We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much needed rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked this very last minute five day holiday through BA Hoilday Finder. We both needed a rest some peace and quiet and some sunshine. The hotel was very good and mostly met our needs.

The room was nice but we had no view at all and just looked on to a very small garden, however we did ask for somewhere very quiet and it was but the hotel wasn't full so I think most of the rooms would have been OK.

The food was excellent in both the buffet breakfast and we also tried the Japanese restaurant on site which again was very good. The service in the hotel bar which we used for a nightcap was excellent and Davina who served us every evening was a star.

We found that it wasn't easy to get any refreshments during the day if you were by the pool ( which was very cold and is not heated) without going to look for a member of staff . The pool bar is only open in July and August and whilst I accept the hotel was not busy I think the maybe this needs a rethink.

A tip for guests. Find the 19th hole over by the golf academy a very short walk away. Its a small cafe with fabulous views and serves beverages and light snacks throughout the day.

I don't think this is a hotel for families with small children. It is what it says "a golf hotel and spa." It is not located near the beach and you really need a car to get around or pay for taxis'. There is very little for smaller children to do apart from play in the pool ( which is not large) but we were pleased to see that the few children who were staying at the hotel were very well behaved . Our stay was however spoilt on the last couple of days when on family with three unruly children arrived who basically ran wild. Fortunately one of the staff around the pool eventually intervened and things were a bit quieter.

We would return to the hotel. It was very clean, the food was good and it had everything we wanted ( my husband enjoyed the golf) and it is well located to get around but we did have a car.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artistdhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear artistdhm,

First of all we wish to thank most sincerely the time you have spent to send your comments regarding your last visit.

I will share your kind words with the entire team, in special to Davinia, who will be very glad to know that our effort is highly appreciated by our guests.

We would like to inform you that the hotel offers a free shuttle service for our guests to Marbella and Puerto Banús.

Once again we thank you for your recent visit and we hope to welcome you soon.

Best regards,

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

A revisited review and I have not re read the last one I wrote on The la Quinta last year.
Lets keep simple and just say please go and read my last review on La Quinta. Nothing changed and we would like to Thank Juan, David & Davina & Olga & Kaede(sushi Restaurant) Very Good service and a warm welcome back. 3RD floor room, very nice, good views and relaxing short stay.

Room Tip: 3rd floor but you will need a Melia card. Try and go Golf course side as opposed to pool rooms. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outside101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Outside101,

Thank you very much for the time you took in writing your impressions about our hotel on TripAdvisor after your recent visit.

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We are hugely pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided and were impressed by our Team. Be sure that we will share your comments with all our staff.

We sincerely hope that we have the chance to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for 7 days and thought the hotel was excellent. The room which overlooked the golf course was spacious as was the bathroom. It was very clean. The swimming pool is lovely, towels provided and some days were laid out already for you. It is a bit far from Marbella and Puerto Banus but there is a courtesy bus. The golf courses are excellent and not too pricey if you hire everything. Breakfast was buffet and evening meal was choice from a menu. I am on special diet and they could not have been more accommodating. Only negatives, there is no kettle in the room, and water from the mini bar is expensive especially as there is not a shop within walking distance to buy some.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raghead67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Raghead67,

Thank you very much for the time you took in writing your impressions about our hotel on TripAdvisor after your recent visit.

We appreciate to hear that your expectations were met with our services and facilities and that you enjoyed.

Our apologies for the inconveniences you have had with the kettle in the room and the spa facilities. You can enjoy the kettle in our premium rooms and always upon request.
We will be delighted to welcome you back and provide you our best to make your stay an amazing experience.

Best regards,

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 days and thought the facilities were excellent.The Room was spacious as was the bathroom.It was also clean and spotless.

The Swimming pool was first class and we spent some nice mornings just relaxing around the pool area.

Being a Brit, I was extremely disappointed that there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room.Upon request, i was told that this was for premium rooms only.I would also have preferred a room with a sea view as ours was overlooking the entrance.

Without moaning too much, we were disappointed that we had to pay for the spa facilities ie steam room ,sauna and jacuzzi as these are normally provided free by other hotels like the Marriott.

I recommend car hire as Marbella is 15 minutes away.

Overall, it was a good hotel with friendly service.....but don't forget the kettle!

Room Tip: Choose one with a view of the mountains and the coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonFrancis1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear SimonFrancis1960,

Thank you very much for the time you took in writing your impressions about our hotel on TripAdvisor after your recent visit.

We appreciate to hear that your expectations were met with our services and facilities and that you enjoyed.

Our apologies for the inconveniences you have had with the kettle in the room and the spa facilities. As you say, you can enjoy the kettle in our premium rooms and always upon request. About the spa, the management of it is different to the hotel management, and this was the reason because it was not provided free for our guests.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable.

Best regards,

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here after booking.com told us it was a family oriented hotel with rooms that provide special items for children. When we arrived we were very disappointed with the room. The two beds provided for four of us were tiny, smaller than my little girls double bed back at home. We thought two adults couldn't possibly share comfortably so my wife slept with one of the children and I with the other. I didn't sleep at all because of the tiny bed! I ended up sleeping on the floor of the hotel room. When we complained, we were told that these were queen size beds and were the correct size for the family rooms. We were shocked we were not taken seriously with our complaints and we shall not be returning to this hotel again. A very expensive hotel to eat in, the spa was dirty and poorly maintained, More of a three star hotel in my opinion.

Room Tip: I have looked on the photos of this hotel, and there are king size beds, so if you are a family of f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Paul M,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us these comments. Our customer’s opinion is the greatest assistance to us in identifying possible lack of information and takes whatever corrective measures may be necessary to continue improving in all hotel areas.

We deeply regret not to have met up your expectations during your last stay with us.
I would like to inform you about our Family rooms. This ones has 2 double bed for two people each one. Our apologies for the inconveniences you have had during your stay if the beds was not like expected. I would liked to talk with you and offer another option during your stay.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable with the most appropriate type of room.

Best regards,

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Spent a week in April/May for golf and relaxation. Perfect Hotel for both. Room was large and clean; pool area very clean with plenty beds and towels supplied.
Restaurants very good. Main restaurant good selection and food excellent. Golf clubhouse also had a good selection from sandwiches to full menu. Highlight was Japanese Restaurant and the Teppanyaki table.
Golf course consists of 3 9s which meant good variety (we played 4 times). Good selection of holes with a reasonable variety between the 9s.
Service in the hotel from the staff was excellent from breakfast to dinner.
You probably need a car as the hotel in up in the hills above Marbella and they charge for parking, but there is a bus runs to Marbella throughout the day.
All in all - we would go. Back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Neil D,

Thank you very much for the time you took in writing your impressions about our hotel on TripAdvisor after your recent visit.

Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality. As you know it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers, that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.

We will be delighted to welcome you back and provide you our best to make your stay an amazing experience.

Best regards,

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Always love staying here, though it can be a bit quiet. Great bar, good breakfast and a fabulous teppen yaki restaurant. Not a bad position as close to Marbella and just off the AP7. Service as always very attentive!

Room Tip: Overlooking pool would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Wayne S,

Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your positive feedback about our Hotel and our staff.

I will share your kind words with the entire team who will be very glad to know that our effort is highly appreciated by our guests.

It would be a real pleasure to receive your visit again and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any kind of assistance you may need.

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
3.8 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#9 of 70 in Marbella
1,434 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
3.5 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
980 reviews
3 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,784 reviews
5.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Urbanizacion La Quinta | Benahavis, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#6 Family Hotel in Marbella
#7 Business Hotel in Marbella
#10 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £121 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, Benahavis, Marbella is ideally located in the beautiful "Valley of Golf", Marbella, which makes it a unique destination for lovers of golf, featuring its exclusive club and a 27 hole private golf course. Situated between the Mediterranean sea and the mountains of Sierra Blanca, and only 10 minutes by car from the Costa del Sol, the hotel is surrounded by an exceptionally beautiful natural landscape. This unique destination, which is blessed with a warm sunny climate all year round, is ideal for couples and families to enjoy with all the amenities and services needed for relaxation and wellbeing. The 1,500 sqm SPA, the 2 exterior swimming pools surrounded by gardens and the Westin(R) Kids Club will facilitate fun for the young ones and tranquillity for adults. The Westin La Quinta rooms and suites are comfortable and spacious, featuring an authentic Andalusian-style décor flooded with natural light, private terraces, uplifting views to the mountains and all the amenities that distinguish Westin, including the Westin(R) Heavenly Beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia La Quinta Golf And Spa Resort
Melia La Quinta Golf Hotel Marbella
Westin Marbella
La Quinta Marbella
Marbella Westin
Marbella La Quinta
The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing