We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Soul less”
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Modern, Soul less”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Modern Chain, with a funky design, but felt like a cheap nightclub. Great ideas, but should have used better quality materials. I'm sure many people loved this hotel, but I found it didnt meet my expectations.

Location.... is in the middle for walking to town or the beach.... but not really anything worthy of visiting outside. But is excellent for the coach station.

I would recommend staying somewhere closer to town, but is a good place to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLotties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,563
    1,121
    195
    51
    22
See reviews for
453
1,490
152
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our 5 nights in this hotel were lovely. We wanted a base to explore and with both train and bus links right there, it couldn't have been better. Lovely, clean, fresh rooms - big comfortable beds with a 'pillow menu', great shower. Not much drawer storage but big wardrobe. We only had breakfast, which was very good and reasonably priced, but did have drinks and delicious tapas. I believe the quality of food in the restaurant is very good. Only downside for some is the 15 minute walk to town, but it didn't bother us. Granada trip was fab and worth paying a tiny bit more for the Super economy buses. Marbella a 50 minute bus ride (direct). So much to see and do in Malaga itself. Note that the best way to and from airport is by train - takes less than 10 mins and is cheaper than the bus. You end up right by hotel literally. Really delightful staff - helped us loads.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksquared22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Very good hotel next to the Maria Zambrano railway station . Staff were all great and could not have been more helpful . Large comfortable room with a view over the city . Rooms can be a bit warm but the windows can be opened .Buffet breakfast was fine with plenty of choice .Hotel is about 15 minutes to the centre or take a taxi from the station for about three euros .Shopping centres and large department store is ten minutes walk from the hotel .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bodmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

weekend getaway from uk fist time in Spain hotel location is very good train station 100yards shopping mall round the corner, nice hotel, buffet breakfast was okay, could do with more choice specially more choice for vegetarian.
staff was excellent at the reception and restaurant.our bathroom was wonderful with jacuzzi bath.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank kazi95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

I can't fault this hotel and they've only got 4 stars because I reserve 5 for outstanding hotels. This is a great place to stay. Being located at the main station it is great for rail or bus connections, but it is well sound-proofed and we slept well. It is a bit warm (air-con only goes down to 21) but the room is very comfortable with a huge double bed. The staff are friendly and it has a very easy-going atmosphere. Breakfast is fine with plenty of fresh fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice. Great value for money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_Bath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We needed an overnight stopover in Malaga as our flight time didn't allow us to get there in time. We selected this hotel because of its proximity to the station. How lucky we were. Room was massive. Only 10-15 minutes walk to the centre of town. The restaurant is the best kept secret in Malaga.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here. Seven days that started with Barcelos great breakfast. Since the hotel is actually located at the trainstation, it is easy to get around and see other parts of Andalucia as well. Great staff, clean rooms, quiet and cool. Funny sliding down to the reception ;-)

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tskjef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 87 in Malaga
463 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 87 in Malaga
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 87 in Malaga
1,881 reviews
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 87 in Malaga
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Property: Barcelo Malaga
Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#2 Family Hotel in Malaga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Barcelo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga
Barcelo Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing