We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but lacking facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petit Palace Plaza Malaga
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed here mid may 2013, good value for the location just meters from Plz Consitution. It is branded a high tech hotel, laptops in room, free wifi everywhere, but that is about it. No bar, no gym, just a breakfast room and a coffee dispenser for the rest of the time. It was not expensive though and a nice view from the top, 5th, floor. A good basic modern hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekendbreaker41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We regret, however, that certain details were not entirely to your liking.
Ultimately, we work to please our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.
We are at your complete disposal for anything you may need.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic location but unfortunately in my opinion, this is the only fantastic thing about it.

Room was a decent size and it was also clean, no complaints there.
Having never been offered a choice of twin/double room/a superior quality room etc I was left with a double room on the fourth floor with one double bed and a set of bunk beds (which thankfully folded up against the wall). Had I been offered any choice in my required room type I could have requested a better more expensive room but that option was not given.
The bathroom was well equipped and clean though the finish wasn't great. I believe the only reason this hotel has been awarded a 4th star is due to the fixtures and fittings, the hydromassge bath etc

Bed was TERRIBLY squeaky and not particularly comfortable.

The room was indeed equipped with a laptop though due to the speed of the internet it took an age to open a webpage and the WiFi was awful. Struggled to open facebook and in the end I ended up purchasing internet access from my mobile network here in the UK as access through 3G was much faster.

Decided against eating in the hotel as there are many cheaper and more traditional eateries dotted all around the area, you will easily find something to your taste.

Staff at the front desk were helpful enough though I had very little contact with them.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Starvin_Marvin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed over Christmas 2012 - Great Hotel, central location, brilliant for strolling around city and view historic and cultural events of which there were many due to time of year thoroughly enjoyed it. Couldn't fault hotel, Yes staff impersonal (as per previous review) but however there's always one who keeps the show on the road and I've forgotten his name! ( he should own the hotel) we met him on arrival, so friendly, yet professional and thorough with his advice and assistance. Obviously speaks a number of languages. The service was brilliant ie Breakfast Bar also the little cookies and note from hotel left beside laptop in room. Such a central hotel right in the heart of Malaga city, only fault was beds and quality of pillows. Having said that I'd go back tomorrow! The room we stayed in was one advertised showing view of Malaga Cathedral from window (fabulous).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanH75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your comment and for the confidence placed in our Hotel to choose for your stay in Málaga. As you point out our hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Málaga.

Thank you very much for considering us for future stays in Málaga, we will be delighted to welcome you back and we assure you that we will strive to ensure that your stay is to your liking.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I spent four nights at the Petit Palace in April. The hotel is situated right in the centre of the historic district. There's no bar or restaurant in the hotel but there are a lot of good tapas bars in the neighbourhood. Room and bathroom were comfortable. The room is equipped with a laptop. Breakfast for 8 euros was good, but when it's busy you have to wait for your coffee as there's only one coffee machine. Staff were friendly but a bit impersonal. After all it's a good hotel to spend when you want to explore Malaga which is a very nice city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikaZonhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Guest:

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments about your stay in our hotel.
We appreciate knowing that your stay at the Petit Palace Plaza Malaga has met their expectations, although specific details were not to his liking.
Thank you for your confidence in us. We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We had planned to stay at the Petit Palace for 3 nights, but we liked Malaga so much that we decided to stay an extra night! The hotel employees were incredible! Every time we had questions, they helped us out: either making calls for us, searching for the information, or simply to lend us an umbrella....
The hotel is centrally located in the historic district and is a small block away from the main pedestrian street, Marques de Larios, from cafés, restaurants, and museums. Other attractions are approx 10-15 minutes walk: the port, the Alcazaba, Teatro Romano, while the Castillo de Gibralfaro and the beach are closer to a 30 minutes walk.
The room was a bit small and we had a double bed. If you are used to larger rooms and beds, may be worthwhile to pay extra money and get a larger room. However, it still was very comfortable. We had 2 large patio doors that opened onto a balcony in the bedroom and another one in the bathroom. The room is equipped with a laptop. The hotel's main doors are locked all the time. It may seem like an inconvenience, but we never waited more than 30 seconds to get the door opened for us, and it made the hotel a lot quieter.
The hotel offers a buffet breakfast for 8 Euros. It was okay, not amazing. If you are willing to walk a bit, you can get to a lot of cafés that offer breakfast for less, although not in a buffet style.
Before leaving home, we contacted the hotel by email to make arrangements from the airport to the hotel. Even though we arrived a lot earlier than the official check in, the hotel sent a taxi to pick us up (approx 25Euro) and provided us with a room upon arrival.
We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeronicaM020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

To our esteemed guest:

It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. Thanks for yours pictures are very nice.
We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.

Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We loved the Hotel Petit Palace, its location is fantastic. The breakfast is highly recommended. Though the staff could have been a little more helpful on the reception desk, most people now use the internet, so the pass code for the free wi-fi should have been given out, instead of having to read stickers on the walls, then going back to reception to ask for it. The restaurant staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Guest:

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments about your stay in our hotel.
We appreciate knowing that your stay at the Petit Palace Plaza Malaga has met their expectations, although specific details were not to his liking.
Thank you for your confidence in us. We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This hotel is central, one minute from the main square and minutes away fro bars and restaurants. The airport stop is at the bottom of the next street, about 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

Breakfast is good if a limited choice.

Free WiFi and laptop in the room

The public areas are orange and brown and an orange theme in the rooms.

Our room overlooked the central light well and was very quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scot007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks to inform to our staff and to Tripadvisor user´s about your stay and experience in Petit Palace Plaza Málaga.

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the laptop helpful.

We would like to let you know you will always be welcome to come back.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 87 in Malaga
3,354 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#5 of 87 in Malaga
1,160 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 87 in Malaga
2,001 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 87 in Malaga
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Plaza Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Plaza Malaga

Address: Calle Nicasio Calle 5 | Esquina con Calle Larios, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#6 Business Hotel in Malaga
#7 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £84 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Plaza Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Petit Palace Plaza Malaga is situated on the corner of Larios street, one of the busiest shopping streets, behind the Cathedral, 4 star hotel in the middle of the historic centre of Málaga. The Petit Palace Plaza Malaga occupies a magnificent early twentieth-century building. Our modern rooms feature flat screen TV (with Satellite TV), hydro-massage shower, air-conditioned/ heating and mini-bar.It is also close to the harbour, two kilometres from the railway station and 10 kilometres from the airport.Room types •66 stylish rooms.•High-Tech rooms: laptop, exercise bike, trouser press, hydro massage shower and king-size bed.•Family rooms up to 5 people: King-size bed or two beds plus bunk beds. (Baby cots free of charge).•Equipped rooms for pets (bed, feeding and water bowls).•Rooms for disabled people.•Smoking & non smoking rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Petit Palace Plaza Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Plaza Malaga Hotel Malaga
Petit Palace Plaza málaga
Petit Palace Plaza Hotel málaga
Petit Palace Plaza Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing