We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and friendly staff”
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We've just arrived back from our stay at Barcelo Malaga and it was a great place to stay. The decor is very contemporary and well designed. The room had an amazing power shower, huge comfortable bed, and loads of space. The only thing I didn't like was the air con noise but it wasn't too bad. The staff were very helpful and the hotel was very quiet. The city centre is about 10-15min walk and there is plenty of transport just outside including the hop on/off bus tour.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smutz121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,493 - 1,499 of 3,352 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2010

This hotel is very new and very nice.
Location: close to the train station and the airport, 5 min by cab (4 eur) to the city center - tip, take the taxi out of the hotel (you can just stop one at the street) to do not pay the extra fee for calling.

Rooms: very new, well designed, great bed, very nice shower, i was extremely happy with it. My only "restriction" was that the air conditioning could be a bit more silent, but that didn't disturb me.
Breakfast was great.
I know they have a gym, unfortunately i didn't get the chance to go.
Service: hotel staff spoke very well english, answered to all questions, organized reservations, were absolutely outstanding and very friendly.

and for fun, don't miss the "tobogan" at the entrance!!! awesome fun!
If i'm back in Malaga, will absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piaccere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Other reviewers have already pointed out that this hotel is more suited to business people and that's true, but it still makes a great base for holidaymakers like us, who like Malaga itself and also want to visit other towns such as Cordoba and Grenada. We booked the hotel through a Spanish travel agency and paid £65 a night for our stay in a spacious room in a hotel with many amenities and a lovely buffet breakfast. Perhaps because we were staying 7 nights we were put in a very quiet room, and you would never guess you were next to a station and shopping mall. The jacuzzi shower was fantastic. Small annoyances were the glass panel in the shower room which allowed light into the bedroom, and the lack of anything othet than Spanish TV. From outside the front of the hotel you can catch a bus to the airport or to the coastal strip and Mijas. Walk a further block south and you can catch a bus into town and the Malaguetta beach. Or walk for 15 mins. to the Alameda Principal and catch a bus to the El Palo beach. From close to the back entrance to the hotel you can catch a local train to the airport and the coastal strip to Fuengirola, or an intercity train to further afield. The adjacent shopping mall has many eating and drinking possibilities if you don't want to go into town and just 50 metres further on is a large bus station.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cymruNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed here for two nights before going on a cruise.
The hotel is located in the train station in Malaga, but it should be noted that if you are taking the train from Malaga airport the train station is not in the airport. It is a bit of a trek in the hot sun to get to the station which is also outside. If we travel to Malaga again we would certainly save all the hassle and get a taxi to the hotel.
The hotel is modern and clean and is ideal for a short stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surid22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Stayed here one night as a stop over before heading to Tarifa. It is on the railway line from the airport so very convenient to get to. If you do take the train make sure you get off at station "Maria Zambrano" not the last station the train stops at (on google maps it looks like it is the last stop on the line but it not just underground!).

The hotel itself is very modern and trendy with a funky slide you can take down to reception if you choose! There is a nice lobby area with a couple of laptops for free internet access and the hotel is linked via a walkway past the recption desks to a large shopping centre and main line railway station. The rooms were clean and had high quality bathrooms and were international standard. We didnt experience any noise problems and the beds were comfy.

The only negatives were that I had to wait a while to check in as there were only two staff working on reception and the ac, although effective didnt get the room as cold as I would have liked.

Overall a great place to stay if you want an over night in the interesting city of Malaga before heading off somewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Yes, we traveled all of Europe a few times with our family. We choose this location due to its unique modern appeal. We liked to modern look, but the customer service for families is bad. There are no family rooms. I would recommend this for single or couples who like modern, but not families. We do love the slide in the middle of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrBradBarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

My husband and I just got back from a 3 week driving tour of Spain. Towards the end of our trip we arrived by car at the Barcelo. As usual we pulled up front expecting to be greeted by a doorman. No one came out of the hotel! I then went in to ask about where to put the car and found the staff extremely rude! Apparently they have no Bellman. The staff were very curt when we checked in and did not want to help us out with any inquires. In fact, they NEVER answered the phone when we tried to call down. This meant that we could not arrange wake-up calls nor could we get extra towels when we wanted them. When we asked for dining suggestions all they could tell us was to eat in the hotel. It turned out to be the biggest festival in Malaga when we were there but they did not even let us know. If not for the festival we would have checked out immediately! The location of the hotel is right beside a large mall and the train station, not the best part of town and not well suited for tourists. The walls were paper thin so our first night we were kept up by the partying next door. We could not get the desk to answer our call to complain! Our second night we were awakened by the people upstairs when they dropped coins on their floor and it echoed down to us as the floors were made from thin veneer. When we complained on check out about the whole hotel experience they did not seem to care. They said that most of their business is with people passing trough the train station for a quick overnight stay. This was a good way for me to find out that I will NEVER stay at a Barcelo property again - even if it was given to me for free! My advise, stay away!!!!!
This hotel is listed as a 4 star but they should not be rated more than a 2 star. This hotel is so cheap that they do not air condition the public spaces...image that when the temperature was 42 degrees celcius (well over 105 fahrenheit ).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank choco_nut_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#5 of 87 in Malaga
1,159 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 87 in Malaga
614 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 87 in Malaga
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malaga
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £89 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga
Barcelo Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing