We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the train”
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location for the train”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The location is right beside the train track. But it is a nice walk to the old town and to were the beach is. The staff were nice but the pictures make it look very lively and trendy but it seemed quiet enough when we were there. Maybe better for couples or families.

Room Tip: Keep a eye on train timetables as weekends are different for early morning flights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daithi0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,566
    1,121
    197
    51
    22
See reviews for
453
1,494
153
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DFW area
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The key to the Barcelo Malaga Hotel is the location. While not in the historic downtown area, it is within walking distance. However, it connects directly to the train station (no need to even walk outside) and is near the bus routes as well. We stayed in room 803 with a view of the Mediterranean in the distance. The room was clean and the free wifi worked great. The breakfast was plentiful and the staff helpful. We had scheduled several day trips and the location worked well for meeting an early morning bus. There is a train that connects directly to the airport for 1.75 Euro.

Room Tip: We had a room on the eighth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexanDFWarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I had the pleasure of staying in this hotel for three nights before moving on to Gibraltar. Arriving after an overnight trans-Atlantic flight followed by a four hour Paris layover all I wanted to do was sleep. I was pleasantly surprised by how comfortable the bed and pillows were. Terrific soaker tub. Blackout shades. While I had a terrible view of a roof, the interior of my room made up for it in terms of amenities and decor. The internet was strong and reliable. There were a couple of issues however. While changing a complete stranger walked right into my room! Their keycard worked for my room. The front desk quickly reissued a new card for me. As well, the showerhead was broken (having baths I didn't realise until the last day). The little bar was out of most drinks the one night (out of vodka, white wine...) The slide is good fun. The hotel has a terrific location with a supermarket across the street and is attached to the mall train station. Walking to the old town was only a 10minute, comfortable walk. I would have no hesitations recommending the hotel. Ignacio at the front desk was helpful on all counts.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a good modern Hotel situated beside the railway station. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. The Hotel is a good 15 minute walk to the old town of Malaga. If you need to stay beside the railway station the location is great but if you want to be in the centre of Shops, Nightlife or the Marina I would suggest staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The location can be good if you are travelling by train. We came by a car and had to pay for a parking fee of EUR 18 per day. Our room was also located at the end of the floor - since the lift is located at the other end of the floor, we had to walk a long distance to get to our room. The room looks chic, but it is not really comfortable as it looks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Yoshiyuki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Nice modern hotel.
Great room, massive bed!
Air conditioned, which was neccessary as it was so hot.
Extras like parking a bit expensive and the only English speaking channel was cnn.
I would have given it 5 stars if it wasnt for this factor

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A very welcoming hotel, the staff ware every polite & helpful, breakfast was lovely too with lots of choice from fresh omelettes to fresh fruit, cereals croissants, cakes, cooked breakfast, fresh juices & different strenghs of fresh coffee from their espresso machines which was lovely. The hotel was modern, clean, bright & comfortable too. The beds were queensize & also very comfortable. They have a slide for all ages from the 1st floor to the lobby which is a must so much fun even though we were all 50! The beach was a 5 minute walk away which was very clean, sunbeds only 5 euros a day, the young men looking after them were very helpful too as they also worked for the restaurant on the beach so got our midday sangrias. It was so lovely that we stayed on the beach till 7pm then ate in the restaurant & left at midnight, well that is what we were there for a relaxing time & we certainly done that. I would definitely recommend staying here for a short relaxing break as it was so easy to get to from the airport as you can get the train from ther straight to Malaga station only 3 stops from the airport at 2euros then there is a walkway from the station straight into the hotel. We were old school friends celebrating our 50th birthday & all had a lovely time, we said we would return next year too.

Room Tip: Our rooms were at the front of hotel with a slight sea view, although 5 minute walk away
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucy8london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 87 in Malaga
465 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 87 in Malaga
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 87 in Malaga
1,882 reviews
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 87 in Malaga
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Property: Barcelo Malaga
Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#2 Family Hotel in Malaga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Barcelo, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga
Barcelo Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing