We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly genuine, friendly staff, in a dream-like setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Even in its limited winter capacity (and amenities are fairly limited), this place is a dream, with it's tropical gardens and large lush rooms.

If the staff are simply instructed to be that friendly, they could all be Hollywood actors, as they seem so genuinely happy to be there and to serve you. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by bellman and the front desk, until the late evening we left and were given a cart ride with our luggage back to the front desk, we were smothered with smiles. Even maintenance staff using loud leaf blowers were sure to power down, smile, and wait as we walked by; Just a nice little detail that meant so much.

Breakfast was always a particular treat, with amazing views and even better food selection. Gazpacho at the Del Mar/room service was addictive. And the option to spend cloudy days at the spa at their sister hotel was also a lovely feature. Additionally, as is always important to us, everyone was perfectly tolerant of our small dogs.

The only downsides I can attest to was the loud construction and lack of service by the one open pool, but again, I assume this was due to it being winter season. As well, the clientele at the hotel's disco, Suite, was certainly questionable and we ran into some dicey issues there. I wish they were a bit more selective about who they allowed in.

Overall though, this place wowed us on a daily basis, and I would highly recommend it any time of the year!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLS813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Puente Romano in your recent visit to Marbella and for highlighting the experience you had during your stay. It comes with great pleasure to receive such positive feedback. We are thrilled that we have mangaed to provided excellent, friendly service and that you were made to feel special.

Thank you once again for sharing your valid experience with us and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance for your future visit.

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur,
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
There are newer reviews for Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Just back from a quick business trip in January and found the Puente Romano to be a great hotel in a delightful complex complete with original Roman bridge. Not sure there is a great deal to do within walking distance but the hotel itself is recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms are in blocks each with a letter. A is closest to reception at the complex entrance while the...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review of your stay at Puenter Romano Hotel.

I am very pleased that we have met with your expectations during your business trip, and on behalf of all my team, I very much hope that we will have the privilege of looking after you on another occasion in sunny Marbella.

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Hosted a sales conf for 60 people hear and can't find a single fault to tell you about! The location, facilities and staff were all superb. The food is among the best I have tasted in the world and the cocktails were outstanding. Hopefully your getting the picture that this is a great hotel! Can't wait to go back hopefully with my family next time.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Enderley007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful review of The Hotel Puente Romano and for awarding us your top score of five stars! I am thrilled that we met with your expectations and that we provided comfortable accommodation. I am also very pleased to read how highly you valued the service from our team, as well as the food and the ambience of our Restaurant. I will share your feedback with our team and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Puente Romano in the very near future.

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Spent a lovely time between Christmas and New Year's in Marbella and just couldn't have been more satisfied with a resort hotel than the Hotel Puente Romano with its beautiful setting, superior staff, excellent restaurants, and relative proximity to many interesting day trips, including Malaga, Ronda (not to be missed), the Alhambra in Granada, Gibraltra, and even to Tangiers, Morocco. The hotel is only minutes from the old town of Marbella which has wonderful shops and fabulous restaurants, and plenty to choose from. I would not hesitate to return to this captivating part of the world--do not miss strolling down the main street of Puerto Banus with its world-class shops and some of the most amazing yachts ever. I can only imagine how happening this place is in the spring and summer!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbieDoll2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful review of the Puente Romano and for awarding us your top score! I am thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and that we provided comfortable accommodation during your stay. It is very delightful and encouraging to read how highly you valued the great service provided by the team, as well as the Restaurants. It is true that the Hotel is best situated in such an amazing location which enables you to have a beautiful stroll beside the seashore to Marbella or to Puerto Banus.

Thank you again for your perfect compliments, on behalf of the entire team we look forward to welcoming you back to Puente Romano.

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is an excellent hotel in a fabulous setting. We had a suite overlooking the garden although we had booked a package including golf and expected a standard room. The lovely room was a delight with excellent service-constant replenishment of toiletries, towels, bed linen etc. The breakfast was terrific-everything you could think of was provided. We avoided the prohibitive cost for water, wine, snacks etc by providing our own-easily done. We had 3 excellent rounds of golf at the Marbella Club golf resort and a great pot of tea on the terrace afterwards overlooking the course and sunbathing in the January sun. All in all a fantastic 4 days with 2 superb meals in the Serafina Italian restaurant-pricey but special.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Guest,

I was pleased to read your complimentary review and wish to thank you for taking the time and sharing you feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit and the service extended by my colleagues both from the Marbella Club Golf Resort and here at Puente Romano and that we met your expectations. I will also share your excellent comment with the team at the Serafina Restaurant, who will be very pleased by your remark.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

First, let me start off by saying that the hotel is beautiful. It was our family's first trip to Marbella and the experience was, for the most part, wonderful. Their breakfast has to be one of the best we have ever seen at any 5 star hotel (Comparable to the Hotel Arts in Barcelona). All of us were very impressed with the huge selection: the exceptional salmon, fresh breads, tropical fruits, fresh juices and omelets to order. The coffee was amazing. The hotel has a relaxed vibe while being totally elegant. The workout facility-at the tennis complex-had a good selection of equipment and was well attended. (The tennis courts are beautiful should you want to play).
Our family was in the "F" building. We had 2 rooms, one for our 3 kids, and one for my husband and myself. Our kids were on the lowest level which walked out to a patio, rather than a balcony, and hubby and I were on the top floor. Our room had a separate bedroom, huge bath and lovely living area plus balcony. It was fantastic. However, upon entering the kids room, which was very large and well appointed, there was a noticeable musty smell and higher humidity. Since the hotel was full, there were no other rooms to move the kids to and it became problematic for a child with asthma. We were only there for 3 nights and the kids were finally moved for the last night to a simply stunning, and even larger room. The hotel made amends by allowing us to have a dinner on them, which was a very kind and appropriate gesture. My advice is to try to avoid the lowest level rooms which tend to have this issue, per the head of housekeeping. Additionally, if the hotel were to invest in a few de-humidifier units, that could also fix the problem. What struck us was how professionally the hotel dealt with our issue and resolved it. That is the way a true 5 Star hotel should operate.

Room Tip: Avoid lowest level rooms as some of them tend to have humidity issues--musty/moldy smells. I would a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ctmom90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback following your stay with us and for constructive feedback which I will certainly share with our team.

I am delighted to read how highly you valued our service and the breakfast and I am so pleased you enjoyed this part of your stay. However I was very concerned to learn about the condition of your children’s room and I am very sorry about that. I am glad that the reception team was able to change the room. We constantly endeavour to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always gratifying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at Puente Romano about eight years ago but after this recent visit we can't understand why we haven't been back sooner.
The setting of the rooms are how we remembered them consisting of a number of three storey buildings overlooking the gardens leading down to the sea. The rooms are large, as is the bathroom,well maintained with great selection of T.V. channels including Sky Sports 1 and also internet access with a P.C. terminal provided. Wi Fi access is free throughout the hotel and the speed I was getting on my iPad of 20mps is much better than I get at home(hardwired but in the sticks).
We found all the staff extremely friendly and helpful from reception, bell boys, concierge and waiting staff.
Breakfast was excellent with eggs/omelet's etc. individually cooked by a chef in the dining room as you requested them. We had two evening meals in the Serafina Italian restaurant which were superb and I would recommend before going to Puerto Banus marina, Serafina is better value and simply better food than others at the marina. I have reviewed Serafina seperately.
Puente Romano together with its sister hotel Marbella Club own the Marbella Club golf resort and include free golf with a shuttle bus to transport you the 20 or so minutes to the course, I have also reviewed the golf course seperately.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotswoldgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your descriptive review of The Puente Romano and for awarding us five stars. I am so pleased we exceeded your expectations and that we provided comfortable accommodation.

Personally I think the golf offer we have at the moment available which will carry on through 2014, is a fantastic offer especially for the guests who enjoy playing nearly every day at our wonderful private golf course, Marbella Club Golf Resort.

Once again we are all very happy that overall you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Puente Romano. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back, before too long.

Yours sincerely,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,778 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#10 of 70 in Marbella
896 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marbella Club Hotel
Marbella Club Hotel
#3 of 70 in Marbella
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella

Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain (Formerly Hotel Puente Romano)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#5 Business Hotel in Marbella
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Family Hotel in Marbella
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £217 - £1,079 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puente Romano Beach Resort & SPA Marbella, member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is situated on the southern coast of Spain in the Costa del Sol within the "Golden Mile", a residential area between Marbella and Puerto Banus, just 35 minutes' drive from Malaga Airport.The heart of the Resort and its social focus is the Roman Bridge (Puente Romano) from which the property takes its name. This ancient artefact from the first century is a remaining structure of a road which once linked Cadiz with Rome, the Via Augusta.Resembling an Andalusian village, the 278 spacious guest rooms are spread in 27 three-storey villas, scattered around 55.000 sq. m. of lush, sub-tropical landscaped gardens, gently cascading down to the Mediterranean Sea. Over 400 species of plant life have been brought to the gardens from all around the world, many literally in a suitcase courtesy of HRH Principe Alfonso de Hohenlohe, the founder of the Puente Romano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puente Romano Hotel
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing