We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place and close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Petit Palace Plaza Malaga
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really nice place and close to everything”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We spent a nice long weekend in the heart of Malaga. The hotel is close to everything (except parking which is a small minus). Nice and friendly people, big breakfast buffet and nice rooms. Our room featured a spa which was a nice addition as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear guest,

First, I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Malaga. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed a good stay in the city thanks to the hotel's central location. We will be glad to welcome you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    502
    136
    62
    22
See reviews for
331
601
44
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed in the Petit Palace Plaza for a week, over the Christmas period. The fact that we were repeating the experience after the previous year suggests that we were very impressed with the hotel.
Firstly, the location is great for those who want to see many of the sights of Malaga without walking too far. The hotel is in the centre of the city, and there is plenty to see and do within a few paces of the hotel. At Christmas, there is plenty of entertainment and colour in the main pedestrianised street near the hotel.
The rooms themselves were great. The design of the hotel is an interesting blend of modern within a lovely older facade. The rooms are spotless, quiet and very comfortable, with all the amenities that we needed. The bathroom was spacious, with a great shower.The laptop was particularly useful.
However, we were particularly impressed with the level of service in the hotel.Unfortunately, I don't know the names of the staff at reception, but the sole male and the young woman who frequently manned the desk in the evenings were particularly impressive. They were helpful, informative, endlessly cheerful, and dealt with any issues competently. Their English is also excellent, for those of us who need to brush up on our Spanish!
We would highly recommend the hotel, and hope to be back again soon.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 3 rooms, and found them all to be very individual - but all with good amenities, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grange24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your confidence and your feedback, as they not only help us to improve our services but they do so others TripAdvisor users know our services and facilities. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the wonderful city of Malaga, and the hotel met all your expectations. As you indicate, we are located in the heart of the city, very close to all tourist attractions. Thank you for your kind words to our front desk staff as they strive to ensure that our guests feel at home.

Wishing you comeback soon,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed at the Hotel first week in January 2013. Great situated Hotel (at main shopping and food area in the historical area close to Larios) with very friendly staff and excellent rooms. Can highly recommend it and will go back soon again. Free wifi at the hotel, but not hightech as the name of the Hotel ;-)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pe0D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thanks for sending us your comments about your stay. We are glad to read that the hotel met your expectations. Thanks for recommending us, it will be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Wishing you a happy new year,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This place was great. The location is perfect - right in the middle of all of the restaurant and shops, 10 min walk to the Malagueta beach, and close to an ancient castle (must-see for beautiful views of the coast). The only downside of the location is that you have to walk 20-30 mins to the nearest rail train which is quiet hidden, in the midst of construction that was there. Do not hesitate to ask locals " Donde esta la estacion de tren?".

The hotel was clean and very modern- it even had a laptop inside the room with free wifi. I did not eat or drink at the hotel. The rooms are a bit smaller compared to the American standards, but I always say- you are in Europe - places are smaller and if you are on vacation, you should not be dwelling on the size of the room but go out and see things:)


Note: Once you arrive at the Malaga airport, you can take a bus to downtown Malaga. I do not suggest it. Pay the taxi (20-30euros) and do not waste time waiting on a bus.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the outskirt of the building as supposed to a room looking into the interior co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anjavuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thanks for chosing us for your stay in Malaga and for your kindly comments. As you've indicated, Petit Palace Plaza is located in the heart of the city, close to all tourist attractions, including easy access to the rail station.

Wishing you a happy new year,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Stayed in the Hotel end of November and found it a great place to stay we were on the first floor and to the left side with an inside courtyard which is what suited me as I asked for the Quiet part of the Hotel .
Room and en-suite were clean and tidy with a modern decore but with a large Iron pillar in the room from the roof to the ground in the middle on which the TV was situated on and there was also a pillar likewise in the toilet - I dont know if this is intentional for structural purposes or for decoration .
We did not take the breakfast as the Hotel is so centrally situated with cafe's a plenty within a few metres of the Hotel so we ate out all the time.


Theshopping . area is also situated just outside the Hotel and the locals are out in force till 9 pm giving the place a great atmosphere to walk about in .
The main square was also a close by and a added attraction while I was there was a series of Demonstrations by among the Doctors and even the Police amongst others .
we never needed a bus to get about and do the sights.
the trip up to the Castle is a must and we even walked past the port and the Bull ring and along the Beach area which sadly was not looking its best as the sans is a grey colour and the place was littered with lots of flotsom which will no doubt be cleaned up for next summer for the locals .
No complaints from me about the Hotel and if you can walk its a great place to stay for the sights

Room Tip: Room 102 was quiet and faced inwards to a courtyard away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, thanks for your feedback, your comments are helpful to improve our facilities and services. We are pleased to read that the hotel met your expectations. The pillar that is located in your room due to structural purposes, and we had removed it to get more space if we could but it's not the case.

As you indicate, the hotel is located in a central area of ​​the city, close to restaurants, shops and the main tourist atractions. Thanks for staying at High Tech Hotels. We will be delighted to welcome you again.

Best regards and merry christmas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We ended up walking here from the bus station--not that I recommend it, but it's doable (maybe a mile). Had a little trouble finding the hotel once we got in the vicinity, but some helpful locals got us there. Tucked behind some construction right near Constitution Plaza. Friendly check in, actually got the room I requested with a view of the Cathedral--very pretty at night. Plate of sliced fruit with welcome note in room when we arrived. Family room was great, my teenaged daughter loved her bunk bed and the modern decor---shower was fun for all! Laptop in room was slow but free wifi for as many devices as you need. Close to Picasso Museum and the busy portside. Arranged for taxi to airport the night before departure with front desk and taxi was actually early. Highly recommend, we paid around €85.

Room Tip: We had room 401 that had a view of Cathdral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Department online at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments and thank you very much for recommending our Hotel Petit Palace Plaza Malaga. Our team are delighted that you enjoyed their service.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our High Tech Hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This hotel's biggest advantage and biggest disadvantage are the same....its location. On the plus side, it's right in the heart of Malaga's old town in a quiet lane just a block or two from almost everything: Constitution Square, the Cathedral, the Picasso museum, and just a little further on foot, the Teatro Romano, Alcazaba and, if you're up for the climb, the Castillo de Gibralfaoro. Eating choice abound, mainly tapas bars and restaurants, from cheap and cheerful to upscale. What's not to love? Well, you can't get near it by car, and if you're touring Andalusia independently this is a significant issue. It took me ages to find the hotel the day I arrived and I almost got a ticket from the local police for accidentally driving in a pedestrianized area. Finally I found a reasonably close parking garage and walked 10-15 minutes with my suitcases to get there. Even then, after taking my car out to drive out of town one day, I went round in circles for half-an-hour trying to find a route back to the parking garage. Oh, and parking costs 23 euros per day. As to the hotel itself, it's modern and friendly, but basic in many ways. Americans used to plush beds will be taken aback by the thin, firm mattress. The slivers of soap are positively mean and there are few other toiletries. Wi-fi is free but erratic: it worked ok on my laptop but the iPhone constantly disconnected itself after a few minutes. I should say that there is a hotel laptop in each room, which is a nice touch if you just want to check email and surf a bit, though if you're doing business away from home you'll probably prefer to use your own computer. Even personal users should clear the internet history before leaving to make sure their passwords are safe. Breakfast is a bargain: if it's not included already, you'll pay just 8 euros per day for a hot and cold buffet that would cost three times as much in a business class hotel. Finally, a word about infrstructure. I may have been unlucky in my room, but the sound of water running every time the people upstairs, or possibly next door, flushed their toilet or took a shower was really incredible. The air conditioning vents were the culprit: either they don't isolate the rooms from each other, or the water pipes run right through the ducting. I actually resorted to using airline ear plugs when I went to bed because it was so annoying. So a mixed review: I loved being able to step out and be just steps from everything and I looked forward to breakfast each morning: but there are serious downsides to choosing this hotel which you should bear in mind.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scot_Wha's_Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Online department at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for select Petit Palace Plaza Hotel and thank you for your comments. First of all, we are sorry about the inconveniences during your stay with the parking. We try to improve every day through all opinions.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 87 in Malaga
2,969 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 87 in Malaga
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 87 in Malaga
467 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 87 in Malaga
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Plaza Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Plaza Malaga

Property: Petit Palace Plaza Malaga
Address: Calle Nicasio Calle 5 | Esquina con Calle Larios, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#6 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#6 Business Hotel in Malaga
#9 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Plaza Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Petit Palace Plaza Malaga is situated on the corner of Larios street, one of the busiest shopping streets, behind the Cathedral, 4 star hotel in the middle of the historic centre of Málaga. The Petit Palace Plaza Malaga occupies a magnificent early twentieth-century building. Our modern rooms feature flat screen TV (with Satellite TV), hydro-massage shower, air-conditioned/ heating and mini-bar.It is also close to the harbour, two kilometres from the railway station and 10 kilometres from the airport.Room types •66 stylish rooms.•High-Tech rooms: laptop, exercise bike, trouser press, hydro massage shower and king-size bed.•Family rooms up to 5 people: King-size bed or two beds plus bunk beds. (Baby cots free of charge).•Equipped rooms for pets (bed, feeding and water bowls).•Rooms for disabled people.•Smoking & non smoking rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Petit Palace Plaza Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Plaza Malaga Hotel Malaga
Petit Palace Plaza málaga
Petit Palace Plaza Hotel málaga
Petit Palace Plaza Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing