We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location if you are travelling by train.”
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #3 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Hotel is located within the station, the hotel rooms are quiet and the staff were very hospitable. Bathroom and Bedroom spotless with free toiletries. I only stayed 1 night and as I was travelling the next day by train the location was ideal. The area around the station is somewhat bland but there is a local shopping mall which includes a large supermarket. The train station is very quiet compared to major London train stations which is a blessing and there is a pleasant cafe to sit and have coffee and a snack before catching the train. I marked the sleep quality down only because you either have to have the blinds completely up or down, and when down, the room is pitch black. Other than that perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,027 - 1,033 of 3,274 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel itself was easy to check in and out, the staff (with the little interaction we required only to check in and out) was helpful and friendly, and the rooms were very nice. The overall "vibe" of the hotel was neat (the hallways are pretty cool even, hard to explain), the slide from the 2nd floor to the 1st floor (yes, a slide!) was quirky and neat, and the fact that this is directly connected to the train station makes it ideal if you are going to make use of Malaga trains. FYI: Taking a cab from the airport into Malaga central cost about 20 euros plus what you'd want to tip. We took the train from this hotel/train station back to the airport when we left for 1.50 euros per person! Do know that this hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the central area near the cathedral, but even a cab from this hotel to that exact cathedral area was only about 6 euros.
Overall, my wife and I really enjoyed staying here the one night we used it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Good value, clean and modern boutique hotel.
Helpful, friendly staff, good buffet breakfast and restaurant also good( higher end cooking).Excellent location for bus/trains to Granada, Seville, Cordoba etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Although we spent one night only but it was enough to rate this hotel as excellent. If you were coming from Malaga airport just take the train and in 3 stops you will be in the hotel as there is a special entrance to the hotel from the train station. The centre of the town and the promenade are only 20-minute walk from the hotel where you can enjoy the amazing unique features of Malaga. The rooms are spacious with a flat screen TV containing different channels including BBC world. The bathroom is amazing. There is airconditioning and a free WiFi. The breakfast was delicious containing all varieties of food and omelette the way you want can be cooked while you wait. Mostly the reception staff was so good and helpful with a wide smile on their face. We highly recommend this hotel to those who like to spend few nice nights in Laga

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hiphip9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed twice during the first week of April, location for station is the best but the staff were the most friendly and helpful people who could not do enough to help. My husband was on crutches due to a broken heel and they offered help and gave us a room close to the lift without us even asking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dovetailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was our first time travelling independently around cities in Spain. Chose to stay here due to proximity to train and bus stations. It was so easy. Stayed for one night before catching train to Cordoba. The hotel was even closer than it looked on the map. We also walked to the cathedral and surrounding areas from here. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable. We only wished we had booked this hotel for our return to Malaga for 2 nights before flying home. Booked one closer to the airport for which there was no need as the it is so easy to catch bus to airport.
If we go back we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank EnglandPepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

As trip advisor said this was a nice hotel with pleasant staff and good facilities. The hotel was a good twenty minute walk to the centre of Malaga but not a problem and being next to the train station very handy for transport to the airport and nearby coastal resorts. My only criticism was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room which I would expect of a for star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower they are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boppit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#5 of 89 in Malaga
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
623 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malaga
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £81 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Barcelo, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga
Barcelo Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing