We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel California
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Larios(Malaga)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
AC Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Molina Lario(Malaga)
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad(Malaga)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
157
138
32
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
138
32
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkthree brothershotel is beautifully decoratedgeneration familya lovely family run hotelyogurtbus stop right outside the hotelsea viewclean and spacious roomsnice rooftop terracebeach and city centrebreakfast is servedbreakfast was amazingstay there againnew marinathe busbalcony room
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel seems very good at a first glance. Then bit by bit you start discovering it does not offer all what it promised. Starting with charging you for internet use while on the website was mentioned it was for free, a cleaning lady who does not touch the bath and leaves the towels next to your bedroom to the receptionist with the attitude...

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
8  Thank Jasie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A trip to Malaga will only be enhanced by staying at the Hotel California. A quirky and historic building in a great location seconds from the sea and minutes from the best this fabulously underrated city has to offer. The staff were unfailingly and cheerfully helpful. The breakfast, as has been noted in other reviews, is plain but plentiful and well worth the extra euros.

Room Tip: 304 is a room with a view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sareoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent, especialy if you rent a car, like we did. Because in front of the hotel and in some other spots in the vecinity you will find 24h free parking! It's the white striped alveoles.
You might want not to book a room with front side windows, because on some hours in the morning the guys that pick up the garbage are using noisy equipments.
They have a nice terrace, smoker friendly. The hotel is near the old town and the beach. When we went to the beach, we didn't like the sand and the sea was very dirty!!! The massage service on the beach and a nice restaurant saved the day.
Thw wi-fi signal is very poor in some rooms and the acces is possible by a code that expires in three hours. Very important... you can reuse the codes.
There is a very friendly atmosphere when you get to the hotel because they have some cool plants with a great smell in front!
The staff speaks english and in the reception you can find flyers about the main attractions from Costa del Sol.
The hotel is not that new and some parts ar affected by humidity. Fortunately we had nothing to do with those rooms. If you go to the beach(not only in Malaga, but other cities from Andalucia) you might not find sunbeds. So ask the reception for umbrellas and beach towels.
I eat a lot in the morning. For breakfast they bring one piece of jamon serano/ salami, 1 slice of cheese, 1 piece of bread, 1 yougurt, some milk and cereals, a small bowl with pieces of fruits, 1 glass of orange fresh(it really is natural and fresh), 1 croissant, some fruit jam and butter and 1 coffe. We stayed for a week and I didn't like the repetition of this breakfast every day. Plus I don't like that the was no buffet...
One day a guy kindly asked if I want more of someting, and I wanted some serrano, chees and bread for another bocadillo. I asked again the second day anothet guy and he was not that friendly... I also asked for an extra glass of water and some more coffe but he seemed to forget. As I reminded him he kept bringing one thing at a time... When finally asked the third time for some coffe he brought me 2 in 1. It was an unpleasant event that didn't repeated, but it happened...

Room Tip: Don't choose a room with frontside windows. Those are very loud. They have two kinds of rooms... very spacious and very small.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudiuflorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Hotel California is a very nice hotel, run by 4 brothers and a sister who'll do their best to make your stay as nice as possible. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the beach and also at walking distance from the city center. There is also a busstop almost in front of the hotel. There is a library and computer that can be freely used by guests. A nice and healthy breakfast is served in the hotel. There are "normal" and superior rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms that are not at the street side are quieter than the ones on the front and the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmsterdamAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A hidden gem! Small boutique hotel in a great location. 1 minute to the beach, 5 minute into old town and also 5 minutes to the marina. The rooms are nice and clean and we had a sea view with a small balcony. Staff are friendly. I would stay here again if visiting Malaga.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews