We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel shame about the calamari”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nice hotel shame about the calamari”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Have been staying at the puente romano for past week. Hotel nice and room very clean. The cleaners are in twice per day and are very hardworking.

There are several things that fall far short from this being a five star hotel: poor wifi connection, slow service and bad food at pool bar. Avoid the calamari like the plague! It was like chewing rubber and made me feel like being sick! When I was asked of I enjoyed my meal I said no it was horrible and that's why I had left the vast majority of it however I was still charged 22 euro for this horrid lunch! Not 1 * quality yet alone 5!! Very disappointing

The other restaurants serafina and biba were v good.

Overall I had a good time but felt let down with the food on offer during the day.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne1134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Puente Romano for your recent stay and for highlighting the experience you had during your visit. I appreciate your detailed comments and criticism, which are essential in helping us to further improve the quality of our services.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back and make sure you have a pleasant and a great experience at our Hotel.


Best regards,

Jorge Manzur,
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    279
    88
    34
    28
See reviews for
332
452
33
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

You couldn't get much better than this for a week-end break. Everything about it is really pleasant - accommodation, lay-out of the resort, friendly staff. Five minutes from Marbella by taxi but not a lot of need to leave this place. Very helpful concierge. Lovely promenade to walk, run cycle on. Thanks for a great few days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks about the Hotel and the staff. It is so delightful and reassuring to read nice feedback from our guests.

We try to provide comfort and good standard service for everyone; we are so pleased that we have made your stay with us pleasant enough.

Thank you for having stayed with us and In the hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

For the people who are used to a 5 star hotel don't come here. In some restaurants the people are very polite en kind and some were perfect like the Italian restaurant and the tapa restaurant.... GREAT RESTAURANTS... but some kind of matters are totally not done for a 5 star hotel. Some examples :
- management did not interact when some bad behaving people made the swimming pole their own, make very loud noise, throw their childerene constantly in the pool, ... And when the pool guy wanted to interfare, the dad get mad to the poor pool guy.
- we went to the japanese restaurant and had to wait half an hour before anyone came to take our order.We took a menu with wine, and had had several times to ask the waiters to fill our glasses of wine, had a bottle of water but no one refilled our glasses, the dishes were not cleanded up,...
- at the pool we even recieved a ticket where the waiter had put a sticker on it with the message : service not included! !!
- at several days our room did not a get a (second) clean up at the evening. They simpely putted a note untherneath the door. At one time we called the operator and told hem that they could come to clean up the room (at 20 o clock) when we re-entered at 23 h nobody cleanded up the room.
- at the village plaza we were send away from a reserved area but the whole evening no one arrived ...
- some etablishments only openend from the high season (del mar, suit lounge,..) but this is not noted in the brochure or website
-...

CONCLUSION : IF YOU WANT QUALITY, REST AND RELAXATION THIS IS NOT THE PLACE TO BE. WE NEVER THOUGTH THAT WE SHOULD HAD TO SPEND SOME OF OUR VACATIONTIME TO THESE *** STAR HOTEL PROBLEMS. NEVER HAD THIS PROBLEMS EARLIER IN A 5* HOTEL

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jurgen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

we have read your comment and are looking into the various complaints.

We are sorry that other guests made a noise at the pool but you say yourself that our pool attendant tried to stop it. We will investigate to see what occurred.

We apologies that the service at the restaurant was slow. We are passing on your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager so that he can take action.

We can only say that we do our utmost to make our guests satisfied and will try to improve our service in the future.

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We liked this hotel as it was right on the beach. There are a couple of pools which don't get over crowded, and they give out fresh towels every day, and when it's hot the waiters at the pool bar come around with complimentary fruit which is a lovely touch. There are several restaurants in the hotel and we ate at them all - the food is excellent. The service was slow at the bar though, an especially at the pool bar at lunch-time. We stayed in a suite which was spacious and had good air conditioning. The room was quiet and we all slept well, but one very annoying thing was that our room keys wouldn't work a lot of the time and we had t keep going back to the reception to get new keys. The breakfast was simply fantastic. We have stayed several times and will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mini_moi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are pleased that overall, you were satisfied with your stay and most our services. We strive to continuously improve our standards in order to live up to our guests' expectations.

Our resort caters for everyone and this is why we keep getting the regular guests coming back year after year to enjoy the friendly ambient and having a relaxing time.

We thank you for your kind words and the positive score and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The location, buildings and gardens are extremely good, I liked my junior suite (despite not being in the requested location). The tennis centre is very good.
The reason the hotel doesn't reflect its five star rating is the patchy service. This varied from very helpful and efficient to indifferent and on occasion quite surly.
There is also a fine line between five star prices and extortion when it comes to restaurants/drinks and other services. Personally I felt the line was crossed. I see in some previous reviews the manager replied that they would review it but this doesn't appear to be the case. If you are going to charge top dollar you absolutely have to deliver the goods and service to that level.
There also needs to be a 'can do' attitude...I heard 'not possible' more than once to some simple requests. Why make something easy for the guest?
For couples/families this is a very nice resort. Solo travellers are clearly an anomaly and thinking outside of the box doesn't seem to be part of the ethos.
I don't understand why some of the restaurants are only open on certain days thereby limiting the dining choices - it was the end of May and the hotel was busy.
Overall, the hotel has the potential to be fantastic but in my opinion is not there yet.

Room Tip: Top floor junior suite was bright. The ground floor/ subterranean rooms might be rather gloomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sagittarius_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Despite your generally positive comments ,we are sad we did not quite live up to your expectations.

Our staff try to be courteous at all times and we would follow up on individuals if you feel they were "surly". We have duly noted your remarks and will strive to improve our service further to achieve that "top Dollar" feeling you mention.

Thank you again for your concerns and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Puente Romano.

Kind Regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Puente Romano Beach Resort and had a brilliant time. We stayed in the family room. Only problem was the l
Kids bed was in the living room but overall nice room.
Hotel is spreadout but clean... no disturbance. The room is like a mini apartment but only missing a kettle for complimentary beverages but view from balcony amazing.
Great weekend break we had with our 7year old who loved the swimming pool and 5 min walk away the sea with complimentary towels. Great massage on beach as well as great staff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank noreen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind remarks and positive feedback about your stay.

We are so pleased that you had a relaxing holiday with us and we provided you with most of the facilities and services that you would expect from the Hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and get to know you personally.

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a beautiful resort. It is huge and we were constantly getting lost trying to find our room. But our room was big with all the amenities you would expect from a 5-star resort. The biggest negative is that it is about a 10 minute drive to the actual town of Marbella. In fact, unless you want to eat your meals at the resort (and you'd better bring lots of money to do that!) you have to drive everywhere. The breakfast buffet is indeed impressive (caviar and champagne), but for 35 Euros per person it had better be. I personally didn't think breakfast was worth that much money.

We ate one night at Serafina and thought the food was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Hotel and the facilities in the room and the space, which is always very important for all the guests.

The distance from the Hotel to the centre of Marbella is about 5 minutes by car of course some people rather be in the Centre, that is a matter of opinion and must be respected. However we have tried to provide the guests a great variety of gastronomic choices that most prefer to stay in the Resort.

Thank you again for your positive comments. We will always try to be flexible and assist you, if you wish to visit us in the future, would be a pleasure to welcome you personally.

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.3 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
8.6 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
2.5 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella

Property: Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain (Formerly Hotel Puente Romano)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#3 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#5 Business Hotel in Marbella
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Family Hotel in Marbella
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puente Romano Beach Resort & SPA Marbella, member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is situated on the southern coast of Spain in the Costa del Sol within the "Golden Mile", a residential area between Marbella and Puerto Banus, just 35 minutes' drive from Malaga Airport.The heart of the Resort and its social focus is the Roman Bridge (Puente Romano) from which the property takes its name. This ancient artefact from the first century is a remaining structure of a road which once linked Cadiz with Rome, the Via Augusta.Resembling an Andalusian village, the 278 spacious guest rooms are spread in 27 three-storey villas, scattered around 55.000 sq. m. of lush, sub-tropical landscaped gardens, gently cascading down to the Mediterranean Sea. Over 400 species of plant life have been brought to the gardens from all around the world, many literally in a suitcase courtesy of HRH Principe Alfonso de Hohenlohe, the founder of the Puente Romano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puente Romano Hotel
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing