We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - good location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Petit Palace Plaza Malaga
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great hotel - good location!”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

After we actually found the hotel, it was great! Tucked away on a side street with pedestrian-only access, it is the place to stay during Feria de Malaga in August. If you have a car, you must park at a municipal lot and then walk to the hotel. The closest lot is at Plaza de la Marina, and the hotel gives a parking discount. Otherwise, the hotel is very modern. Washrooms are clean, internet access is good and yes - they actually have a laptop in the room!

Breakfast is extra, and it looked good, but we never had it as we never had time and always picked up breakfast elsewhere.

If you go in August during the Feria, then you are right in the middle of the daytime action. If you don't like to party or don't like crowds, then don't stay here.

There are many resturants and attractions within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMNer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    491
    130
    60
    22
See reviews for
314
579
41
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We had a very enjoyable stay here. We had a lot of trouble finding the hotel as it's in a pedestrian only area and driving around trying to find the road was a bit of a nightmare! The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was very orange, clean and large. Good central location for getting around but a little noisy if you have the windows/doors open. No problem sleeping as the room is airconditioned and has good double glazing!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenilworth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

It is very orange in decoration. Rooms are a great size and reasonably priced. Miss not having a bar and the restaurant only does breakfast so you have to go out of the hotel for a drink or a snack. Breakfast is good value with plenty of choice. There is a laptop in every room with internet and it is free.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charbel-Dundalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindymdale
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

What a surprise this hotel was! Very high-tech and very orange! We loved it all. The room was very comfortable and same with a computer w/ internet. There was nice double bed and a high-tech bunk bed for the kids. The bathroom--especially the tub/shower-was amazing with all sort of water jets and features. unfortunately, we couldn't figure out how to work half of them. The hotel itself is right by the cathedral and main square. You're in this totally high-tech environment looking out over these old architectural wonders. There was a fantastic breakfast buffet in the morning--best breakfast we had entire trip--which was welcome as we were flying back to NYC from Malaga that afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindymdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We visited the Petit Palace Plaza for a short break in February and our initial impression was very favourable - the location is hard to beat, and the room was spacious and exactly as in the photos. However, I agree with the reviewer who said that the fixtures and furnishings are very low - definitely not suitable for people with back problems.

Within moments of our arrival we realised that the room safe was stuck and, despite the efforts of the receptionist, we had to wait until the next day to have it repaired by the maintenance man - which meant that we had to carry our valuables around with us for the first evening. The safe is operated by swiping your credit card to open or close it - which seemed strange to me, as I actually wanted to keep my credit card IN the safe.

We had an enormous multi-jet shower in the bathroom, but , frustratingly,we discovered there was no hot water. Back to the maintenance man again... There was apparently a problem with the water in the whole area, and it was eventually fixed later that afternoon. Next day, for no reason, the air conditioning temperature suddenly shot up to 27, nomatter what we did to the controls. We phoned reception and were told to open a window.... which was unfortunate as the building along the street was being renovated and we had to listen to the constant noise of the rubble chutes all day and into the evenng. The heat problem was obviously not just in our room as the cleaners had all the windows to the internal courtyard open in an attempt to keep the corridors cooler.

We may just have been unlucky - but it does spoil a short break when there is some kind of technical hitch each day. On balance, I think I would go for a more traditional type of hotel, where it is actually possible to have a bit of control over your environment.
The laptop was great though, and we found route maps to many of the restaurants recommended on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macabiScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

The location is excellent. Very clean and modern. Large bedroom and bathroom. Loved the laptop with free Internet connection. The airport bus (no 19) is only 5 minutes' walk away.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

A new and nice hotel very well-situated close to all the main attractions in Malaga.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jorgen71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Plaza Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Plaza Malaga

Property: Petit Palace Plaza Malaga
Address: Calle Nicasio Calle 5 | Esquina con Calle Larios, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#6 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#6 Business Hotel in Malaga
#9 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Plaza Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Petit Palace Plaza Malaga is situated on the corner of Larios street, one of the busiest shopping streets, behind the Cathedral, 4 star hotel in the middle of the historic centre of Málaga. The Petit Palace Plaza Malaga occupies a magnificent early twentieth-century building. Our modern rooms feature flat screen TV (with Satellite TV), hydro-massage shower, air-conditioned/ heating and mini-bar.It is also close to the harbour, two kilometres from the railway station and 10 kilometres from the airport.Room types •66 stylish rooms.•High-Tech rooms: laptop, exercise bike, trouser press, hydro massage shower and king-size bed.•Family rooms up to 5 people: King-size bed or two beds plus bunk beds. (Baby cots free of charge).•Equipped rooms for pets (bed, feeding and water bowls).•Rooms for disabled people.•Smoking & non smoking rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Petit Palace Plaza Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Plaza Malaga Hotel Malaga
Petit Palace Plaza málaga
Petit Palace Plaza Hotel málaga
Petit Palace Plaza Malaga Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing