
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nerja, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a lovely pension in the old part of the fascinating town of Malaga. The hosts are both french and very welcoming and the building from the XXVIII is fascinating. We were there in Septembre and both Malaga and the pension was warm as in summer .The room itself was well decorated. Pension has a private parking,free cofee and internet and reasonable (for Spain ) breakfast. overall very good value.We'll be back in winter.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lukas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Really fell in love with this hotel. It is small and quaint located in the middle of Malaga city. Decor has a real spanish feel to it as it is lined with evil eye wall hangings etc... Lovely area downstairs with hammock and comfortable chairs to chill. Free tea and coffee available and free wifi which can be assessed downstairs. Our room was quite small but i loved it. One double and one single bed for my mother and I to share. The toilet is sectioned off by a curtain and a short wall - you would need to be reasonably comfortable with the person you are travelling with, due to the facilities haha. Hotel is close to everything in the city. My mother and I never once got a taxi we explored by foot. Hotel beside a lovely square with beautiful restaurants for breakfast, dinner and delicious cocktails.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netphen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at the "El Riad Andaluz" for two nights. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The room was in Arabian style which was very nice and cosy. Unfortunately we had a room with no real window. The bathroom was only separated by a curtain. Free coffee and tea was provided.
The hotel is very close to Place the la Merced, which is perfect for visiting the city.
All in all I can warmly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed in the purple room with the balcony overlooking the courtyard so it was very peaceful (except for some renovation work in the property next door during the daytime) and as its located just to the north of the old town's sights you can get about really easily and explore the streets of Malaga. Its away from the coach tour crowds but close enough to walk everywhere including the train station and to find somewhere close by for breakfast.
Friendly and knowledgeable owners (plus pets!), the rooms are small but well designed and nicely decorated - the balcony room is great. The building is traditional so its cool at night without air conditioning.

Room Tip: Ask for the purple one with courtyard balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Arrived late in the evening..but that didn't stop Florence phoning around numerous restaurants to find something open for us so we wouldn't go to bed on an empty stomach...we had the "blue room" which was plenty big enough, comfortable and tastefully decorated throughout in a Moroccan style.

The little side street serving the hotel is traffic free so it might be a little tricky to find if you're not familiar with the area or have a load of luggage to carry..the Plaza Merced is close by and a great place to have a coffee in the morning and people watch.

The property next door is undergoing a complete renovation so if you're a light sleeper you might hear some building work in the morning but not enough to detract from a great hotel run by helpful and knowledgeable staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markandgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I love a business, when it can relax a bit and treat you like one of their own. Florent and Florence did just that. Situated in a lovely side street, our room was more of a suite. Two balconies, two bathrooms, two beds (handy after a row), two pets; Petite Boufou (that's not right, I know but it's the closest you're gonna get) a lovely grey bushy tail cat and his chum, Maurice the pug. I'd like to say they were as welcoming as our hoteliers, however they had other plans.

Our room was simple and airy, with a moroccan feel. Important: Not all the rooms have a window. There is a lovely inside leafy terrace and sky light. Free tea, instant coffee and water is available, but it's a short walk into town for espresso cafes and more.

On a more useful note, we were given local maps with great places to eat, safe parking is available two minutes away (small charge) their own garage - pre book this.

The highlight for me was the welcome. We really hit it off with Florent and Florence. Lovely people. They deserve to do well...

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phvickery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 87 in Malaga
2,957 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 87 in Malaga
1,075 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 87 in Malaga
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Riad Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Riad Andaluz

Property: El Riad Andaluz
Address: Calle Hinestrosa 24, 29012 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — El Riad Andaluz 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our traditional Andalusian hotel, in the heart of Malaga's historical centre. Located in a small quiet street next to the Cervantes theatre, close to Plaza de la Merced and to the house where Picasso was born, El Riad Andaluz is a unique place in Malaga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your El Riad Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Riad Andaluz Hotel Malaga
El Riad Andaluz Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing