We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sterile decor and thin walls!”
Review of Hotel Guadalmedina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Guadalmedina
Ranked #34 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We booked this hotel for an overnight after a cruise and flying home the next day. We had pre-paid the room, but the hotel tried to tell us we had cancelled the reservation, A phone call to the cruise line was required to sort that out. Then when we got to the room we could not get any lights etc to work, a quick call to the desk and we found out you need to insert your key card into a slot near the front door to activate the electricity. Who knew? This was mildly irritating as they only gave us one card, so when one of us went out to get something the card had to stay in place for te person in the room. Additionally my ipad could not charge while we were out for dinner. The free wifi wouldnt connect and desk clerk said it didnt work well for tablets..... Hmm. Why? We also could hear clearly people talking in other rooms. Location is great, we walked to the historic center for dinner. We also had to leave very early for the airport and could not use the included breakfast, so they made us up a picnic breakfast to take tothe airport! We were impressed with that.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stv50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria N, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Guadalmedina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Sir, We are really sorry for the inconvenience. The electric system in the rooms are with the magnetic card, normally we give one key at the check-in. We are in reception 24 hours in order to help our customers. If our customer needs a copy, we are charmed to give two copies.
As far as the problem with the wifi, we realise that we had a general and puntual problem during one day.
We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel, Thank you for your comment
Yours sincerely,
Hotel Husa Guadalmedina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2012

I always expect anything in Europe to be too small and too pricy. We were so surprised at the minimal price we paid and how updated, clean, hospitable and the size of the rooms. We were a little nervous because some of the surroundings were a little shady but the street the hotel was on was safe. There were a few restaurants but we were there on Sunday but most everything was closed. The hotel restaurant was super convenient and the food was good. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

In general terms is a hotel with good value for money, at least in October. Well situated, not far from the center just opposite the Museum of Contemporary Art. The only problem is the parking: just terrible even for an experienced driver and a middle sized car.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Husa Hoteles
Thank Tjhie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Our room was clean, modern and for the price we payed it was a perfect value. It's easy to walk to old town also to the marina. The guy at the reception was super super helpful. He answered all our questions and he gave us many suggestions. I would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I was in Malaga in February and I stayed 5 nights at this hotel. Close to metro, I was able to travel to airport and bus terminal easily and visit other cities. Close to old town, restaurants and shopping was easy. It's clean and quiet.

Room Tip: Next door to metro/train
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pierre44Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The rooms are OK, meaning spacious and clean. The bathroom, although spacious, had only a shower type 'drain in the floor', meaning the whole thing gets immediately inondated when you turn on the shower. But besides that, everything is up to Spanish 4-star standards.
Just the breakfast is somewhat below expectations: a bit unimaginative and the breakfast room is definitely too small.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Early_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The room was clean with plenty of storage space and a comfortable bed, bathroom spacious and clean. But why FOUR stars? Terrible welcome, poor and expensive to eat. No air-con that we could find, although it was October so not really necessary. If this had been 3 stars with a 3 star price I'd have been delighted; as it was I feel ripped off, also, registration was not smooth as it should be. Rooms are great but the hospitality needs work.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank propositionjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#13 of 89 in Malaga
1,016 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#32 of 89 in Malaga
533 reviews
Sercotel Malaga
#31 of 89 in Malaga
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guadalmedina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guadalmedina

Address: Pasillo Matadero 16, 29002 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Husa Guadalmedina)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro , Perchel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: £62 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Guadalmedina 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guadalmedina Hotel is a modern and comfortable 4 stars. Especially appropriate for stays of business and leisure given its privileged location in the centre of historical and financial district of the city. In front of the Contemporary Art Centre and just 5 minutes away from the main monuments of the Old Town. In front of the station with direct connection to the Airport and walking distance from the railway stations Maria Zambrano, Bus and Malaga Port. It offers 60 wide and luminous rooms totally equipped with full bathrooms with hairdryer, bath and shower. Work desk, minibar, direct telephone, TV Satellite, air conditioning and heating, free wireless connection and free safety deposit box. It facilities include a social lounge and private guest garage. The Marengo Bar-Restaurant is an addition to all the other attentions and services provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Guadalmedina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Guadalmedina Hotel Malaga
Husa Guadalmedina málaga
Hotel Guadalmedina Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing