We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”
Review of Hostal La Paloma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal La Paloma
Ranked #127 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We just stayed one out of five nights we had booked in advance.
The beds and bathroom are really dirty. So we changed to a Hotel closer to the centre, slightly more expensive but clean.
I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here.

For location and cleanliness completely overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hausebau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

I was staying recently in Hostal La Paloma for 9 nights. Rooms are not very clean there and batrooms are even dirty especially shower which i think it wasnt clean from the time that hostal exist. Rooms which are not taken have open doors so you can see all of them. Once when i going out i saw on the floor dog droppings. It was really disgusting!!! Next thing that now its not very hot in Malaga and room was very cold and cause of it we both with my fiance came back home sick. We ask for some hitter but thing what they gave us wasnt even put the temperature inside the room a little. Everything is old and dirty even bed sheet and bedding stufs. Everything different colours, blancets also didnt seem nice and clean. I really was all the time thinking that i will catch sth bad there. We were very surprised with my fiance cause during summer we have stayed in other hostal ( El Nogal) and there everything was nice and clean and we chose this one cause was closer to the city but we didnt expect that it will be such a huge difference between them. Internet didnt work properly... From 9 days we had internet jus for 2 and for next 7 day nobady came to fix it even when we were asking for it. Hostel is not far from the center so you can walk sth like 15 min without taking bus but really i prefer to use bus every day and be happy with plays im staying in. It was the worst experince i've ever had in the hostal so if you want to have nice stay dont choose this hostal.

Room Tip: Room no 6 is ugly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magda86lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I went to Malaga with my 2 friends so we were looking for something afordable. I didnt expect this hostel to be so great. It has a special feeling and atmosphere, great kitchen where we spent most of time inside but the most amazing was staff who were the most friendly people I ever met. We had a great time and felt like home, almost crying on our way back. I will come again only to visit these great people with big heart. Hugs to you guys from Slovakia/ UK

Room Tip: We stayed in a triple room but seen almost all of them as hostel was empty when we came. They are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Any C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I spent in La Paloma two nights in march 2011, it all cost 50 euros. It was my first visit of Malaga, and right from airport I went to that hostal. It was funny, but I couldn't find the hostal though I got to the right street, finally I asked people in a store right near it. You have to go upstairs and there you will see a sign pointing at the door of hostal.
Stuff was nice and helpful, they speak English.
I booked a single room through Internet. It was not that small, normal one: one bed, a small bedside table, two chairs, sink with mirror, TV. Furniture looks kind of poor and old. There was one big window with look for walls of opposite houses, also it was a small balcony, but i didn't open it and didn't go there.
Shared bathroom was right opposite my room. It was good enough: clean, and no problem with hot water. And actually I didn't see many people there, so bathroom wasn't occupied at all.
Maybe coz of weather, but in room it was a bit cold, especially at night.
Actually location of hostal is good, not that far from city center. Also it's very easy to get to Alcazaba, Gibralfaro and Cathedral.
As for me it was not bad, everything was expected for such a price. For travellers who don't need much but bed, shower and simple things it's good.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicki_Lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2007

Having stayed for a week in Benalmadena @ the Royal Oasis Club @ Benal Beach I needed to find a place for 2 nights near the airport so decamped to Malaga. I booked the room by phone at 11am for 2 nights knowing there was no en suite facilities but what do you expect from a 1 Star Hostal.

I arrived in Malaga at about 12.30 and took half an hour to locate the road the hostal was located in. The cost was 48 Euros for 2nights room only, no breakfast but the staff were in general very helpful especially Raphael.

The room was large enough with 2 single beds in the room and a balcony that unfortunately was overlooked by 2 other blocks of flats and overlooked a rather tired street ( I would have called it a large alley). I arrived at 2pm and the room wasn't ready and the lady cleaned it in about 20Minutes.

The Hotel is situated about a 10 minute walk away from the main drag area of Malaga and near to Marquis de larios and the shopping area for the spanish and about 15 minutes from The Alcazabar and the Castille Gibralfaro

The shared bathroom was kept pretty clean but was spoilt by the 3 blobs of dried black paint in the bath and the fact that the shower was actually just an attachment like te one my grandparents used!

Unfortunately I cant recommend this place overall - would I use it again, probably not but would if there was no choice.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank AngloAfroHubi&Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montsed328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 321_ele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Bellavista Playa Malaga
#39 of 154 in Malaga
104 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
3,317 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Paloma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Paloma

Address: Calle Barcenillas 8, 29012 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Price Range: £29 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostal La Paloma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Paloma Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing