We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bodega”

La Bodega Del Pintor
Ranked #175 of 2,081 Restaurants in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Bodega”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was my favourite eating/drinking place in Mijas. Delighted to have come across it early in the holiday and visited it often during the stay. Wine was excellent value with a fantastic choice. Tapas beautifully cooked and presented. Staff were delightful, a very friendly and welcoming place. Will be my first stop on my next visit to Mijas.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeRe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    17
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Tapas or not to tapas,that is the question.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a smart little wine bar tucked away on a picturesque,narrow street above Mijas which serves some excellent wine and a limited range of tapas.
The staff are very friendly although service can be a little haphazard and it's clear there's still some work to do on the free tapas policy.
Some nights it would be a few olives or crisps then another some excellent smoked salmon or deep-fried cauliflower ( actually nicer than it sounds ) and then another night nothing at all.
I'm sure it's not deliberate just confusing for people - a lady next to us one night complaining noisily that she'd bought an expensive bottle of wine and hadn't had so much as a free peanut.
In time these inconsistencies will hopefully shake out as this bodega has huge promise and,from what I saw over a couple of weeks,lots of customers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wahaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Bodega”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Maria, Santiago and Simon very good hosts.

Family run bar great wine and beer and tasty food (speciality tapas brilliant)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wine and Tapas”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This Bodega has only been open for 2 months, it was recommended to us by locals for a Flamenco music night. The music was brilliant and the restaurant was packed out, we were in a large group and the staff were very attentive and gave us lots of advice about ordering tapas and wine. The interior is small but very welcoming with a traditional Bodega feel, wine bottles displayed on the walls, upturned barrels for tables, or counters with tall stools - making it feel very relaxed and informal.
A few nights later we returned on our own, it was much quieter as it was not a night for entertainment. Again we asked staff for advice about ordering tapas and wine, the advice was excellent and we probably enjoyed the quieter atmosphere even more. We ended up visiting La Bodega most days through out our stay and thoroughly enjoyed each visit. The prices are very reasonable, setting relaxed, food informal but very tasty, and wine choices very extensive - mostly traditional Spanish wines. The main reason for recommending this restaurant are the staff who are really attentive, very knowledgeable and made each of our visits an experience to remember.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tricia500291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bodega Del Pintor also viewed

Mijas Pueblo, Mijas
Mijas Pueblo, Mijas
 
Mijas, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Bodega Del Pintor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing