We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab but dont leave anything behind!”
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2010

I have not one bad thing to say about this hotel! Only stayed the night because our destination was Granada and we landed in Malaga....but everything in this hotel is LUSH!!!! its retro....funky....modern and close to everything!

It also has a slide!

My main issue was that i left my pyjamas in the bed sheets.... unfortunately a cleaner liked them too much and nicked off with them.... even though the staff was very helpful in trying to find them....it just wasnt happening!

More a lesson learnt than anything else...

Ps... if u r travelling form the airport the station to get off at is the one before malaga city centre...we got slightly confused and had to trek back!

Book with confidence and....ENJOY

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,433 - 1,439 of 3,157 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2010

Very pleasant stay, staff very helpful and speak french, english and spanish. New rooms, clean, nice decor with flat TV and automatic blinds (that do not work to perfection). Very modernly decorated reception. Can not be better located, next to the train station, commercial center, and 10 min walk to the bus station. I would go again for sure next time I go to Malaga, and looking forward to stay in another Barcelo Hotel in another country. The computer station was very useful, free to use with internet, but free wifi in the rooms if you have your laptop. Had a reasonably small price for my stay, but am very pleased for the value.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe-1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is conveniently located, you can take the train from the airport and can directly walk in. Very nice and new hotel, not too far from the city center, excellent rooms, excellent breakfast, the price was great, will definitely come again!!! Very trendy, nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler069187337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We found this hotel on the web and liked the Barcelo type of hotel. As we were joining a cruise we found a 2 night stay at this hotel pleasant. It was practically in the train station but we had no noise or complaints about the proximity. We did not realise just how near the hotel was to the station or we would have taken a train from the airport but paid £30 for a taxi instead! There is a stainless steel shute from the upper level to the bar and I would have liked a wee shot but at my age my hubbie persuaded me against trying - however we did see quite a few adults going down it! The meals were nothing fantastic but we enjoyed the breakfasts.
Plenty shops in the train station but not any good restaurants nearby. We did go to the michelein star restaurant at top of the park but found it far too expensive for what we had.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lanzaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

I booked this hotel after reading good reviews here. Maybe we were unlucky but it was the worst stay of our 6 week European tour. Let me explain.
We arrived at 1pm, the room was not ready and we waited for over an hour. OK, no problem, it happens. When we got to our room at the end of a long corridor on floor five (there is no bell boy here to help) we liked the look of the room but the bathroom had a huge balloon bubble in the ceiling with water pouring out. The maid had been in here 5 mins ago and didn't see it? Called reception, they sent maintenance, and a new room took another 90 mins. We had to ring them eventually to be told oh yes, it is ready. We had to troop down 5 floors to get the key card and then back up to floor seven for the room. Not a good start. Add that the staff were acting as if we were doing them a favor being there and being a hassle to their quiet existence.
The rooms have been good and the hotel must have been great when it opened but it is showing signs of wear. Scuffs and scratches. Only one control on the whirlpool bath worked. The rooms were easily darkened and quiet with good curtains, Easy to sleep.
The cleaning was poor, finger prints, dust and marks stayed all the time we were there. Maybe not noticed in the darkened rooms. Nice gym and good sauna. Good breakfast buffet, the omelette chef was great.
Good location for the railway and bus station but a long way from the historical sites, beach and city center.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edkemp2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

This is a quick review.
I was on a round Europe tour and due to the french air traffic controllers going on strike, i rocked into Barcelo at 3am throughly fed up and tired.
cue, quick, efficient service...2 minutes later i am at my room.
to walk in was an oasis! the contemporary european design, the rain shower, the jacuzzi, the finishing touches, the electric blinds, the 5 different light settings....did i mention the jacuzzi?
i was here for around 10 hours, slept well, re-cooperated quickly, ate a beautiful breakfast all for a cheap price.

This hotel was a boys paradise.......i thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieLansdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We booked this hotel on our way to Seville and Kadiz. We wanted a hotel that was near the airport that we could stay on the first and last night of our holiday. It is literally next to the railway station and easy to locate. The rooms very extremely modern and had all the mod cons to make a pleasant stay. The bed was huge and the breakfast was excellent. The reception staff were very good and professional. It is a business hotel and geared up for business trips but its well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mackams_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 89 in Malaga
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
554 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Centro
NH Malaga
NH Malaga
#9 of 89 in Malaga
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £77 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Barcelo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga
Barcelo Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing