We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for a paradise.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Puente Romano Marbella
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We found the paradise - my wife and myself - at the magnificient Hotel Puente Romano in Marbella!
We decided to go on a quick break away from kids and work; and we never left the property during the entire - expect of course to the hotel own golf club! Our room was very generous in size and had all the amenities you need. On the first evening we decided to try out the restaurant at the beach - Suite de La mar - and the waiter who spoke excellent English recommended the some sushi and lamb and we were not dispointed and even ordered another order of sushi instead desert! Breakfast the next morning - officially until 11am but we could see people arriving even at 11:30am - was a treat! Anything your heart desires after a good night sleep - a great simple esspresso, a variety of freshly made jiuces, a glass of champagne or more with some great jam on and I could go on for hours....
During the day we decided to burn some calories and picked up a couple of tennis racket and had a tightly contested marital match on center court, we felt like playing in Roland Garros! With all the travells I have done I have never seen a hotel offering such a spectular and breathtaking tennis facility! In the early evening we enjoying a few beers at the bar and there we made our dinner plans. Restaurant Roberto's is also located just a couple hundred meters down to the beach and is a nice walk through the spectacular and lush hotel garden - my wife actually said while walking it reminded her to a very known hotel in Chiangmai Mai, Thailand, Our table was facing the sea but we were still close enough the enjoy during the entire mail the live music. Dinner by itself was another great experience with some great Rioja, gazpacho and a dish of scallops to die. At the end of a very romantic evening a bit much of red wine, we were a bit lazy and barely could stroll back to the room, but no problem a hotel cart got us quickly back. The next day we had golf in mind but forgot to arrange for a tee time, but the very kind Concierge who organized our transport to the golf club informed us that there would be no problem getting on at any time. The golf club belongs to the two hotels Marbella Club and Hotel Puente Romano and tee times are given exclusively and only to hotel guest; upon arriving at the Club we hit a few balls off the driving range and then went on our leisure to the first tee. During the entire round we never had to wait and therefore enjoyed a great round of golf topping it of with views to Gibraltar and Marroco. On a side note my wife played her handicap but I struggled a bit with the 2 monstrous par 5's back to back. In the evening we decided to go for a Flamengo Dinner and boy a had a good time and ended up dancing ourselves until the early morning hours; of course dinner was delicious with a 4 course set menu. The next morning we got up a bit late and skipped breakfast but went for a 5km late morning run along the beach reaching almost to Porto banus. The rest of the day we hang around the beach and one of of the many secretly hidden hotels pools. On our last evening we wanted to do something very special and made a reservation at the beach side restaurant of the Marbella Club. We arrived at 9pm and the place was packed, luckily we had reservations otherwise we would have missed the best dinner ever...go and see for yourself no more help!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berndgulas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPuenteRomano, Gerente at Puente Romano Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Hotel Puente Romano during your stay in Marbella. On behalf of all our employees, we wish to thank your most complimentary comments. We are delighted to learn that you found our services and facilities of the highest standards and entirely to your satisfaction.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Puente Romano and serve you in a very near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

875 - 881 of 1,398 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

Outstanding rooms , very good service, amazing tropical garden, located by the beach, various exquisite restaurants

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitch666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPuenteRomano, Gerente at Puente Romano Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear about your positive feedback and your kind comments during your stay with us. I will share your opinion with the rest of our team who are going to be very pleased and encouraged by your remarks.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This summer, my wife and I had the perfect honeymoon at the Puente Romano and were simply blown away! We stayed there 2 years ago for our engagement and subsequently there was only one place in mind for 10 days of idyllic bliss.
From arriving the reception staff were very freindly and welcoming. The concierge was incredibly helpful in recommending and reserving tables at late notice in Marbellas most exclusive restaurants.
The food and service was excellent. The setting of every restaurant was unique. Even the champagne breakfast was a particular hit with my wife! The Marbella Club Grill and top Italian restaurant Roberto's are two of the best restaurants we have visited in Spain and are both on site.
Whilst the price range is at the top end of the market, one walk through the tropical gardens to "Suite" the beach club and restaurant makes you realise that you're getting what you pay for.
Lounging on the huge double beds on the beach at Suite, was a daily must for us. All the staff, in particular Xavi couldn't do enough for us! From bringing our cocktails to adjusting our parasol!!
Our room was a junior suite with a spacious balcony and sunloungers, overlooking the gardens with a parting sea view. A huge comfortable bed, big bathroom and free internet made it hard to leave the room.
We had such an amazing time, we genuinely didn't want to leave and shall be returniing to the Puente Romano as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPuenteRomano, Gerente at Puente Romano Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments during your stay with us. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Puente Romano and we have succeeded in making your honeymoon most memorable.

We thank you for your positive feedback and your high evaluation regarding our service and staff and the hotel in general, your encouraging comments have been shared with the rest of our team and it is very much appreciated.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you in the very near future, I remain

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is the best part of the Golden Mile and at more than €500 a night for a room you'd expect excellent amenities and service. This place has wonderful gardens and is right on the sea. The reception staff are friendly and welcoming but that's as far as it goes. There is zero service at the beach - you have to run around looking for beach towels and there is no one available to bring drinks; poolside restaurant service was abysmal - I waited one hour for grilled salmon and got a reluctant apology that the place was too busy (five tables??). Breakfast is delicious but breakfast service is very poor. Concierge service patchy. Might be five star prices but it's three star service. Very disappointing and very poor value.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are better than the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clontarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPuenteRomano, Gerente at Puente Romano Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments highlighting the experience you had during your recent stay specially with our restaurants and beach services. I sincerely apologize that the service at some areas was not as attentive as usual, I appreciate your detailed comments and critic, which are essential in helping us to further improvement and quality.

Please rest assured that your remarks have been taken to heart and will be followed up on in detail.

We hope to be given the opportunity of welcoming you again to convince you of our true hospitality.

With renewed apologies for your experience.

Best regard,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Great resort, great location, great staff!!!! 45 minutes from Malaga by taxi...Dinner on the beach at 1:00am, sharing a hooka at 2:00am and then on umbrella covered beach beds for two at 10:00am...a stroll along the topless beach, stop by the hotel pool and a night trip to Puerto Banus (Marbellas port, just 15 min away) to stare at the yachts we'll never be able to afford...the only down mark to this resort is the aging of the rooms themselves....just a bit dated and in need of a make over...On site restaurants were very good as well....

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the beach if possible....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPuenteRomano, Gerente at Puente Romano Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind remarks, it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests. We appreciate your opinion about our property, service and staff. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectations.
Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcome you in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I stayed at this hotel with colleagues as an incentive win so I am unsure as to the actual cost the company paid for the trip.

The hotel itself was lovely, nicely laid out in quite a large complex - some rooms are really big and worth the 5star grade, others were much more compact and so perhaps not worthy of a full 5 stars.

The rooms were however very clean, the bathrooms even had scales in them for the health conscious to keep a check on their weight - and with the FABULOUS array of food available at breakfast it would have been difficult not to gain weight!

The location of the hotel is approx 40minutes walk along the promenade to Puerto Banus, nice promenade to wander along and even though it was only May we swam in the sea (in fact I think the sea was warmer than the hotel pool which I didn't venture into as it was SO cold!). In the opposite direction is Marbella itself and the old town is lovely. I didn't walk to Marbella but getting a taxi was only about 10 euros.

The cost of purchasing food and drinks at the hotel was excessive, 2 vodka & diet coke plus a small bottle of water was 30euro! This put the majority of us off buying in the hotel - if you are just a regular working class family the price of food and drink is very expensive and I certainly wouldn't be in a position to go back to this hotel. There is a sign outside the hotel on the promenade advertising a buffet lunch at 69euros!

I personally found the staff very friendly but I think it works both ways - many of the staff had limited English and I think it is our responsibility to try and make an effort in their country to speak their language. I think you can generally be understood via pigeon English/Spanish and sign language!!! To be fair this is generally re the service staff as oppose to the check in desk.

So in summary beautiful hotel but far outside the budget of the majority (therefore should make it a great location for those people with a little more money available!).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPuenteRomano, Gerente at Puente Romano Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your recent stay at Hotel Puente Romano. We greatly appreciate your comments and feedback, we are very serious in listening to our guests in order to continuously improve our services and products. I noticed your kind comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and the friendliness of staff, as both comfortable and efficient.

On behalf of the entire team, we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you once again in the near future. I remain with,

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed at this hotel with some friends from thr company i work with.
It is a lovely hotel, very well laid out, but the service was terrible from the staff on the infomation desk, they bearly answered you before turning their back on you. No water available unless you wanted to pay 6.50 for a small bottle from the mini bar, we ended up getting a taxi to go and get some, as there was no shops around the hotel, only more hotels and estate agents! As i said i did like the hotel itself but it needs to address the issues with some of the staff, i donr think i will be returning!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kaymarrow31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPuenteRomano, Gerente at Puente Romano Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I do apologise for the inconveniences you encountered during your recent stay with us.

We are very concerned over your complaints, especially since the team and the management are dedicated to providing our guests with unparalleled service. In this case, I am very sorry that we fell short of achieving this objective during your stay.

Our utmost desire is that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the level of service and facilities that you expect and deserve from Hotel Puente Romano.

I do look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Puente Romano, with my renewed apologies I remain,

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,805 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#10 of 70 in Marbella
929 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
957 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marbella Club Hotel
Marbella Club Hotel
#3 of 70 in Marbella
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puente Romano Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puente Romano Marbella

Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain (Formerly Hotel Puente Romano)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#5 Business Hotel in Marbella
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Family Hotel in Marbella
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £216 - £1,071 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Puente Romano Marbella 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puente Romano Marbella, member of “Leading Hotels of the World”, is located on the south coast of Spain, on the famous “Golden Mile”. This is a luxurious residential area situated between Marbella and Puerto Banus, just 45 minutes from Malaga airport. With a village-style feel instead of a typical resort atmosphere, in Puente Romano you can indulge in our spa and wellness facilities, open air courtyard (perfect for cocktails and catch ups), botanical gardens, world famous tennis courts, and 12 different restaurants all with unique menus. Every day is a new chapter. There are so many experiences to try at Puente Romano that your day will never be hard to fill. Relax by the pool overlooking the ocean, raise your game with a morning of golf, soak in the sun over afternoon tea on the terrace, or pamper yourself before a big night out. Puente Romano has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puente Romano Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puente Romano Hotel
Puente Romano Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing