We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, clean and very stylish”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Modern, clean and very stylish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed in this lovely hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip around Andalusia and again for 1 night a week or so later before departing by train for Valencia. Our initial reason for booking at the Barceló, Malaga was its location right next door to the Maria Zambrano train station but it offered so much more than we ever expected.
The reception staff were friendly, efficient and helpful and we soon found ourselves in our comfortable, spotlessly clean room. The decor is modern and very stylish and the rooms have everything you need except, and this is only a very small detail, a hot beverage station (kettle and cups etc), which admittedly seems to be absent in most of the Spanish hotels we stayed in.
We booked in on a bed only basis so can't comment on the breakfast. However, there are great pavement cafes just over the road from the hotel where a delicious breakfast is available for just a few euros.
Although the hotel is not in the old part of the city, it is very easy to get there, as we did each evening. There is a bus service every ten minutes from the next block that on your return, stops right outside the hotel (one way road system).
Many of the car rental companies have offices in the mall adjoining the hotel (we used Avis, but there are others) and you can arrange to pick up and drop off your vehicle there, which is very convenient especially if, like us, you are embarking on a road trip.
The Barceló, Malaga is more business than leisure hotel and has a conference centre and very trendy bar area but this didn't detract from our stay and I would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone looking for great accommodation in Malaga.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy-PE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,477
    1,070
    186
    46
    21
See reviews for
427
1,419
147
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights.

Great first impressions from the very friendly and helpful reception staff.

Located right next to the train station (if you want to get a train to the airport it's so easy, quick & cheap - €1.75, only takes 10 mins and trains every 20 mins) and the bus station is max 5 mins walk (ideal for us as we got the bus from Gibraltar / La Linea).

On check out we were able to use the gym changing room facilities for free, which was ideal as we had been walking all day.

The only 2 slight negatives were that the breakfast was too expensive for us (€15.50 per person per day) and the room smelt when we checked in. It smelt like someone had been smoking in the room - a lot! But we left the window open and it done the trick.

Top tip for Malaga. If you are there on a Sunday, many of the top tourist attractions are free, especially between 2 - 8pm. Such as the castle and alcazaba (well worth a visit). Although each attraction only costs €2.20 per person at all other times. Would recommend you check out the lovely port area and the beach was surprisingly nice and big.

Really nice Galician restaurant close by (Candamil) - lovely authentic food and friendly staff at reasonable prices.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Buff12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Angus
Level Contributor
142 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here for one night on route to another hotel which had no vacancies for the first evening of our stay in Malaga. Booked the Barcelo as we had a little one with us who would be travelling by train to the city, as you can walk direct from the station into the hotel. Check in was effortless and the rooms were modern and bright with all you would expect. We arrived late and left early but did manage to give the fantastic slide a go before we checked out! Great hotel if you are travelling from the train station. It is a little bit of a walk into the historic centre.It would be fine for one night but with kids in tow I think we would have found it to be a bind trailing back and forward on a daily basis. Saying that we enjoyed our stay, had a great sleep and in similar circumstances would use it again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebairds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Excellent over night stay, in just the right place. It gave me a chance to get to see and know Malaga, which is lovely and not just a transit stop. Although right in the station it was quiet and cool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Alan Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The main reason you need to stay in this hotel is because there is a slide for adults from the first floor to the bar. It's not very steep so that women can keep their dignity and suitcases can go down here but they may hit someone also.
I booked here because of the great value compared to all other hotels in the vicinity. There is a big courtyard outside that could do with a big pool or big fountain. Maybe importing Trafalgar Square or making a smaller version with one less lion.
I stayed for 3 nights and the beds are some of the most comfortable I have slept in. I arrived into the hotel from being out at 6am in the morning and would go straight to the buffet breakfast. I would happily stay here every time I visit Malaga.

The staff are great, special mention to Manuel, Alvaro etc on reception. These guys are very helpful. It;'s a very modern hotel that is located next to the train station but not with a load of commuters in front of it, not that anyone would mind at all anyway as half of the commuters are women and Spanish women are very pretty. Next door in the shopping center above the station is Burger king, Mcdonalds etc and 4 euros taxi ride to the beach, or town center walk is perhaps 10 minutes walking or so. Whatever you wanna do.

Stay here and have a great place to go back to at night time. If this hotel was beach front it would be 6 out of 5!

I used the gym and sauna too. technogym machines are available with the essentials being incline press, lat pull down, leg extension and some dumbells. All you need to look good for the beach. You should be working out even if you don't normally.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carlos_Yabrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is perfect! The thing is that this hotel is connected to the train station which is very convenient for travelers after a long train ride. The hotel is very walkable to the Cathedral and Alcazar, both were amazing. The clean and modern train station has excellent travel information and restaurants. The hotels is beautiful, clean, wonderful staff, modern design, very comfortable and even has electric shades:)))

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marylandtravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Spent 5 nights here and was so impressed. Not only is Malaga a cultural city but it has beaches.. For me, museums and beaches are the best combo. The hotel also excelled at gluten free food. Bread rolls were warmed and dishes explained or altered to suit me, all done with a minimum of fuss. Great location next to the railway station and on the City Sightseeing bus route. Recommend it for everyone

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Property: Barcelo Malaga
Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#2 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga
Barcelo Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing