We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hi Tech Hotel but pointless features redeemed by excellent staff”
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is primarily a Business Hotel. Its location above the station is excellent (if you need the station). Otherwise it is a bit to far away from the main attractions, 20 minute walk through the business/docks area, which is not the nicest part of Malaga.
The main drawback for me was the lack of any outside space to enjoy the lovely winter sunshine. The picture shows tables outside the main bar but they were not in place. The rooms are high tech but most of the tech is pointless. One switch controls all the lighting including the motion sensor setting which very annoyingly puts all the lights on if you move an inch in bed. The temperature controls for the aircon/heating range from 20 to 23 degrees. That is far to HOT for a bedroom. there is one tiny window opening and that only lets in the outside noise. The lights in the bathroom shine directly into the bedroom through a glass panel there is not enough storage space, the bedroom doors are on a very strong spring which causes them to slam shut and there are no tea or coffee making facilities. In fact the whole room has been badly thought out by a brainless geek who has no idea what people need in a hotel room. The pointless slide from the business lounge to the bar is only used by brave Chinese students but obviously is a talking point. The Bar looks like a 60's Disco complete with tiled dance floor and virtually no bar and one staff member. It is either completely empty or full depending on the timing of the many meetings going on.
On the positive side the beds are comfortable and its is quiet apart from the slamming doors. The reception staff, in fact all the staff were wonderful. Helpful, polite and had plenty of time to answer queries despite being very busy. After checking out I realised I had left a very expensive set of headphones in the room and these were found by the staff and returned with no drama and to my great relief. Its just a pity that the building is not as well thought out as the staff that work there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bennyboy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,073 - 1,079 of 3,356 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Very convenient for rail and bus station connections. Very close to the west beach and a 20 minute walk to the old city and from there on to the East beach. Quiet, spacious rooms with very comfortable beds (although would have preferred softer pillows). Breakfast buffet very good. Rather annoying that one has to pay 8 Euros a day to have a hospitality tray in the room. All in all though a great stay.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethandDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Customer service second to none (especially the young lady who checked us in and out on our second night)! We stayed on two separate nights within a week pre and post our train journey to Seville. Absolutely ideal if you arrive via the airport train and then go on to use the train station - so very handy. Clean, spacious, comfortable and good views if you consider where you are located! Quirky modern decor! Enjoy this hotel for what it is intended and you could do no better than stay here.

Room Tip: High floor gains the views over the adjoining buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue&Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Great hotel, really lovely staff, well located, and the decor is amazing - a slide, padded walls and all kinds of funky things. Definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in or passing through Malaga

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDbew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

It appears we arrived on a fully booked evening at the Barcelo Malaga and as a result managed to get an upgrade to a suite on the eighth floor - so we had a sitting room, bedroom, double shower and a spa bath. What a shame we were here for just one night!

The hotel is located in part of the main station in Malaga - although initially we had trouble locating the entrance (so look for the small blue signs in the station concourse) but once there the staff were friendly and we enjoyed a ride down the slide once we had dropped our bags in the room.

Being a fifteen or so minute walk to the old town may be a disadvantage for some but too be honest a walk is good for you especially after a nice late meal accompanied by a bottle of wine and the walk felt very safe indeed!

If I was here again I would stop at the Barcelo but without an upgrade I might be slightly let down - I am sure the standard rooms are good, but you can't beat a suite!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank RealHoltyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on our way to Seville. Access is direct from the train station which is a bonus not having to drag your bags across the city. Our room was very well equipped, clean, spacious and quiet. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice of both hot and cold foods and about 20 choices of coffee!
It wouldn't be a hotel that I would stay in if I was spending a long period in Malaga as it's not in the hub of everything, but excellent choice for transit visitors.
The reception staff were especially helpful with maps etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djb472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Booked in for last new year ,on arrival they wanted Some form of ID,only 1 of us had it ,this wasn't good good enough and said we couldn't stay. They were very rude and unhelpful and ruined my New Year which had been planned for months with other friends :((((

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank candyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 87 in Malaga
1,162 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 87 in Malaga
616 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#5 of 87 in Malaga
2,002 reviews
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 87 in Malaga
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#1 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £91 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga
Barcelo Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing