We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced & pretentious”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurante Mena

Restaurante Mena
Ranked #292 of 1,373 Restaurants in Marbella
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Over priced & pretentious”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great position in Orange square but food average & expensive, as too is the wine. Cost for two was over £100 and that was for 1 starter, a spanish omlette, mixed sea food grill, salad and one of the cheaper bottles of wine........not good value for money. Staff seemed a bit uncomfortable with all the pomp and weren't sincere & friendly. Go to the other corner of the square to Casa del Corregidor for a much better experience (see my review).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    85
    56
    33
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Dine Later - Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Listen after reading the recent reviews I'm going to fight there corner. This was my first night and after my flight being delayed it was always going to be a late night dining. We arrived at 9.30 and got a table straight away, the waiter attending our table was very attentive and efficient.
We ordered main courses only with it being so late, i choose the Spring Leg of Lamb which was superb whilst my wife choose the King Prawns and supported with a good bottle of red it so relaxing and the restaurant had a lovely ambience to enjoy a lovely meal.
This restaurant was definitely a highlight of our trip.
Definitely return without hesitation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timsc-62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
83 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Average food, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely location in the square. Food is good, ordered prawn pil pil asked if we require a side, waiter said it was ok. Soon as main arrived i had to order fries as it looked more like a starter. Other mains looked good for portion size. Service very poor we had different waiters, waited a long time to order and recieve our drinks. Then had to prompt for desert menu. Seems like they want you in the restaurant but dont want to serve you. We wont be back any time soon.

Helpful?
Thank 1rikster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
89 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't let the crowds fool you!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were looking for a really nice place to have our last meal at and our taxi driver suggested somewhere in the Marbella Old Town...we landed here. Wish we didn't. At first it looked great because it was so bust and everyone seemed to be eating. The location actually is rubbish as your constantly batting flies off. The service was awful, waiters never seemed to have a clue. The food itself was rubbish. I ordered the Bufalata pizza which was basically like a big, round £15 bit of toasted cheese! Never again and don't waste your money!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank V3nom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We had a plan visiting restaurant 'The Orange Tree' for lunch but it was only open for dinner. We dropped in at Mena at Plaza de Los Narjanjos without checking prices. We were chocked when looking at the menu and the pricing ready to order. We ordered 1smoked salmon and one hot asparagus and was told after a while that they had no more hot asparagus. We asked for 1 more salmon and a green starter. We got one plate of each to share without any explanation. When getting the bill we were charged for seating! and 10% tips on the bill without explanation. One plus: Good tastes for heavy prised food. A good Michelin is much cheaper. Never again visiting this restaurant!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Radiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Mena also viewed

 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante Mena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing