We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Hotel Guadalmedina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Guadalmedina
Ranked #34 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Arezzo, Italy
Level Contributor
170 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel has got the perfect position to visit Malaga since it is about 10 minutes from the centre and it is even closer to the main train and bus station if you want to reach the rest of Andalucia. There are also a couple of good restaurants nearby and plenty of shops and cafes. My room was very confortable, with a big single bed, air conditioning and modern bathroom. It had a view on the river. I had a wifi connection in my room, but it was quite poor. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AChiara78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    161
    94
    13
    11
See reviews for
43
165
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Booked 2 rooms for family of 5 this for one night before our cruise. It was April and unexpectedly warm. We arrived after a very long day travelling approx 10pm . And we were leaving by 9 am so expensive for our time there but locality to Dock was good enough for us to pay.

The rooms air con was not working and was left in 'warm' mode so we were literally melting in our beds. Windows fully open so road noise not helping our sleep.

After an awful nights sleep we wanted to speak to the manager at 9 am and was bluntly told that the manager was in bed as it was early ( I know ! To early made me laugh as well ) and would not want to be woken ! The receptionist was unhelpful , blunt, couldn't care less. I asked for a refund of some description and was told flatly no ! And yet again it was too early to awake the sleeping on duty manager - at least he probably had air conditioning !

Good location for dock , average hotel, bad customer care.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tutterandmagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Malaga hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed for 1 night, as flying early the following morning. Travelled from Estepa to Malaga, and needed somewhere close to train link to airport, for early flight the following day. The hotel is across the road from Malaga Centro (Central) station, which takes you to Malaga airport (feungirola line) and a 10 minute walk from the bus station. I walked into Malaga central promenade, which took 15mins. A great location for a hotel, room was a good size, along with bathroom. Staff were very helpfull and courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room 510
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcOMaoldomhnaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is within easy reach of the train station and close to the shops, bars and restaurants in the centre. This modern hotel offers clean, bright and spacious rooms with good size modern bathroom, flat screen tv and minibar. For these with a hire car there is also the added advantage of private parking which is available to guests for an additional charge. Overall I would recommend this hotel for those on a short break or if travelling on business.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonBoughey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
613 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

At the start of our five days, and at the end, we met Carlos. A very welcoming and informative member of staff. As one of a party staying at the Guadalmedina, I did wonder if the 'restaurant' would cope with our numbers for breakfast. Cope in the sense of space available and dishes available. Because our arrivals were somewhat staggered, this did not become a problem. The hotel is not too far from the historic centre but is well-placed for the coast railway or the main RENFE station.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hotel is just a few minutes walk to the city. You just head north go over the bridge and you are there. It is 30 seconds away from one of the smaller entrances to Malaga centro train station and a couple of minutes to a large entrance if you prefer more light. Its less than 10 mins to the main Maria Zambrano station which is near the bus station. We took the bus to Nerja (1hr 20min) from here.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Room was a little smaller than anticipated but was nice and bed very large.
The drinks in the fridge are chargeable and as usual a little pricey.
We were on the first floor directly above the restaurant/breakfast area and this was a little irritating. We could not hear voices but could hear them them setting up in the morning and water going through pipes. To be fair I did not ask to be moved as I hoped it would get quieter and we really didnt want the hassle of moving our things. There was also some traffic noise on the first floor but this was not excessive.
All in all it was okay/fine but thought it was a little inconsiderate to put us in the room they did as I am sure others have complained- so avoid first floor if you can and make sure you are not above restaurant/cafe area.
We found a very friendly very Spanish and great value bar/cafe called Almijara round the corner. Great if you want to brush up on your Spanish.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BrightMJJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here for a week, courtesy of insurance company whilst our motor home was being repaired in Malaga, nice comfy rooms Queen sized bed, very clean, and it was centrally situated ,within wailking distance of the city. They also take dogs ( well behaved) The only down thing for us there wasnt any tea or coffee facilities in the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#32 of 88 in Malaga
502 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#13 of 88 in Malaga
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sercotel Malaga
#35 of 88 in Malaga
821 reviews
Prolongación de la Alameda
Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel
Centro
NH Malaga
NH Malaga
#7 of 88 in Malaga
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guadalmedina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guadalmedina

Property: Hotel Guadalmedina
Address: Pasillo Matadero 16, 29002 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Husa Guadalmedina)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro , Perchel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Guadalmedina 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guadalmedina Hotel is a modern and comfortable 4 stars. Especially appropriate for stays of business and leisure given its privileged location in the centre of historical and financial district of the city. In front of the Contemporary Art Centre and just 5 minutes away from the main monuments of the Old Town. In front of the station with direct connection to the Airport and walking distance from the railway stations Maria Zambrano, Bus and Malaga Port. It offers 60 wide and luminous rooms totally equipped with full bathrooms with hairdryer, bath and shower. Work desk, minibar, direct telephone, TV Satellite, air conditioning and heating, free wireless connection and free safety deposit box. It facilities include a social lounge and private guest garage. The Marengo Bar-Restaurant is an addition to all the other attentions and services provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Guadalmedina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Guadalmedina Hotel Malaga
Husa Guadalmedina málaga
Hotel Guadalmedina Malaga, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing