We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place- but leave the car behind.”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We had seen this place before and liked the area.It is convenient by foot for the centre of town. Local buses( with some changes) take you all over town including the airport and train/bus station.There are plenty of eating options nearby and the beach is only three minutes away.It is however, a lousy place to park a car,so beware of high charges in local public car parks.
The team are really helpful and the rooms are very clean/comfortable with some quirky decor twists. Breakfast is ample.The sun deck on the roof is a great place to relax.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juntemada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

I booked Hotel California just two days before travel as a budget getaway from the Great British Weather. I could not have been more delighted! Exactly what I was looking for. Spotlessly clean throughout, well equipped bathrooms with good hairdryers. Effective, quiet fridge and air con. Lovely decor, comfy beds.
Service is second to none. Nothing is too much trouble and staff were very helpful with my attempts to speak Spanish!
The room I initially had, tho perfectly adequate, had no balcony/view. I enquired about an upgrade and this was arranged the very next day, as soon as the room became available.
Beach just a few minutes walk and easy walk to town. Bus stop right outside hotel and good taxi service. Supermarket, pharmacy, tobacconist, newsagent, deli, bars and restaurants right on the doorstep. Perfecto! I will be back....!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Fantastic little hotel on the beach! Charming vintage building with well-maintained lobby and common areas. The rooms clean and comfortable with TV, closet and refrigerator. A few rooms even had small balconies or terraces to enjoy the view toward the ocean. The location is great too – about a block away from the beach and about a 10 minute walk to the city center. I felt this hotel was a great value (around 70 Euro per night – in Oct. 2011), great location and great room. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: I would see if you can get one facing the ocean with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The first thing one notices about the hotel is old world charm & character. Look out for the pet turtle and bird on the 1st floor. The hotel had a family run feel. Our room was clean and tidy with a good sized bathroom. the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was good. The one downfall in our room was the very noisy air conditioning unit (it looked a bit worse for wear). The beach is a 5 minute walk, the city centre is about 20mins walk away. A handy base to check out Malaga.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DublinSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

First of all I would like to thank all the staff at Hotel California, Malaga for their EXCELLENT hospitality!!! Our stay in this hotel was perfect! We stayed in room 302 (twin room) which is at the front of the hotel on the main road. First impression of the hotel and room was cleanliness... spot on! My partner and I are very tidy people, so whether our room needed to be cleaned or not, the girls cleaned our room and changed the towels every single day, including changing our bed sheets. Air con in our room... what a blessing as the temperature in August is HOT! HOT! HOT!. Beach is 5 mins stroll (depending on how fast you walk, could be 2 mins). There is also a supermarket before you get to the beach. The city of Malaga only 10 mins walk. We LOVED Malaga Feria... absolutely buzzing!!!! Please go to the Feria in August, you will not believe the size of the Fair/entertainment at night which is not in Malaga city, but not far from Malaga airport. I would say, 30 mins bus travel from our hotel, but it is well worth it. Bus fares are so cheap too (1.20 euros each way). Thank you again to all staff at Hotel California, Malaga. x

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

From the hotel, in a 10 minutes walk you can reach Malaga's historic center: La Alcazaba (ancient muslim castle) and the Picasso Musseum. And in just 5 minutes you can be at the beach, rent a "tumbona" and stay all reading and drinking mojitos. Certainly it is not the best beach, though is still a city beach but for a short trip and without car it is very confortable to move walking to everywhere.
The hotel is simple and clean with an armonius decoration. The staff is very hospitable, always smilling, they make you feel at home.
I was not my case, because I travel alone, but try to hire one of the rooms with seaview because althought the hotel is in second line from the beach, you can see it.
Also, highly recommended the solarium at the terrace where you can rest after the beach, read a book, smoke or just see the beatifull sea view.
The breakfast was the part I don't like because it was not buffet and that means you can not choose if you want to eat more salad or less sweet. Coffee or tea, bread, mermelade, a croissant, little cup with fruit, chees and jam , muesli and yogurt. I wll prefer to choose perhaps a diet yogurt or less jam and more mermelade. The quality of the croissant was not good, so the second day I went to the patissiere that is just in front (Delicias) and I bought an amazing chocolate muffin and a portion of cheescake.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PauGreco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

So what do you want from a city room, 15 minute walk to the centre and a host of busses outside the door. In a quiet safe residential area with a view of the sea. And breakfast of fresh orange juice, hot fresh croissants and bread - a wide selection of ceral fresh fruit meats and cheese served to your table and presented beautifully. As well as friendly front of office staff. And the price is good as well. One small downside the hotel is on a main road so if road noise is an issue for you ask for one of the quiet back rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 87 in Malaga
3,352 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Hotel Villa Guadalupe
#22 of 87 in Malaga
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#5 of 87 in Malaga
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: Paseo Sancha 17, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#8 Best Value Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £59 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel California 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel málaga
Hotel California Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing