We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, value. Perfect for exploring the region.”
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed with young children. They have great value interconnecting rooms but you need to book direct as these don't show as options on the booking sites. Super convenient for getting around the region as it's at the main train station and adjacent to the mall with its shops and restaurants. Fun, quirky decor, loved by kids and adults alike. Bar stools that look like loo seats, a slide down the lobby, lots of picasso'esque touches. Staff were very friendly and efficient. We ate both in the bar and in the main restaurant. Very good value and quality. Excellent wine list in main restaurant. Would happily revisit.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjkDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,073 - 1,079 of 3,173 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

The Barcelo Malaga is very modern, a little quirky, centrally located by the main railway station and a large shopping mall with taxis on tap 24/7 for the short cheap hop into the centre of town, to the marina, or the airport. Sadly lacking a pool or anywhere pretty to sit outside, but good bedrooms, comfy beds, very quiet, and brilliant showers. Good buffet breakfast....no kettle in rooms....I took my own!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank betseybooc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel is very convenient for the airport because it is next to the station. It is also easy enough to get to a decent beach and town by taxi for about 5 or 6 euros a trip. The staff are pleasant and my room had a comfortable bed and a decent en-suite bathroom, all for £75.
I can't say much more about it because it really did not provide much more than the necessities. I did not bother with breakfast in the hotel, as there are a number of very jolly cafes nearby that serve good coffee and where you can sit in the morning sun.
I would stay again if on my own, but this is not the most romantic of places to stay as a couple.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ros h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here at the end of September after a brief stay on the coast.Great transport links to the airport via train.the hotel, booked on a room only dea,l was exceptional - one of the best we have stayed in.Ultra modern and with direct access from Maria Zambrana station (not Malaga central).The only downside was location.We thought the hotel was more central - my mistake.You needed to get a bus(or train) into the centre or walk (about 12mins). We had presumed there would be bars and restaurants nearby but this was not the case, so it was necessary to travel into the centre of Malaga which has excellent bars and restaurants.Public transport is plentiful and cheap, however.Disappointed there were no tea or coffeemaking facilities.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

As other posters have said the hotel is a 10 minute transfer from the airport
Staff couldn't be more helpful
Room was very good, contemporary and larger than average. Bed was great, maybe 6' wide and very comfortable.
Bathroom was large with a nice shower.
Safe was handy and easy to use
No tea or coffee making facilities but there was a fridge
Slight drawbacks? It's 20 minutes to the old town by foot and the hotel itself is in a bit of a run down area
That said, Malaga was great for a short break and the hotel was perfect for our needs
Definitely recommended

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

An enjoyable trip in a fun, clean and quirky hotel. Didn't do breakfast as plenty of reasonably priced local alternatives nearby. Thought €18 a bit much? Ground floor bar, gin trolley, slide from 1st floor and outside terrace all very good. Strange omission was lack of tea & coffee in the room. When I enquired was told either room service or order at the bar. Very clean, good facilities in room. Air con needed even though it was early Oct. 28° at night, dropping to a pleasant 23° at night! Hotel staff generally friendly and non intrusive. Whilst some may choose as 1-2 night stay, but we found it pleasant for a 5 night break. Location perfect with 15 min transfer on train from the airport for €1.70. 20 min walk to the old town or €5 taxi ride. Marina not too much further. Ignore pool comment below as there wasn't one. Could not remove on my tablet!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mallers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Modern hotel with large rooms, conveniently located above Malaga's biggest railway station. Area is bustling during the day but a little seedy at night. Around 20 minutes walk into the city centre and double that to the beach area. If your stay in Malaga is merely a base for a broader Andalucian visit then this is a perfect hotel though for a short, Malaga centred holiday there a better located alternatives.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 89 in Malaga
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
565 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Centro
NH Malaga
NH Malaga
#9 of 89 in Malaga
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#2 Family Hotel in Malaga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £74 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga
Barcelo Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing