We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent, especialy if you rent a car, like we did. Because in front of the hotel and in some other spots in the vecinity you will find 24h free parking! It's the white striped alveoles.
You might want not to book a room with front side windows, because on some hours in the morning the guys that pick up the garbage are using noisy equipments.
They have a nice terrace, smoker friendly. The hotel is near the old town and the beach. When we went to the beach, we didn't like the sand and the sea was very dirty!!! The massage service on the beach and a nice restaurant saved the day.
Thw wi-fi signal is very poor in some rooms and the acces is possible by a code that expires in three hours. Very important... you can reuse the codes.
There is a very friendly atmosphere when you get to the hotel because they have some cool plants with a great smell in front!
The staff speaks english and in the reception you can find flyers about the main attractions from Costa del Sol.
The hotel is not that new and some parts ar affected by humidity. Fortunately we had nothing to do with those rooms. If you go to the beach(not only in Malaga, but other cities from Andalucia) you might not find sunbeds. So ask the reception for umbrellas and beach towels.
I eat a lot in the morning. For breakfast they bring one piece of jamon serano/ salami, 1 slice of cheese, 1 piece of bread, 1 yougurt, some milk and cereals, a small bowl with pieces of fruits, 1 glass of orange fresh(it really is natural and fresh), 1 croissant, some fruit jam and butter and 1 coffe. We stayed for a week and I didn't like the repetition of this breakfast every day. Plus I don't like that the was no buffet...
One day a guy kindly asked if I want more of someting, and I wanted some serrano, chees and bread for another bocadillo. I asked again the second day anothet guy and he was not that friendly... I also asked for an extra glass of water and some more coffe but he seemed to forget. As I reminded him he kept bringing one thing at a time... When finally asked the third time for some coffe he brought me 2 in 1. It was an unpleasant event that didn't repeated, but it happened...

Room Tip: Don't choose a room with frontside windows. Those are very loud. They have two kinds of rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claudiuflorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    112
    25
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
164
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Hotel California is a very nice hotel, run by 4 brothers and a sister who'll do their best to make your stay as nice as possible. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the beach and also at walking distance from the city center. There is also a busstop almost in front of the hotel. There is a library and computer that can be freely used by guests. A nice and healthy breakfast is served in the hotel. There are "normal" and superior rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms that are not at the street side are quieter than the ones on the front and the back of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsterdamAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

A hidden gem! Small boutique hotel in a great location. 1 minute to the beach, 5 minute into old town and also 5 minutes to the marina. The rooms are nice and clean and we had a sea view with a small balcony. Staff are friendly. I would stay here again if visiting Malaga.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I chose the hotel based on tripadvisors' comments and it was great decision.
It's very easy to get to the hotel from Malaga Centro Alameda (train station) by 3rd bus (1.30 Euro) or by taxi (4-6 Euro). Or you can take taxi from the airpot (about 23-25 euros).
The hotel itself is very cure. The staff is friendly, helpful and English speaking (which is great))) My room was big enough, will air conditioner, small bathroom window looked to the sea. There is a small fridge. There are nice pictures on the wall. First time in my life I liked paintings.
Sound isolation is not great, but it's problem everywhere in small hotels.
Cleaning was ok.
Breakfast was perfect to me.
The main thing is location. It's just 2 minutes walk (accross the street) to the amazing beach!!!!
I do recommend this hotel for those who would like to spend amazing vacation near the sea.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

A family run Hotel with character, which is very close to town Centre, just one block back from the sea front. Roof top sun terrace with views to the sea. Very helpfull and attentive to clients. Not too noisy despite being on bus route into town. Yet close enough to walk. Off street parking is available. Good room value and good breakfast service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmb376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed one night on the way to our hoilday in Spain. The owners we very accommodating, the rooms were clean and presented well with air conditioning.
The breakfast was also very well presented. The underground secure parking and roof terrace were a bonus. We would use again

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms on differnt floors both towards the back and front and both were of a very good stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CakeFairy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

A lovely family run hotel, near the beach, near a big Supermercado, the local busstop in front of the hotel (easy travelling with the buses!), a few minutes stroll to citycenter, if you would like to do that instead, breakfast super! Much more than I would eat at home. And you may just ask for more coffee, no problem!
A wonderful terrace on the 4th floor, where I used to drink may take-away coffee in the evening. Many bars and restaurants nearby.
My room was very spacious, cause it was a ment for two and I had it for myself. Everything very clean; room, bathroom, cupboards, nothing at all to complaine of!
There was a flat screenTV with all possible channels you could wish, the bed excellent, had a view from my window on a gorgeous bougainvillea and other beautiful flowers.
The staff was very helpfull, always friendly, helped me to find all kind of places and events, answered all my countless questions...and one evening when I came back to the hotel very late, after a trip to Gibraltar, the señora made me coffee! I preciated that more than I can tell!
Coffemaking facilities in the room would have been an extra plus, maybe something to consider?
This hotel is a real gem, hard to forget. I will surely stay there again, if going to Malaga!

Room Tip: Don't book a single room, pay just a little more, and you will have space enough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanneEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,715 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Centro
Las Vegas Hotel
Las Vegas Hotel
#23 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
La Malagueta
Hotel MS Maestranza
Hotel MS Maestranza
#13 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Paseo Sancha 17, 29016 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Malaga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel California 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel málaga
Hotel California Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing