We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel let down by the Japanese restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We are Melia Reward users. We find Melia to be a good, reliable brand. The staff is generally efficient and helpful. La Quinta Golf was no exception. We found the pre-booked half board option to be extremely good value for money. It is the first time we have stayed half board anywhere and we were concerned about committing for a week in one restaurant. However, the food was of a very high standard and the hotel was very accommodating in swapping the options from lunch to dinner as it suited our needs. The pool area was lovely. Juan in reception and Isabella in the restaurant were both very helpful and pleasant.

The only thing which let down the holiday was the Japanese restaurant. When we booked into the hotel we were told we could eat for one evening in the Japanese restaurant as part of our half board option. We booked the evening through reception and were given our voucher. When we sat down to eat we were not asked if we were half board guests. We assumed, as many guests were half board and the reservation for our evening had been made through Reception, that it was clear we were half board. When we went o give the voucher at the end we were very rudely told we should have given the voucher at the beginning and we could not use the voucher. We ended up paying 250 Euros for a meal which was quite frankly adequate but by no means exceptional. The food in the main hotel restaurant is of a far superior quality.

We would highly recommend this hotel if you have car and want a relaxing base for your holiday. However, if you stay half board do not eat in the Japanese restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank MJS090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia A, Guest Experience Manager at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear MJS090,

First of all, we want to thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your positive feedback about some points of our Hotel and our staff.

It is an honor for us to know that you were delighted with some hotel facilities and our staff. It will be a pleasure to tell Isabel and Juan your kind words. Meliá La Quinta thank you for appreciate the hard work that all our team do every day.

Regarding your reservation in the Japanese Restaurant, we have to tell you that half board guests has a special menu in this restaurant so it is different from other clients. For that reason, it is necessary to give the voucher at the beginning. We apologize if they did not reach your expectations.

It would be a real pleasure to receive your visit again and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any kind of assistance you may need.

Best regards,

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is a lovely and peaceful hotel. The rooms are big and the pool area is friendly. There are good restaurants here - one an excellent Japanese restaurant.

Best is the golf with 3 9 hole courses which are varied and challenging

Often it seems remote but there is a free hotel minibus to Marbella and Puerto Banus which helps a great deal.

For relaxation little else is needed

Room Tip: Facing the sea ad to above restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Andy X,

First of all we would like to thank you for these nice comments and for taking your time to share your experience in Meliá La Quinta.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and your comments about our services and facilities. Our customer’s opinion will be of great assistance for us in our continuous improvement.

We will be glad to welcome you in a future and make your visit unforgettable.

Best regards,

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed 7 nights at this fabulous hotel. it is a top 5 star worthed. The staff is extremely friendly, it is very clean. The rooms, the views are more beautiful than what you can see on their website. It is at the levelof a high class four seasons's hotel. we do a lot of classy hotels as Ritz Paris, Four seasons Mexico City, Four seasons La Terre Blanche (golf provence France), etc...We did a lot of golf (very nice golf courts of La Quinta). we will do a lot of publicity in our golf club in Belgium for this nice hotel. You can take a shuttle to Marbella, a shuttle to Puerto Banus and have a nice walk on the luxuoury shops (Corte Ingles, Hermes, etc... at the evening) . At this hotel , you don't have the mass of people what makes that you can relax at the pool.
The 2 restaurants are excellent and we went 2 times to the japanese restaurant . there you have also a beautiful view on the golf course and the pool.
We give 10/10 for the architecture of this construction.

Cesar Cuyvers and family from Belgium

Room Tip: you must take room 250. it has a beautiful view of the swimming pool and golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cesar c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear cesar c,

Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comments; we believe it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our guests that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with the hotel facilities and our staff.

It would be a real pleasure to receive your visit again and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any kind of assistance you may need.

Best regards,

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a nice swank hotel but for the price we paid (200e per night) booked directly from their website I thought it would be nicer. One thing I was a bit annoyed with was the 7e charge for room service. Here is the situation, I was hungry but as I as not feeling well I did not want to get dressed up and go to the restaurant. I have a nice room with a nice view from my balcony, why not eat there ? Turns out to order a 11e sandwich you have to pay a 7e delivery charge AND the none of the hotel restaurants allow take-out. And since there are no other food joints anywhere close the hotel you have no options. Why do hotels gain by stiffing you like this, certainly not goodwill ??

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear FromVancouverBC,

We thank you very much for your feedback trough Tripadvisor. We regret to have caused you a bad impression although we always strive to offer the best possible service. We have shared your comments with our Food and Beverage department in order to improve the service provided in our froom service.

Our main objective is total guest satisfaction and, therefore, we would like to change your perception about the service that Meliá La Quinta may offer. For this reason, should you ever come back to Marbella, we would be very pleased to personally greet you.

I remain at your complete disposal and do not hesitate to contact us directly in advance.

Best regards,

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I spent four days at this hotel. On arrival I tried to get information about parking (which costs an extra €10 per day). I was told that parking was under the hotel but struggled to get directions to the entrance. Entry to parking requires scanning of room card but standard card does not work so I had to wait 10 minutes at the entrance to get someone to let me in. Back at reception I was told that I should have registered my car and received a special 'parking' room card - so clearly I was at fault for not knowing this without being informed!! On another occasion the parking card did not work because the date on my card had expired and had to be replaced. Generally we found the staff to be aloof and unfriendly as if they were trained that 5* hotels should operate in this way.

Room Tip: Remember to request kin-size bed if wanted. Otherwise you could be allocated twins automatically.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Bill M,

First of all we wish to thank most sincerely the time you have spent to send your comments regarding your last visit.

Our apologies for the inconveniences you have had in your stay. We do our best to exceed our guest expectations and we are really sorry to know that we have not reached yours.
We will take good notice of all your impressions to try to avoid these incidents in the future and give our guests the best quality of service and product.

We would be glad to have the opportunity to receive you once again in our Hotel and change your last impression.

Best regards,

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

La Quinta is highly recommended to relax, play golf, go shopping close by and also some sightseeing. The hotel and its staff and facilities very good. The only concern being english speaking is the limited english TV channels and not being able to watch World Cup football matches in the room. Other than this would recommend and suggest car hire to see some of Andulusia and its quaint little towns.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Helen D,

First of all we would like to thank you for these nice comments and for taking your time to share your experience in Meliá La Quinta.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and your comments about our staff, services and facilities. Our customer’s opinion will be of great assistance for us in our continuous improvement.

We regret to know that your experience with the TV channels were not as pleasant as we would love. We take note to improve in this area.

We will be delighted to welcome you back and provide you our best to make your stay an amazing experience

Best regards,

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just home from 9 glorious nights at Melia La Quinta. Had 2 premium rooms between 3 adults, one a pool view & the other a golf view. Both were lovely, spacious and comfortable though the beds were a bit too firm for our taste. The hotel is spotless, grounds stunning, breakfast excellent with plenty of choice of delicious fresh produce and restaurants great. As the hotel was so fantastic and food in both restaurants so good, we ate there every night except one, so it would be a benefit if there were some daily specials added to the menu, especially in Los Arcos but other than that, the food couldn't be faulted.
Best part of the experience was the wonderful staff throughout the entire hotel. No matter whether you are in the bar, restaurant, poolside or at reception, all the staff are warm, friendly, happy and nothing is too much trouble for them, in their desire to make your stay memorable.
Thank you to all of the staff & look forward to seeing you again in 12 weeks.

Room Tip: The nature of tiled floors means that if there is a room above you, there will be noise from footste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Norma W,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us these comments.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations.

It would be a real pleasure to receive your visit again in 12 weeks and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any kind of assistance you may need.

Best regards,

Natalia Ameneiro
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
12.5 mi away
The Oasis by Don Carlos Resort
5.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 69 in Marbella
1,882 reviews
3 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 69 in Marbella
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
3.8 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#7 of 69 in Marbella
1,450 reviews
12.5 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Urbanizacion La Quinta | Benahavis, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marbella
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#7 Business Hotel in Marbella
#12 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £111 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, Benahavis, Marbella is ideally located in the beautiful "Valley of Golf", Marbella, which makes it a unique destination for lovers of golf, featuring its exclusive club and a 27 hole private golf course. Situated between the Mediterranean sea and the mountains of Sierra Blanca, and only 10 minutes by car from the Costa del Sol, the hotel is surrounded by an exceptionally beautiful natural landscape. This unique destination, which is blessed with a warm sunny climate all year round, is ideal for couples and families to enjoy with all the amenities and services needed for relaxation and wellbeing. The 1,500 sqm SPA, the 2 exterior swimming pools surrounded by gardens and the Westin(R) Kids Club will facilitate fun for the young ones and tranquillity for adults. The Westin La Quinta rooms and suites are comfortable and spacious, featuring an authentic Andalusian-style décor flooded with natural light, private terraces, uplifting views to the mountains and all the amenities that distinguish Westin, including the Westin(R) Heavenly Beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia La Quinta Golf And Spa Resort
Melia La Quinta Golf Hotel Marbella
Westin Marbella
La Quinta Marbella
Marbella Westin
Marbella La Quinta
The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing