We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula
Ranked #93 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Around the world
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Here's our review, based on our 9B criteria:

* Bed - a single bed with a comfy mattress.
* Bedroom - small in size, as you would expect from a student room, but it's fine for a place to just 'bunk down'. It had a desk and shelves, plus lamp. It's worth bearing in mind that the Residence overlooks a busy pedestrian street, and that the interior is not really sound-proofed, so there may be quite a bit of noise. However, I had a great sleep.
* Bathroom - although it was communal, it was more like a bathroom in your own house, with a toilet and shower in one room, rather than a locker room with lots of cubicles and showers.
* Breakfast - hot drink, roll and preserve included.
* Bar - n/a
* Bods - very friendly
* Budget - great value for the very centre of town.
* Back (i.e. would we return?) - Yes, if I was going with friends and was spending little time in the Residence, but I would not go back if I was going for a romantic break! Overall I was really pleased with choice for this trip, and I should also mention that there was a comfy lounge with TV and one free internet computer.
* Beyond the hotel...
The Residence is not well marked on the street, so note the address carefully and look out for it.
It's also worth doing an internet search for the 'best tapas bars of Malaga' to find recommended places.
You can see into the bullring from the viewpoint at the castle.
The ferry to Melilla departs from the port about 20 mins walk from the Residence.
The food market (Atarazanas) is worth a visit to stock up on provisions.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NickAndPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    15
    20
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
7
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Located right in the center of historic Malaga, this place is perfect as long as you don't forget you are in a student room. So do not expect a 4-star and you'll appreciate it.
+: Location, cheap, clean, surprisingly quiet, Internet, friendly staff, lots of cheap cafes and bar around.
-: No AC.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 88Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I was there in 2007, nice and clean place. Very central :) and down to the hostel there is very nice restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvijaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
233 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

If its a City Centre budget room you require then its good for that ,it can be noisy ,hot ,and more for the young student types on a low budget .It has its pros and cons ,
Pro's .At the heart of the city off Calle Larios , and 100's of cafe/bars and restaurants , and cheap .
Cons . A bit noisy from the streets to the side and behind , no air con shared toilets and showers .

Room Tip: side and rear rooms are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ab2pcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sakskoebing, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We booked 5 days at this place, cause i was going down to malaga for en exam and took my girlfriend wiht me. Both from denmark. We wanted at cheap central place and found this. Price is ok if you can live like a spartan. No aircon, no toilet on the rooms, and paper thin walls. We got a room with toilets on both sides and could hear everytime people went on the toilet. First night we godt 4 hours of sleep, cause everytime people went from room to room the doors were slammed and you woke up with a heart beat. Next day we cheked out and first they refused to pay the money back. After a lot of disagreements vi finaly got 3 days of pay. We only slept there one night. The breakfast aint breakfeast, its black coffe, white bread and ketchup Horrible. I will not recomand this place. We found a hotel not even 400 meters from santa paule, 100 meters from the metro and we only payed 8 euroes more a day for that stay. Thoug witouth breakfeast but a nice decent hotel room, airconditioned and with own batrhoom. So if you dont care if you use 8 euroes more or less, this aint worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Punkaharju, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We wanted to find a cheap place to stay for a couple of nights in Malaga, so Santa Paula was our choice.
Location had its pros and cons... Right in the middle of the old town, so close to everything (even parkinghouses) but even at this time of the year the street was noisy till 5 a.m. so if you are not a very good sleeper, earplugs are essential!
The breakfast was next to nothing, almost made me angry... Coffee and a white roll, no juice, no yogurt, no cheese or ham etc.
The staff was nice though...
At least at this time of the year (March) you don't have to be a student to stay here - I'm a mom who travelled with her daughter.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katriina_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2007

Warning: If you do not hold a student card, you are not eligible!

If you don't mind spartan living conditions, in a small and tired room, with no a/c (remember this is Southern Spain), and a window opening on a very noisy street (where restaurant owners chatter on until 1 am, followed by city cleaning services until 2 am); if you don't object to communal shower rooms and toilets; if an extremely frugal breakfast (a roll + some butter + some jam + a artificially flavoured white yoghourt + American coffee) is the least of your concern; if you only have 21 EUR to spend per night; then this is your dream destination.

You will be rewarded with one of the best locations in town: in the middle of the old city, 30 sec from the Plaza de la Constitucion and the posh Calle Molina Lario, a few minutes away only from the Cathedral and the Museo Picasso. The beach, Malagetta is less than a 15 minutes walk. Just perfect! Way better than the official youth hostel, which is 20 minutes away, or other University student halls, which are even farther out.

The place is ok for a short-term stay or student backpackers on a shoestring budget. It is clean, has 24/24 porter service, and is dirt cheap.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Extremely basic
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambridge_Student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Cinco Bolas
Cinco Bolas
#96 of 133 in Malaga
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Centro
Residencia Universitaria San Jose
Centro
Hostel Juanita
Hostel Juanita
#25 of 133 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
No photo provided
Urbanliving Liborio
#99 of 133 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Chinitas Urban Hostel
#28 of 133 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Centro
Apartamentos Goodplaces Larios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula

Property: Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula
Address: Calle Especeria 5, 29005 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing