We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I just spent the most wonderful summer half-term week at Puente Romano Beach Resort in Marbella and have nothing but great things to say about this beautiful hotel. We received great service before we even arrived – I thoroughly researched the hotel before visiting, and my endless questions were swiftly and helpfully answered by the amazing Communications Manager Belén Arriaza.
The first lovely thing about this hotel is its layout – unlike those huge, tower-block hotels, this place is like a little Andalusian village, made up of lots of three-story white-washed and tile-roofed villas. The “village” is full of little winding paths to explore, taking you through lush botanical gardens as you meander down to one of the three swimming pools or to the beach. Me and my son loved exploring – discovering the famous roman bridge, the waterfalls and fountains – and after a week there, still feel there's lots we haven't seen.
We were booked into a Deluxe Garden Suite, which was very nicely sized – with a bright sitting room with a sunny terrace, a huge bathroom and an incredibly comfortable twin bedroom. The location of our room was fabulous. Close to the kids' pool, restaurants and reception without being so close that we felt disturbed by any noise.
The hotel staff could not be more helpful, and attended to our every need – be it finding a DVD player to putting up an extra bed in our suite when my husband popped in for a 24-hour visit. I have to say something about the fantastic food here. Our deal included breakfast, which was heavenly! Lots of fresh fruit, pastries, cooked food - the works! We also ate at Sea Grill (delicious), several times at the italian restaurant Serafina, which was exceptionally good, and every lunch at the lovely Pool Bar. Be sure to pre-book the main restaurants as they are popular but well worth it. Service at the restaurants was good, especially Serafina.
We made shopping trips to Porto Banus and had dinner in Marbella town - the hotel is perfectly situated and just a 5-minute cab ride from either location, making trips super-easy. My husband and son also loved taking a Segway ride along the beachfront - a brilliant holiday treat that the hotel helped organise. It's worth pointing out here that although this is a smart hotel, it is very child friendly with a fabulous kids' club and lots for children to do. The clever layout of the place means that adults can enjoy quiet time, yet kids can also be kids. My son made new friends and had a great holiday too.
We will DEFINITELY be visiting this hotel again. I am a fussy traveller but I found this place beautiful and enjoyable. No, it's not cheap, but Marbella isn't a cheap destination – the restaurants are at London prices, but the high standard of the food reflects the charge. This hotel thoroughly deserves its five-star billing. Our suite was beautifully decorated, clean, spacious and luxurious. And despite the fact it was half term and the hotel was full to capacity, we never had to wait or felt the place was over-packed with guests.
So i give Puente Romano Beach Resort in Marbella 10 out of 10 and look forward to my next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay with us at Puente Romano Beach Resort Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a great time with us and were overall happy with the services and facilities provided at the resort.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor and for giving us such a high score. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Puente Romano. We remain always at your services.

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
There are newer reviews for Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

666 - 672 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed at Puente Romano for a couple of days. The place is like heaven on earth. The room was exquisitely decorated and generously sized. Service; from the happy and smiling receptionists down to the pool staff - absolutely flawless. Treats left by the bed in the evenings added a lovely touch. The restaurants are a bit pricey however the food is good and so were the cocktails. Breakfast was very good too. The pool areas are stunning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamie_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having stayed at Puente Romano during your visit to Marbella and very grateful for your positive feedback.

I am thrilled that we lived up to your expectations and could provided comfortable accommodation and high standard service. We strive to provide our guests with an exceptional stay and personalized service from arrival to departure.

On behalf of the entire team I wish to thank you again for having stayed with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Have been staying at the puente romano for past week. Hotel nice and room very clean. The cleaners are in twice per day and are very hardworking.

There are several things that fall far short from this being a five star hotel: poor wifi connection, slow service and bad food at pool bar. Avoid the calamari like the plague! It was like chewing rubber and made me feel like being sick! When I was asked of I enjoyed my meal I said no it was horrible and that's why I had left the vast majority of it however I was still charged 22 euro for this horrid lunch! Not 1 * quality yet alone 5!! Very disappointing

The other restaurants serafina and biba were v good.

Overall I had a good time but felt let down with the food on offer during the day.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joanne1134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Puente Romano for your recent stay and for highlighting the experience you had during your visit. I appreciate your detailed comments and criticism, which are essential in helping us to further improve the quality of our services.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back and make sure you have a pleasant and a great experience at our Hotel.


Best regards,

Jorge Manzur,
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

You couldn't get much better than this for a week-end break. Everything about it is really pleasant - accommodation, lay-out of the resort, friendly staff. Five minutes from Marbella by taxi but not a lot of need to leave this place. Very helpful concierge. Lovely promenade to walk, run cycle on. Thanks for a great few days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks about the Hotel and the staff. It is so delightful and reassuring to read nice feedback from our guests.

We try to provide comfort and good standard service for everyone; we are so pleased that we have made your stay with us pleasant enough.

Thank you for having stayed with us and In the hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

For the people who are used to a 5 star hotel don't come here. In some restaurants the people are very polite en kind and some were perfect like the Italian restaurant and the tapa restaurant.... GREAT RESTAURANTS... but some kind of matters are totally not done for a 5 star hotel. Some examples :
- management did not interact when some bad behaving people made the swimming pole their own, make very loud noise, throw their childerene constantly in the pool, ... And when the pool guy wanted to interfare, the dad get mad to the poor pool guy.
- we went to the japanese restaurant and had to wait half an hour before anyone came to take our order.We took a menu with wine, and had had several times to ask the waiters to fill our glasses of wine, had a bottle of water but no one refilled our glasses, the dishes were not cleanded up,...
- at the pool we even recieved a ticket where the waiter had put a sticker on it with the message : service not included! !!
- at several days our room did not a get a (second) clean up at the evening. They simpely putted a note untherneath the door. At one time we called the operator and told hem that they could come to clean up the room (at 20 o clock) when we re-entered at 23 h nobody cleanded up the room.
- at the village plaza we were send away from a reserved area but the whole evening no one arrived ...
- some etablishments only openend from the high season (del mar, suit lounge,..) but this is not noted in the brochure or website
-...

CONCLUSION : IF YOU WANT QUALITY, REST AND RELAXATION THIS IS NOT THE PLACE TO BE. WE NEVER THOUGTH THAT WE SHOULD HAD TO SPEND SOME OF OUR VACATIONTIME TO THESE *** STAR HOTEL PROBLEMS. NEVER HAD THIS PROBLEMS EARLIER IN A 5* HOTEL

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jurgen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

we have read your comment and are looking into the various complaints.

We are sorry that other guests made a noise at the pool but you say yourself that our pool attendant tried to stop it. We will investigate to see what occurred.

We apologies that the service at the restaurant was slow. We are passing on your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager so that he can take action.

We can only say that we do our utmost to make our guests satisfied and will try to improve our service in the future.

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We liked this hotel as it was right on the beach. There are a couple of pools which don't get over crowded, and they give out fresh towels every day, and when it's hot the waiters at the pool bar come around with complimentary fruit which is a lovely touch. There are several restaurants in the hotel and we ate at them all - the food is excellent. The service was slow at the bar though, an especially at the pool bar at lunch-time. We stayed in a suite which was spacious and had good air conditioning. The room was quiet and we all slept well, but one very annoying thing was that our room keys wouldn't work a lot of the time and we had t keep going back to the reception to get new keys. The breakfast was simply fantastic. We have stayed several times and will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mini_moi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are pleased that overall, you were satisfied with your stay and most our services. We strive to continuously improve our standards in order to live up to our guests' expectations.

Our resort caters for everyone and this is why we keep getting the regular guests coming back year after year to enjoy the friendly ambient and having a relaxing time.

We thank you for your kind words and the positive score and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The location, buildings and gardens are extremely good, I liked my junior suite (despite not being in the requested location). The tennis centre is very good.
The reason the hotel doesn't reflect its five star rating is the patchy service. This varied from very helpful and efficient to indifferent and on occasion quite surly.
There is also a fine line between five star prices and extortion when it comes to restaurants/drinks and other services. Personally I felt the line was crossed. I see in some previous reviews the manager replied that they would review it but this doesn't appear to be the case. If you are going to charge top dollar you absolutely have to deliver the goods and service to that level.
There also needs to be a 'can do' attitude...I heard 'not possible' more than once to some simple requests. Why make something easy for the guest?
For couples/families this is a very nice resort. Solo travellers are clearly an anomaly and thinking outside of the box doesn't seem to be part of the ethos.
I don't understand why some of the restaurants are only open on certain days thereby limiting the dining choices - it was the end of May and the hotel was busy.
Overall, the hotel has the potential to be fantastic but in my opinion is not there yet.

Room Tip: Top floor junior suite was bright. The ground floor/ subterranean rooms might be rather gloomy.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sagittarius_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Despite your generally positive comments ,we are sad we did not quite live up to your expectations.

Our staff try to be courteous at all times and we would follow up on individuals if you feel they were "surly". We have duly noted your remarks and will strive to improve our service further to achieve that "top Dollar" feeling you mention.

Thank you again for your concerns and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Puente Romano.

Kind Regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,779 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#10 of 70 in Marbella
896 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marbella Club Hotel
Marbella Club Hotel
#3 of 70 in Marbella
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella

Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain (Formerly Hotel Puente Romano)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#5 Business Hotel in Marbella
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Family Hotel in Marbella
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £217 - £1,079 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puente Romano Beach Resort & SPA Marbella, member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is situated on the southern coast of Spain in the Costa del Sol within the "Golden Mile", a residential area between Marbella and Puerto Banus, just 35 minutes' drive from Malaga Airport.The heart of the Resort and its social focus is the Roman Bridge (Puente Romano) from which the property takes its name. This ancient artefact from the first century is a remaining structure of a road which once linked Cadiz with Rome, the Via Augusta.Resembling an Andalusian village, the 278 spacious guest rooms are spread in 27 three-storey villas, scattered around 55.000 sq. m. of lush, sub-tropical landscaped gardens, gently cascading down to the Mediterranean Sea. Over 400 species of plant life have been brought to the gardens from all around the world, many literally in a suitcase courtesy of HRH Principe Alfonso de Hohenlohe, the founder of the Puente Romano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puente Romano Hotel
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing