We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Alice thought the whole thing very absurd, but they all looked so grave that she did not dare to laugh..."”
Review of Puente Romano

Puente Romano
Ranked #523 of 1,399 Restaurants in Marbella
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“"Alice thought the whole thing very absurd, but they all looked so grave that she did not dare to laugh..."”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This review is about the experience we had on the evening of Saturday 7th June whilst dining at Danni Garcia’s recently opened Restaurant at the Puente Romano Hotel Marbella

Before I get started on that you might want to know that we are Danni Garcia fans and have eaten twice at his Calima Restaurant at the Melia Don Pepe Hotel a couple of miles down the coast before he relocated to the Puente Romano bringing many of his original team with him

We have also met Danni twice most recently just ahead of our recent visit to his new restaurant at and have found him to be a pleasant approachable person who wants his customers to enjoy his food

This is a two Michelin star restaurant and we judged it against that background and the good fortune we have had to eat in many a Michelin gaff down the years. Overall the evening was not a success, mainly because of the service, partially because of the food but especially by the lamentable attitude of one the worst Sommeliers we have encountered

Now to the details.
Service. It was efficient. It was charmless. There was no attempt to engage with us as individuals. Throughout we felt as though we were watching an Audi being assembled rather than feeling the mutual warmth that can be generated by waiting staff with good levels of interpersonal skills. No one was rude. All were efficient in a very Teutonic way. We were very effectively processed

I stated that no one was rude. The Sommelier got close. We wanted advice about wine. This should solicit questions about what styles of wine we like, which grapes, which countries wines we enjoy - that sort of thing. Without exaggeration we have had friendlier service in a bar ordering beer. You know the sort of thing a good barman says “good evening” or “how can I help you”? or “what would you like”? I include these phrases in case the Sommelier would like to learn them. Customers should never be talked down to Mr Sommelier your knowledge is there to enhance their experience not your ego. Danni you used to employ one of the best Sommeliers we have ever met and now you have one of the worst

The food. Competently cooked high quality ingredients. We had a starter of Foie Gras with goats cheese followed by mains of Iberian Pork. The Foie Gras dish was something we enjoyed at Dannis previous restaurant. This time it had been left in the fridge a little too long which detracted from the flavour of the two key components. The Pork was beautifully tender with a great sauce and almost flavourless. We think the flavour was water bathed away in exchange for tenderness and texture. We like the menu flexibility in that you could order half or full portions. We were one modest eater and one greedy chap so this option worked well for us

Our bouches (mouths) were amused by tasty morsels turning up in boxes from time to time. High quality and better flavours than the dishes they were sent to support

We have eaten with Danni Garcia three times. Best meal by far was the second time. The only time Danni was in the kitchen on the night

Finally there is a theme to this restaurant. It is based on Alice in Wonderland. The title of this review is a line taken from the book. A book with a story full of personality, charm and reader engagement. Perhaps it is being used in an attempt to inject some personality in to this soulless restaurant but thats the role of the key staff working the restaurant floor who we think have never hear of Lewis Carroll. It’s very much a case of Michelin stars in their eyes

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Poor Service and average food!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We booked a table at Del Mar for 6 for Sunday lunch based on the beautiful vantage point on the Med. We were the first table to be seated. We all were completely disappointed. Service was terrible - food was slow to arrive and and we had to get up to pour our own wine while we waited. The first course was fine. For the main course, 3 of our table ordered Paella. Very disappointing and again we had to serve ourselves for the second service of the Paella which by that time was completely cold. The mussels were overcooked. The fries arrived after we had eaten the mussels. We waited and waited. Finally managed to get someone’s attention so that we could pay the bill - no coffee or dessert. 245 Euro per couple. The same wine we had had at Messina the night before was twice the price at Del Mar. Would not return!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LPWToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Fantastic location of the beach restaurant within the hotel Puente Romano.
Good menu range we opted for the wild sea bass cooked in sea salt.
Lovely presentation of vegetables to accompany the meal.
Excellent service.
Drinks are pricey compared to what we thought for the location and quality of the restaurant the food prices were not over the top.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulmarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Suite- A total let down to the Puente Romano”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Firstly we had a problem with the table-After arriving at 9.15 we made ourselves known to the waiter as we had a drink in the Plaza and explained there were now only 7 of us not 10. We were shown which table was ours and told it was ready whenever we were-perfect. However, when we got to the table the extremely rude manager told us that this was now not our table and he showed us to one indoors-this was not acceptable firstly because it was indoors but secondly the sofas were too low and the chairs too high. We asked if we could move back to our original table to which the manager just said 'no, no,no' then proceeded to lie that there was another group of 10 coming for that table-obviously we knew this was not true as we had already been told that was our table. After threatening to leave we were moved to our original table. Unfortunately this was only the start of our problems...

The service was terrible!...after waiting until 11pm we got our starters-these it must be said were ok. We then waited for an extremely long time to get our main courses and what a disappointment these were!...Every single meal except one was freezing cold!! We sent all but one back and as it was so late (midnight) we told them not to bother bringing them back-we were past eating by then!

Again, we waited so long to even order dessert I got up to ask if we could order to which the waiter snapped: 'it will come when it comes!' Taken aback, I then had to explain that we hadn't even ordered!!

In the end when we finally got the bill there was no food charge-just as well!

As regulars at the Sea Grill, Puente Romano where we never have anything but a perfect experience, we were all unbelievably disappointed by both the food and the service at Suite-I think it is fair to say that the manager was the worst I have ever come across in any restaurant I have dined at around the world and Suite is a huge let down to the Puente Romano itself.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LucyFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the restaurant on the beach @ the hotel”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

wonderful sea food , the best carabineros I've ever had. Staff - excellent , competent and quick . prices on the high side

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonne2305_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puente Romano also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Puente Romano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing