We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff. Excellent Value.”
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here for five nights recently and enjoyed it greatly. At £80 per night b&b it was a very fair price to pay for a spotless,spacious room and bathroom, shower and bath [standard]. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful with nespresso coffee machines a welcome bonus.
The standout for us was the staff. All of them unfailingly professional and helpful. We normally don't bother reception or concierges for advice but here we received such good advice with a smile that we used them again and again for day trips and restaurant suggestions. Luis the barman is also a good source of local knowledge. Ask him about the beach restaurant with no menu. The waiters simply shout out what they are carrying and you take as many as you wish. Or the 5 beers for Euros 3 at the waterfront. That's where he goes.
Hotel restaurant was good with very reasonably priced food and wine.Ideal for those who want a quiet night 'in' after a long day away.
As has been said by others, the location is ideal if you plan on days out by train or coach, as we did. Conversely, the walk downtown isn't the prettiest but a taxi is only about 5 Euros.
For the same price, we would stay again in a heartbeat.
One downside for those staying for more than a few nights. Our room only had two small drawers for clothes. Didn't bother us, we travel light. But it may be an inconvenience for others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,101)
There are newer reviews for Barcelo Malaga
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,003 - 1,009 of 3,101 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Ultra modern, stylish rooms that are very big. Compared with other hotels we stayed in in Andalucia, this was a lot more expensive which is why I have only rated it very good, not excellent. Good wifi signal. Very convenient for train station, not quite so convenient for city centre. Overall, no complaints.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Claire970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

If you wish to stay near the railway station this place is ideal as it is an integral part of the station itself. It has a bit more style than substance, but is clean with courteous service. We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on that - being beside the station there are plenty of opportunities to grab a quick breakfast. The station itself is on the edge of central Malaga - about a 15 minute walk to the heart of the shopping district/port. There is a great range of seafood restaurants about ten minutes walk away by leaving the main front entrance of the hotel walking across and down the side of the Corte Ingles Outlet then turning right and going about five blocks or so - to the left there is a street with loads of restaurants very popular with locals.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewnatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Positive:
- Arriving with RENFE train from Sevilla at the Maria Zambrano station, you don't have to get out of the building. The hotel is directly connected to the train station and Vialia Shopping Centre, which is the only shop opens on Sunday in Malaga.
- Perfect for people who wanna pass through the city and catch an early flight in the morning, because there's a direct train to the airport starting before 7am, only takes 8 minutes travelling and costs not more than 2 euro.
- It's a nice clean modern hotel with extra large bed, complete amenities, excellent heating, free good signal wifi and a super good hot shower.

Negative:
- The location is kinda far from the city centre old town, so if you wanna see some attractions there it's about 20 minutes walking. The beach is even further than that.
- The bleach smell when we checked in was kinda strong and it stayed for a while.
- We asked for the sea view room, but instead we got a view of the top station which was the roof!
- Only 1 channel on tv is in English.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank mizz_dhania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

the hotel is located next to the ave train station and has a walkway to the station from the hotel for guests. The rooms are well decorated and the furnishings and well kept. The hotel restaurant serves excellent food at a good price. For the traveller who is thinking of staying at this hotel to visit Malaga, the hotel is a bit out of the centre but still within walking distance. The hotel offers car parking space but at a price of 18 euros a day. All in all a great hotel which will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maurice1001_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a lovely modern hotel, with nice comfortable rooms, a brilliant walk-in shower with jets etc. Comfortable bed and pillows. It's not right in the centre but only about 15 minutes walk, and it's right next to the station if you're arriving/leaving by train. Parking at the hotel is 17 euros a day, but if you're prepared to look around you should be able to find free parking nearby. We drove down Calle Ferrocarril just next to the hotel and found parking at the end of the road, just 5 minutes walk away. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, but there's a nice little cafe on the ground floor of the shopping centre at the station next door.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelJimmy_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We travelled with our 2 yr old to Malaga for a city break and stayed at the Barcelo.
Good location above the main train station Maria Zembrano (10 mn by train to airport). 10-15 walk to the centre. Unlike some other cities, the area around the station is perfectly safe, and has lots of decent shops.
The hotel itself is modern and quite big; the staff are friendly and speak foreign languages. There is an amazing slide in the middle of the lobby that we used to take after breakfast.
The room was of good size, bit too warm from the south exposure, the bed massive. Everything was comfortable and clean. We had one problem with a sliding door and that was fixed on the same day while we were out.
The breakfast buffet was varied, the quality of food excellent. They had high chairs and an endless supply of smiles.
If back in Malaga, we would stay at Barcelo again

Room Tip: I would stay away from south facing rooms, too hot!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank glitzybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 89 in Malaga
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
530 reviews
Centro
NH Malaga
NH Malaga
#10 of 89 in Malaga
1,235 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £80 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Barcelo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga
Barcelo Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing