We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Very fine and classy hotel right on the beach. 10-15 min walk away from marbella and around 30 mins from P. Banus.

+
Service is just great
Nice and clean rooms but not that big.
Great terrace with outstanding views
Superb Breakfast
Great pool area

-
Bit Overcharged
No Pay TV

Will come back. :)

Room Tip: Get the level from 3-4 floor, - very good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SonnyB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lluis Miquel G, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Dear SonnyB50,

Many thanks for your words;To know that you will come back make us really happy and proud.

We look forward for welcoming you again in the Gran Meliá Don Pepe and have the opportunity to offer you our best smile.

Greetings from heart.

Lluis M. González
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

816 - 822 of 1,808 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

The hotel definitely needs to be refurnished however it didn't really matter that much. The ground were great, the pools lovely.

We had a junior suite so we enjoyed the benefit of "Red Level Service". This entailed a lounge with "happy hour" and extensive cold type tapas. The staff hosting the lounge couldn't have gone out of their way more to help book restaurants, tours etc in Marbella as well as our next destination. The service was excellent.

We had a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lluis Miquel G, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Dear Mrs. LizHenderson,

Thank you so much for posting this nice comment referring on Tripadvisor Website. We will share it with all the staff and specially with to our Red Level Service

As you know we are continuously working for keep improving our resort and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip at the Gran Meliá Don Pepe and offer you the same experience as your last stay.

Greetings form heart,

Lluis M. González
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Had a wonderful week at this hotel in early October 2012. Great staff, everything catered for and allowed to holiday at our own pace. Only had breakfast (no dinners) in hotel but it was superb and open until 11am which is useful. Stayed on Red Level and got an upgrade to a suite on check in (didn't even ask) - nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the Red Level Lounge is a nice touch with food, tea/coffee & snacks all day and a bar 6pm - 8pm. Pool staff were fantastic and the periodic waiters to the sun beds very useful. Cafe Cappuccino at the hotel on the beach side was great for a lazy cocktail lunch. Great location, 10 minute walk along beach to Marbella bars & restaurants or a 5-10 minute taxi to Puerto Banus (< 10 Euro). Only observation would be the Bali beads around the pool (the 4 posters in all the pictures) which were extortionate prices hence i never seen anyone use any one of them (there were about 10) for the whole week - would make me wonder what the point of having them is - show? Surely it would be better to price them so they get used - some income is better than none! Anyway - all in all i'd highly recommend this hotel and I will be returning. I'd also recommend booking direct with hotel.

Room Tip: Red level is worth the extra few pounds. Sea view is the best, no noise since its set back from bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fosfo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lluis Miquel G, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Dear Mr. Paddohagan,

We would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Marbella. We are very happy to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and our Hospitality and Service met your expectations.

In the first place, we appreciate your positive comments about the hotel, and we would also like to thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor Community and to recommend us for the rest of visitors.

Secondly, and regarding to Bali Beds comments, we thank you for your observation. As you know, your opinions are very important to us in order to improve our facilities.

Once again thank you for your words. With pleasure we will share your comments with our staff.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Gran Meliá Don Pepe.

A greeting from heart,

Lluis M. González
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

A wonderful holiday due to the warm welcome and the highly experienced and attentive staff, who did everything possible to make the stay very enjoyable.
The hotel and grounds are superb, very spacious and very well presented.
Food first class too.
Certainly a hotel that we will return to again.

What one would expect from a 5* hotel.

Room Tip: Views over garden, pools and sea are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisB402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lluis Miquel G, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Dear ChrisB402,

On behalf of all the staff of The Gran Meliá Don Pepe, we would like to thank you for sharing your kind opinion on Tripadvisor Website.

When we read a comment as your the only answer we can say is; Thank you for choosing us and for being our guest.

We will be more than pleased to share your comments with the rest of the team.

We look forward to meet you again soon and have the opportunity to give you our warmest welcome to your new home in Marbella.

A greeting from heart,

Lluis M. González
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Vi stayed for 3 nights mainly because we wanted to try out the 3 star michelin restaurant within reach if the hotel. The staff were helpful and cleaning was great (maybe even too often). Rooms are comfortable and clean, although upstairs neighbooing guests disturbed me with their high heels late at night. If I could complain about one thing it would be the shower, it was kind of broken at random places.
Another thing was the sunbeds... We were not out there stressfully claiming the best spots/beds so we got left with a broken parasol. Sure the "rules" sat no hogging the beds but people did it anyway.
The hotel food! oh my god! It was fantastic! I highly recommend the hotel food as well as the luxury restaurant next to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank extern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lluis Miquel G, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Extern,

Thank you so much for your nice comment referring to our hotel. As well for taking the time to share your experience with other users in this important Website.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Gran Meliá Don Pepe. Thank you so much also for the comments referring our staff and our Restaurant Calima, it would be a pleasure to share them with the rest of the team.

We will take good note about your comments referring the sun beds in order to keep improving our daily service.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us when you decide to visitit us again, we will do our best to ensure you a pleasant stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Lluis M. González
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

If you are thinking of using hotel perhaps book direct as agents rip you of Thomson and sovereign,the rooms are not to bad if you can afford red level go for it. The near by shops are great,as also the restaurants lots to choose from, take a trip on the boat from one end to the other, great. The menu is the same all week they don,t change it in either restaurant of the hotel! Beware of extra change for sea food in restaurant? And check you room bill from time to time. The pool and staff are all good. Would recommend excellent massage!!! With all that I would like to come back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette53-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lluis Miquel G, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Dear Mrs. Jeanette53-12,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with all the TripAdvisor users, especially regarding your opinion concerning the all employees of our hotel, we are all very aware of your wishes to make your stay an unforgettable holidays.

We are glad you liked our Red Level Service and we would like to thank you for recommending our YHI Wellness Area.

We look forward to seeing you next year, please do not hesitate to contact us to prepare your next stay.

Greetings from heart,

Lluis M. González
E-Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The good things first...
The location is well nigh perfect...with lovely views overlooking the pools and further on, to the beach.
The room is cleaned twice more often than not. The toiletries were well stocked.The wifi is passable. The Ac, shower, bidet (yay!) beds were all top notch and very comfortable.
The staff were all very good and made efforts to accommodate requests ranging from making the extra bed at 10 pm at night, to printing out stuff, to getting fruit for my toddler.
The breakfast was another highlight with a massive range of cereal, fresh fruit, cheeses, cuts of meat, different types of bread, and a decent range of cooked food.
We spent a good hour and a half at breakfast stocking ourselves up for the day...
When we went around the 19th of september, the season was petering off but it was still warm enough.
The pool area was nice, although we didnt go for any extras like the balinese beds or the spa.
I have sympathy with some of the comments in terms of it not being a 5 star hotel, however for the purposes of staying in a comfortable, decent hotel with good access to the beach it was more than adequate.

I will now come to the cons

The biggest grouse i had was that i made the mistake of going halfboard.
The dinner was in a nice restaurant with decent surroundings. However they charged us for the water we had with the food. Al right...so its a 5 star hotel but the menu was mind numbing and nauseatingly monotonous with a selection of sea bass, turbot , prawn rice, (no vegetarian option/no chicken). The menu never wavered from its faithful choice of ...did i mention turbot, sea bass, prawn rice etc. and if you are staying on for more than a week you will feel like stuffing the turbot up someones Andalucian innards.
Ok rant over.

Another issue i had was with one of the women at breakfast trying to convince us to go the peurto banus Melia hotel which she stated is child friendly and has bigger rooms.
As an incentive she offered us a spa treatment each. So Dutifully we trotted along to this hotel intending to listen to a time-share speil.
Unfortunately we were allocated a moron who sat down, asked us some questions with a glazed expression on his face and unilaterally decided that the timeshare wasnt for us....So far So good!
However when we come back to the hotel...no sign of any free spa. So an Hour of my holiday time wasted...
Serves us right i suppose.

So in summary ---Good hotel.great breakfast, close to the beach , avoid halfboard and stay away from temptation... and fun will be had...

Room Tip: Higher floors and go for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank docppm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lluis Miquel G, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Dear Mr. Docppm,

First of all we would like to thank you indeed for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your opinion.

We really appreciate your comments, do not hesitate that we will take good note about them in order to keep improving our service, ensuring a good quality service and guest satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcoming you again and making your stay an unforgettable experience

Greetings from heart,

Lluis M. González
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.4 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#7 of 70 in Marbella
1,408 reviews
2.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,753 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#10 of 70 in Marbella
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
6.0 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#13 of 70 in Marbella
1,518 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Don Pepe

Address: Jose Melia s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#8 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £155 - £1,060 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Don Pepe 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Melia Don Pepe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Don Pepe Hotel Marbella
Gran Melia Marbella
Gran Melia Hotel Marbella
Don Pepe Marbella
Don Pepe Hotel Marbella
Gran Melia Don Pepe Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing