We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a leading hotel of the world!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Puente Romano Marbella
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Came here for one night as a special birthday treat. Requested quiet room. Meal in dani Garcia was fab and worth every penny. However on return to our room at 1am we were met with nightclub music going on until 4am with the people making vast noise until 5am. Therefore no sleep. Went to breakfast at 10am and also what a disaster. Give it a miss!! All in all this hotel is not worth going and should be stripped of its leading hotel status. We travel worldwide and visit many 5 star properties and this is definitely a 3 star and 5 star pricing. On complaint of the above was offered a miserly 20 percent which again shows you what this hotel is all about!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank swaney50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We regret that we could not meet your expectations during your recent visit to Puente Romano Beach Resort. We are very sorry about the noise that kept you awake. We like to hear comments from our guests but when we do not make them feel comfortable we try to remedy the situation. We get a large number of positive comments over the years from satisfied guests from all over the world and it is our objective to make sure our clients leave the hotel satisfied.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally should you wish to further speak about your experience and I will be happy to attend to your wishes.

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

I'll start with the positives. The hotel itself is pretty, the grounds are lovely, the beach is very close, and the heated pool is a nice touch. There are also several restaurants onsite. Our room was also pretty quiet except for the night that there was a Michael Buble concert underneath our room, that no one warned us about. The location of the hotel is good, though it is a bit of a hoof to Porta Banus and best to drive to Marbella. The negatives are price and service. For example, it was virtually impossible to get a drink at the pool, and even at the bar there was usually only one person serving. The drink prices were also simply ridiculous. We are talking €9 for a small beer and I believe €8 for coke/water, when you could go right outside the pool and get a bottle of water for €2. Parking upon arrival was also a nightmare, and the night of the concert we had to drive around for half an hour at midnight looking for parking - not fun! The bar was also often closed, and the food/drinks were just too expensive - the €35pp breakfast comes to mind, which was good, but it wasn't anything special. We travel frequently and often stay at 5 star properties. We felt really let down by this one I'm afraid. We stayed here because of all the good reviews. It was our last holiday before the baby and it makes me sad that it was such a disappointment. Management should address the staff shortages and adjust the drink prices at the very least. In my mind, paying almost €10 for water doesn't make a hotel exclusive, it makes it a rip-off, especially when you are paying over €400/night for your room!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank bellapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate that you have tried to give us a balanced view of the positives and negatives. We value every comment sent to us as everyone has different opinions about the Hotel, the location and the service . We try at all times to learn more about our guests' wishes so we can improve services in order to give our guests greater satisfaction.
As regards the comment on inflated prices, all our rates are continually studied and compared to the other luxury five star Leading Hotels, both nationally and internationally.
We believe these rates are in line with the competition and in general we have few complaints from our clients who have experienced much higher prices in the South of France (just to give one example).
We hope we will be able to welcome you with your new born baby in the future as we do with many of our regular guests who have been visiting us with their children over the year. We also hope to be able to increase your confidence in us and make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed a couple of days in a deluxe junior suite with sea view and had a good/correct experience. We wanted to relax in the sun, at the pool, and that is exactly what we did.

The hotel's grounds are beautiful, the room nicely renovated, staff is friendly,... The hotel is quite big but one never really has that feeling except during breakfast when everyone gathers in the same area.

Although we had a lovely stay, we also had some remarks:
- hotel should not allow guests to reserve sun beds. Honestly, this is a 5 star hotel! Some families reserved almost entire rows and hardly used the beds... Most annoying!
- we wanted to spend an afternoon at the beach but left after an hour. People were making a lot of noise, shouting to each other from one side of the hotel's beach to the other, reserving the best sun beds,... In short, some guests were not showing much respect for other guests. So, we went to the small pool which was excellent (quiet, good and friendly service from the bar,...)
- the hotel has some of the best restaurants of Marbella on its grounds and attracts many external guests. It should be made really clear to hotel guests to book a table long (days!) in advance otherwise you don't have a chance securing a table. Moreover, a hotel of this class should keep several tables free for "last-minute" hotel guests who wish to dine in the hotel (i.e. guests who indicate in the morning or the evening before that they would like to dine in the hotel)
- concierge should urgently update their restaurant recommendations as none of their suggestions was up to much (unfortunately we found this out when it was too late...)

Would we go again? Probably yes but with the right expectations. This is a very good hotel but, exceptional/excellent, no (especially not considering their rates). If I could, I would have given them 3,5 stars esp. compared to my other 4 stars.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank FergieBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Although we recognize that you felt your stay was not perfect, we always appreciate well balanced comments and we try to then improve our service based on your opinion.

We are sorry you found that restaurants were fully booked, this is of course also due to their success but we agree we should insist more in informing our guests this in future.

We are very happy you state that you would probably come again and look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very nice hotel on the beach. High Level service very nice people in the staff. Everything was perfect. Big room we had a junior suite with nice and big marble bathroom. Two different restaurant on the beach with high level service and delicious food.
Perfect position close to marbella and close to porto banos

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarmenAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your recent stay. We are so thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your visit and we exceeded your expectations with high level service.

It will be a great pleasure for all of us at Puente Romano to have the opportunity to welcome and serve you again.

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Been here earlier and it is always a fantastic relaxed stay! The resort with the landscaped gardens in a long, stretched area from the main road to the beach. These gardens create an intimate atmosphere. We particularly liked how the rooms and garden are laid out. The rooms are long but not very wide with the large bathroom, a really king-size bed and a sitting area. The breakfast buffet is exceptional with a great variety of cold cuts, diary products, fruits and breads as well as warm dishes to be ordered.
One thing that could be improved is the too long introduction by the porter who explained about every button in the room [porters usually think that hotel guests enter for their first time a room with electrical switches etc...].

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdHeinlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your five star score and your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear how much you appreciated our botanic gardens and the rooms and in general everything about the Hotel. I also wish to thank you for your constructive remark about the porter's job.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com




Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.co,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Sophie's classes at the Puente Romano are amazing. She is very professional and ensures that the exercise routines are upbeat, varied and fun. Her music and workouts really set me up for an energising day ahead.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are truly pleased to hear your experience about your visit to our fitness classes in our Tennis Club. Sophie is a truly dedicated teacher and we are so pleased to have someone as professional like her in our team.

Thank you again for your positive feedback.

Best regards,



Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in Marbella and had the privilege to enjoy two hotels in this fantastic holiday destination. This was not my first visit to Puente Romano Beach Resort and I am pleased to advise that my second trip exceeded my expectations. The hotel offers both couples, friends, families and solo travellers a unique experience. Staff and friendly and professional, the facilities and fantastic and well maintained, the restaurants are all simply fabulous you must spend a long lunch at Del Mar located on the beach front listening to chilled out tunes drinking chilled wine. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any fellow traveller - 5 star all the way, enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeheywoo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuenteRomano M, Director General at Puente Romano Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stayed with us and privilege to hear your kind comments about the Hotel and all the facilities such as the restaurants. Our restaurant Del Mar by the beach is open during the whole day serving lunch and dinner in the summer season, and it is truly a beautiful set up. Most our guests every summer long to be back to enjoy the relaxing moments by the sea in Del Mar.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you very soon to Hotel Puente Romano Beach Resort.

Best regards,

Jorge Manzur
General Manager

manzur@puenteromano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,837 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,776 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
977 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puente Romano Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puente Romano Marbella

Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain (Formerly Hotel Puente Romano)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#5 Business Hotel in Marbella
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Family Hotel in Marbella
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £206 - £813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Puente Romano Marbella 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puente Romano Marbella, member of “Leading Hotels of the World”, is located on the south coast of Spain, on the famous “Golden Mile”. This is a luxurious residential area situated between Marbella and Puerto Banus, just 45 minutes from Malaga airport. With a village-style feel instead of a typical resort atmosphere, in Puente Romano you can indulge in our spa and wellness facilities, open air courtyard (perfect for cocktails and catch ups), botanical gardens, world famous tennis courts, and 12 different restaurants all with unique menus. Every day is a new chapter. There are so many experiences to try at Puente Romano that your day will never be hard to fill. Relax by the pool overlooking the ocean, raise your game with a morning of golf, soak in the sun over afternoon tea on the terrace, or pamper yourself before a big night out. Puente Romano has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Splitty, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puente Romano Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puente Romano Hotel
Puente Romano Marbella Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing