We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refined and Stylish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Melia Don Pepe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Refined and Stylish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

2nd year running we have stayed.... this time in a mountain view room which was spacious and clean. There is a classy "oldy worldy" charm about this hotel which is hard to define, great location with exit directly through the cappuccino beach cafe which doubles for a cocktail bar as part of the hotel fronting onto the palm lined walkway which runs from centre of Marbella to Puerto Banus.

There is work going on around part of the pool area which should have been undertaken in the winter time.and no mention of it on any website. But this was a minor issue and didn't intefere with our enjoyment.Just a distraction.

Breakfast buffet was great with lots of variety and all the staff we came across were courteous and helpful,

We will be returning ....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Garry P,

We would like to start by thanking you for the nice review you shared on TripAdvisor about Gran Meliá Don Pepe and for the time you have spent to write it. We are glad that you have enjoyed a lovely holiday. Referring to your experience in our restaurants, we are really delighted to read that you liked the Cappuccino at the amazing promenade with beautiful views.

The unexpected work at the pool area we had to do for safe and healthy reasons. But it is nearly everything done and our clients are enjoying the sun around the whole pool area.
We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our big variety breakfast. We have high standards and we are constantly improving our quality and service.
Thank you again and hopefully we can welcome you soon again.

Greetings from the heart

abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.com

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    365
    105
    31
    34
See reviews for
377
784
53
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I'm a new fan of Melia, but the Don Pepe disappointed me in that the hotel is schizophrenic. Some of the rooms are old, depressing in an 80s three-four star faded look. Others (the red level ocean suites) are new and very cool. The website, unfortunately, trumpets the new ones, and by the time I checked in and realised what I was getting, there were no new rooms available (they're also slightly more expensive). I hate it when hotels do that.

On the plus side, really nice staff, great breakfast buffet, nice pool.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank RayKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E: Red GLove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear RayKhoo,

Greetings from Gran Meliá Don Pepe! I would like to thank you very much for your feedback.
I am really sorry to learn that some of our room categories did not meet your expectations.

On the past years, we have been continuously renewing certain areas and outlets of the hotel and it is our intention to continue this way. Our main goal is to overexceed our guests expectations and to create memorable and unforgettable experiences.

Your comments are very welcome and will be conveyed to the rest of the management team to be used to help us in our endeavour to continuously improve upon our standards.

We would love to receive another chance from you.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for anything you might need.

abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.com


Greetings from heart,

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Excellent location on beachfront, great view, shame about the building work refurbishment at time over our stay would have been good to have known this before choosing hotel, but would definitely go back when finished as all improvements for the better. Not sure that the red level lounge was worth the extra and very quiet, also the red level room was missing many of the features offered and we had to chase for them. Would return but probably not book red level again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
4 Thank Zavienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Zavienna,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us in the Gran Meliá Don Pepe. I do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay due to the work. It was something unexpected we had to do for health and safety reasons, always considering the best option for our guests.
Regarding the Red Level Lounge and Red Level rooms they are very much requested for the exceptional service we offer. Indeed there are many extras you can ask for during the stay. Due to our guests have different expectations we send them a card to the room with all possible options. Therefore they can choose up to their wishes to have for example a Wii or Playstation 3, different aromas or different kind of pillows.

Looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back and to inform you about all the advantages recording the Red Level Service.
I will be very glad, if the next time you come to Marbella you may contact me, therefore I will assure that you have a magical experience in our hotel.

Greetings from the heart

abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.com

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I do not normally write reviews and the ONLY reason I am is to express our gratitude to the staff, particularly Abel (Manager) for their hospitality and attention to detail.
Marbella was not our original destination and it is true to say that we were disappointed on arrival due to renovations which we had no idea were taking place. Although initially we experienced teething problems the staff did everything they could to make our stay, amongst others, as relaxed as possible, rectifying any problems efficiently.
The weather was glorious.
The Hotel ideally located with wonderful views.
Breakfast is EXCELLENT.
I am quite sure the hotel will excel under the watchful eye of Abel who appears to be doing everything- everywhere in order to oversee the smooth running of operations. Nothing is too much
for him and he assists in all aspects.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Sea View. Red level. Ocean suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear N F,

First of all we hope you have had a pleasant journey back home after staying at the Gran Meliá Don Pepe.

Also we would like to thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to write such wonderful words. We very much appreciate your kind comments and we are happy to know that our location and breakfast meet your expectations completely.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests because our principal aim is provide you with the best of our attention for make your stay an unforgettable memory. We are very proud to know that our staff make the difference during your stay and exceed your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in a near future and keep providing with the best of our service! Please contact me for anything you may need

abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.com

Greetings from the heart

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days at the end of April as a last minute thing. We are a family of three and we took our parents with us. The weather on each day was in the mid 70's.

The hotel is stunning and definitely deserves it's 5 stars. We took a classic room with mountain view and we were very satisfied with the size and decoration of the room (we also had our 11 year old in the same room using a bed settee). The mountain view is the least expensive but appears to be bigger than the more expensive sea facing classic and superior rooms. The pool area is beautiful and we enjoyed eating at the hotel restaurants at lunch time. The Cappuccino cafe was our favourite as it 's got an amazing view and a buzzing atmosphere.

The hotel is situated on the beach but we found that there were not many people using it. Perhaps it is busier in high season.

The hotel is a 20-25 minute slow walk to old town Marbella along one of the most beautiful promenades I have ever walked along with plenty of shops and bars along the way. You pay a premium for eating in the centre of Orange Square and we found it much better value and nicer eating in one of the cobbled streets in Old Town just off orange square. There were
Plenty of taxis around at night and approx 8 euros back to the hotel.

As a family we have only ever returned to a hotel once but this is a hotel that we would love to return to. All family members agreed that it was one of the best holiday trips that we have ever had.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank PhOebe2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E: Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear PhOebe2010,

Thank you for the time you have taken to write this excellent review of the hotel Gran Meliá Don Pepe. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our rooms and facilities, specially our Restaurants Cappuccino, T-Bone Summer and the Pool bar.

It is due to the dedication and effort of our staff that we are able to offer our guests the most exclusive and pleasant experiences. Thank you again for sharing your opinion and we are very delighted to hear that the whole family is thinking about another visit to the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Gran Meliá Don Pepe and do not hesitate to contact me before your arrival.

abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.com

Greetings from the heart

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

This is my first time writing a review but as I was so impressed by this hotel I had to share. There was one low point and I will mention this at the start but please don't be put off by it, I am adding it to make you aware as i believe it was a mistake.

We arrived on a Sunday and where welcomed with a glass of champagne. The reception where extremely welcoming, although there was a mix up through the agent we booked with and they where trying to tell us we weren't booked in, which was embarrassing we had to take are luggage back outside rummage through emails to find who we booked with send the email to the hotel and then for them to look through it and get manager etc was embarrassing to say the least, and I felt the they should of been more accommodating so we didn't walk out of the premises in front of other guests, but it was soon fixed and they where very apologetic. Note: have your print outs with you of your booking. Are luggage was taken up to are room. The room was cosy, there was plenty of room for two people. Our balcony received a lot of sun till mid day which was nice. We headed down to the pool where the AMAZiNG friendly pool staff made us welcome and comfortable and attending to are every need. I have to really express how nice these guys are, that lug around the sun beds, cushions, towels, they really go above and beyond their line of work to make you welcome,and even though a tip is not expected I would urge anyone to just give a small token of appreciation. As it is always those who get forgotten. We lay by the pool which was fabulous, they have a pool for all purposes,indoor pool, kids pool and adults pool. The sun beds surround all areas which makes it nice if you do or don't have kids re: noise. We had breakfast included which I recommended, go down to the buffet, it's is breath taking each counter is spotted around the room, fruit counter, ham counter, bread counter, sweet tooth counter, hot food counter,. Kids breakfast corner counter, champagne counter. I would recommend the oranges they so fresh, beautiful way to start the day.
There is restaurants, grills, chocolate corner by the pool, bars inside and out, access to the beach, gym the list goes on. One other place I must say is cappuccino's on your way down to the beach from the hotel you will go through this restaurant the go to the beach, it is of a high standards as well as the food and service, and a lovely evening drink over looking the beach is a treat.

I would finally recommend using the sports facilities, we hired bikes for the day and it was lovely to go for a cycle down to Puerto Banus along the promenade, you can go the whole way.

There is also a kids club that takes up nearly all of the day which is great for them to make friends and enjoy the amenities too.

I would love to keep writing but I will summaries this hotel as outstanding the service is so welcome and helpful, even down to the maintenance of the gardens it baffles me how they manage it all.

We have come to Marbella many times and stayed in a families property this hotel made us feel at home which is important.
As we sit here on our last day I just felt if you are looking for it all I would highly recommend you to come this hotel and experience it for yourself.

Thank you to all the lovely staff, hope to return soon,

Chantal & Robert :-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E: Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Chantal,

We would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Marbella. May I offer my sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your check in. We will appreciate if you may contact us before your next visit in order to make sure that your travel agency has sent us all the information about your booking and we can provide you with the best service and a warm welcome.
We were so pleased to read that you have enjoyed the service at our amazing pool area and were impressed by our Team. Their passion to deliver above and beyond and to exceed our guest expectations every day, is the reason of our profession.
Also our Restaurants you have mentioned are offering a fabulous service and quality. Our T-Bone Restaurant, the new Asian Restaurant Tahini and our Chocolate Corner Darcis are very much visited by our guests.

For all the entire staff of the Gran Melia Don Pepe it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.


abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.com

Greetings from the heart,


Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at the Don Pepe. We opted for a room on the red level floors and also a superior sea level room. I won't list all the extras this entails (you can check the website) but it well worth the extra and is excellent value for money. The staff are 1st class and really go out of their way to look after you. Make sure you take the breakfast option as it's superb and has a fantastic choice of fresh quality options. This will be our venue of choice for Marbella now if we are looking to stay in a hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear John F,

On behalf of the entire team we would like to thank you for having chosen the Gran Melia Don Pepe.
We are very grateful that you have taken some of your valuable time to let us know your personal opinion about our hotel and the service that we provide. The Red Level Lounge is indeed one of our best values. Our guests can enjoy high quality snacks and drinks during the day or a glass of wine on the Red Level Terrace with an amazing view over the pool area and the sea.
Your kind comments will serve as an inspiration to maintain the high standards that you have had during your stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future. For anything you may need do not hesitate to contact me under abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.com

Greetings from the heart

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.6 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
2.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Don Pepe

Property: Gran Melia Don Pepe
Address: Jose Melia s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Business Hotel in Marbella
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Don Pepe 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Melia and Priceline so you can book your Gran Melia Don Pepe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Don Pepe Hotel Marbella
Gran Melia Marbella
Gran Melia Hotel Marbella
Don Pepe Marbella
Don Pepe Hotel Marbella
Gran Melia Don Pepe Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing