We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & helpful staff”
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Friendly & helpful staff”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Very good hotel next to the Maria Zambrano railway station . Staff were all great and could not have been more helpful . Large comfortable room with a view over the city . Rooms can be a bit warm but the windows can be opened .Buffet breakfast was fine with plenty of choice .Hotel is about 15 minutes to the centre or take a taxi from the station for about three euros .Shopping centres and large department store is ten minutes walk from the hotel .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bodmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,507
    1,096
    187
    49
    21
See reviews for
437
1,446
148
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

weekend getaway from uk fist time in Spain hotel location is very good train station 100yards shopping mall round the corner, nice hotel, buffet breakfast was okay, could do with more choice specially more choice for vegetarian.
staff was excellent at the reception and restaurant.our bathroom was wonderful with jacuzzi bath.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank kazi95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

I can't fault this hotel and they've only got 4 stars because I reserve 5 for outstanding hotels. This is a great place to stay. Being located at the main station it is great for rail or bus connections, but it is well sound-proofed and we slept well. It is a bit warm (air-con only goes down to 21) but the room is very comfortable with a huge double bed. The staff are friendly and it has a very easy-going atmosphere. Breakfast is fine with plenty of fresh fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice. Great value for money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_Bath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We needed an overnight stopover in Malaga as our flight time didn't allow us to get there in time. We selected this hotel because of its proximity to the station. How lucky we were. Room was massive. Only 10-15 minutes walk to the centre of town. The restaurant is the best kept secret in Malaga.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here. Seven days that started with Barcelos great breakfast. Since the hotel is actually located at the trainstation, it is easy to get around and see other parts of Andalucia as well. Great staff, clean rooms, quiet and cool. Funny sliding down to the reception ;-)

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tskjef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We spent a few days at the Barcelo Malaga last week and found it to be comfortable and very clean with pleasant and helpful staff - particularly the young lady in the dining room - she had very good English and excellent customer service skills. We arrived at around 9.00 pm and went straight to the restaurant after unpacking and were served excellent steaks with appetizers, delicious olives and a choice of rolls (including tomato, olive and mint flavours). We were not disappointed and it hit the spot after the journey.

We had a pleasant and clean if not over large room. This may be because the bed was a King size and dominated most of the room. However, despite overlooking the front of the hotel it was quiet and we were undisturbed. The bathroom was very clean and with plentiful hot water and fluffy towels. Breakfast was varied with a choice of various types of fresh fruit juices, bread,cheeses, meats fruit,cereal and pastries - this was in addition to scrambled and fried eggs, tortilla, streaky bacon, tomatoes and spicy tiny sausages. Unlimited coffee was available from a Nespresso machine (but no sign of George Clooney). So we were certainly set up for the day.

Our only concern was that whilst the hotel was conveniently situated for the station and various buses went past, it was quite a long walk from the town centre and the pleasant harbour with its lovely shops and restaurants. We are not slow walkers but it took at least 25 minutes to the centre of town, which combined with wandering round the shops and then walking back equated to aching feet and legs. The walk necessitated crossing over the bridge and negotiating several busy roads and junctions which tourists with limited mobility or children may find unsuitable. However, taxis are reasonably priced if it gets too much! We also found the area of the hotel to not be particularly enticing - the cafes and restaurants whilst OK were really used by commuters rather than people out for the evening and were not as nice as those back in the town centre.

The hotel's style is very modern and the bar looked almost like a child's play area with a large slide coming down from the first floor and little seating areas with mushroom like seats and even a small cave type seating area. It was certainly quite quirky!

However, we enjoyed Malaga and will certainly not returning - probably not to this hotel because of its lack of proximity to the town centre - we would have preferred something close by which we could have popped back to if necessary. It is however, easy to get back to the airport with a taxi rank literally 2 minutes' round the corner.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richmondEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Barcelo Malaga is aliterally adjacent to the Malaga train station with its interconnected shopping mall, and thus also across the street from the main bus station. This makes it incredibly easy to get to and from the airport and any other cities in southern Spain (I took the bus to Granada, just 1-1/2 hrs away), and easy to catch a snack, grab an inexpensive quick breakfast, or buy some missing necessity at the mall wtihout even going outside. The hotel is a bit odd to an American - very ultramodern, with some futuristic room amenities, some of which were cool (like the shower - multiple outputs) but others a bit annoying (a mechanical vertical blind that was only fully open or fully closed, only one tiny openable window in an otherwise overly hot room). I did not use any of the facilities at the hotel, but the staff were very nice and helpful, the front desk folks spoke English perfectly well and did not make me feel bad that my Spanish was bad, and the hotel and the rooms were very clean and in good repair. Downtown is about a 15-20 minute walk, which was great after eating lots of Tapas. Altogether it's not the quaint little inn that you might be looking for, but it's convenient, clean, well run and the price was definitely right!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Mickey19003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Property: Barcelo Malaga
Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#2 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Barcelo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga
Barcelo Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing