We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

AN excellent stay here for 2 days.nice location and handy for stations and link to airport.Taxis only 6.50 Euros back after a good night in the old town or down at marina.
Great breakfast and service..tip is to pay for breakfast at hotel its cheaper than booking rates.
Only down side wooden floors nice and cool but adjoining room female walking round in stiletoes all night could be heard on and off.That hasnt put me off using again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank antony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,476
    1,070
    186
    46
    21
See reviews for
427
1,418
147
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
De Pinte, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Located virtually in Malaga train station it is very convenient if you arrive by train and with an easy connenction to Malaga airport. Although it is a new hotel the rooms are already a bit worn and not very well finished from the start. If the taxis are not on strike, which they were for the best part of our stay, the location is good. Otherwise it is far from the city center particularly after dinner in the center.
The wellness is a joke, tiny sauna not heated (you have to ask the reception to warm it up. Too much hassle so nobody does it)
The breakfast was good.
The rooms are much to warm with no possibility to adjust the temperature.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FILIPMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I can say only good things about this hotel. It is located just next to the train station so it is perfect for people traveling by train. My friend and I were traveling by car so the only disadvantage of this hotel was a price of parking. In order to get to the center of Malaga it takes half an hour of walk. But the surroundings of the hotel are nice . The staff was friendly. We stayed there for one night only but I would definitely come back there (with one 'but' though - I would park my car on the street though).

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Justyna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here last night, at the end of our trip to Spain, because of it's proximity to the train station. It was the worst hotel of our holiday and I still cannot believe it is 4 star. It reminded me of a travel lodge or premier inn in need of a good scrub and face lift.

Our room was grubby, linens were torn, the laminate flooring was lifting in spots and the smell of cigarette smoke was disgusting. We asked for a quiet non smoking room and got a room beside the lift and stairs. Each time the stairs was used, the door slammed shut and so that did I not make for a peaceful sleep. The wi fi eventually worked when they gave us a rooter for the room.

We would not stay here again, despite it's proximity to the station.

Room Tip: Make sure your room doesn't smell of smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank holidaygirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We flew in late to Malaga, easily caught a train from the airport to Malaga MZ (not Malaga Centro);and found the Hotel in the modern railway complex. We were also travelling to further destinations by train so made perfect sense. Malaga Old Town is about 20 mins walk away, easy to find and there are a few nice bars and restaurants to sample en route. The Hotel is modern, clean and spacious with friendly staff. We didn't sample the breakfast as we thought it sounded rather expensive, but easily found alternative eateries nearby. I was disappointed that the beach wasn't as near as I'd previously read in a review, but with the main promenade 25 mins away it wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: When catching the train into Malaga from the airport, it's situated next to Malaga MZ not Malaga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very nice location, it's almost a part of the railway station, has a passageway for train, and very close to bus station, easy to transfer for other cities of Spain.
The staffs in the reception are very friendly and helpful. Room is clean and comfortable , breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Pepe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My partner and I booked this hotel for an overnight stay purely because of it's location and we were not disappointed! Returning to Malaga, after stays in Seville and Granada, in order to catch a flight to Barcelona, this hotel was perfect. We arrived by bus, and departed to the airport by train and it could not have been more convenient or easier! Apart from the excellent location, the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable and there are certainly plenty of shops and restaurants at hand.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArealaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Property: Barcelo Malaga
Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga
Barcelo Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing