We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 1 week in May , and I must say that everything was perfect . The location is close to the casco antiguo and the constitution Park, where we find many playgrounds for our daughter. The service in the hotel was as I expected . The swimming pool , with sea water , is marvelous ; breakfast is something that you have to experience , I travel all year round and had never seen something as complete as that . A special thank to Abel who helped us throughout the stay with our daughter.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Eirecrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Eirecrew,

First of all, I would like to thank you for the beautiful and lovely words you have written in your review regarding your last stay with us at the Gran Meliá Don Pepe.
The entire team is delighted to know that you have enjoyed your trip to Marbella and we helped to turn it into a brillant experience thanks to the staff and the services you have tried like the breakfast. We are very proud to see that we are able to make your stay a special and unforgettable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Marbella and try to exceed your expectations again.

For anything you may need do not hesitate to contact me.

abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.com

Greetings from the heart

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 1,837 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

A superb hotel for our honeymoon. The hotel ambiance, staff, facilities & weather made this a perfect setting. Definately recommended & we will return when we can. The red level service was a special touch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Paul O,

Thank you for your comments and for your positive views about Gran Meliá Don Pepe. It is delightful to know how much you have enjoyed your stay and that you had a wonderful honeymoon. The red level service with all the facilities like you have mentioned is a special touch and we constantly endeavor to exceed our guests expectations.

On behalf of the entire team we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

I remain at your disposal for any further assistance.

Greetings from the heart

abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.com

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at the Gran Melia Don Pepe over a long weekend with our two young kids.

Overall the hotel is in very good beachfront location in walking distance (around 20 minutes) from the center of Marbella. The hotel is well maintained and has a very nice garden and pool. Decoration in the public areas of the hotel is nice but feels a bit messy - it reminded us a bit of a furniture shop (different style in every corner).

As we were traveling with small children we preferred to dine in the hotel and we there were quite a few good options. We mostly enjoyed the Cappuccino cafe (for simple lunch) and the Japanese Tahini - both with great sea view. At the lobby bar there was an excellent (and reasonably prices) offer of great wines by the glass (including top wines like Vega Sicilia).

We felt that the service attitude and friendliness of the staff was excellent in all areas. It seems the hotel is very well managed and the people who work there do enjoy that workplace. This reflects in the service. We were also very positively surprised how fast special requests (like extra towels, or a pack of milk) were delivered to the room. Service is certainly a strong point.

However there were a couple of things which were not that great:

We felt that the room - considering the level and price of the hotel - was fairly disappointing. Overall the rooms in the hotel seem to be very small. We booked a mountain view room as these are a bit larger but it felt like an average 4* hotel room. We had a look at a sea view room. Those are even smaller but the view and the balcony give a different feel to the room. If we visit again we will certainly book a sea view room.

We also noted that hotel guests need to pay for the sun beds on the beach. Those are quite expensive for 20 Euro per sun bed. The reason for that is that apparently the beach is managed by a 3rd party and not the hotel. Considering the main selling point of a beach resort is the beach, this was maybe not the smartest decision by the hotel management. Not surprisingly the sun beds on the beach stayed mostly empty all the day, while the pool area was full of people.

Overall a nice luxury resort, slightly disappointing rooms, but excellent service.

Room Tip: Avoid the mountain view rooms (no balcony, city hotel feel). Take a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marco_Polo_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Mr. Marco_Polo_73,

Many thanks for taking your time in sharing your experience at Gran Meliá Don Pepe throughout Tripadvisor Community. I am sure your opinion will help other travelers and it help us to know how your stay was.

We are very happy to know that you spent a wonderful time in the Hotel and you enjoyed all our services and location just in front of the beach. Cappuccino, the beach club, and Tahini, our Asiatic restaurant are actually excellent gastronomic options for our guests, as well as our T-Bone grill, located in the Liquid Garden of the Hotel, that we hope you visit during your next stay.

We very much appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and our excellent service; we do our best in taking care of our guests and making sure that all of you spend a magic and unforgettable time in Marbella.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future, I remind at your complete disposal.

Abel Lopez Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just returned home after a week at the gorgeous Gran Melia Don Pepe. All of the staff, particularly Anja and Abel, made this holiday extra special. There was nothing they would not do if they could to make your visit perfect. Beautiful grounds, great location and very classy decor throughout. Red Level was worth the extra cost and the all day private lounge was perfect for us. Breakfast was marvellous. Hotel restaurants were grossly overpriced but there are so many other dining options nearby that this was not a problem. Will most definitely return again and again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Mr Steven R

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for the beautiful and lovely words you have written in your review regarding your last stay with us. It is really nice for us to know that you have had an incredible experience with us and that you enjoyed our hotel, specially our exclusive Red Level service. I will inform Anja about your comments and all the entire staff at Gran Meliá Don Pepe.

It will be my pleasure to welcome you back.

abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.com

Greetings from heart,

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

2nd year running we have stayed.... this time in a mountain view room which was spacious and clean. There is a classy "oldy worldy" charm about this hotel which is hard to define, great location with exit directly through the cappuccino beach cafe which doubles for a cocktail bar as part of the hotel fronting onto the palm lined walkway which runs from centre of Marbella to Puerto Banus.

There is work going on around part of the pool area which should have been undertaken in the winter time.and no mention of it on any website. But this was a minor issue and didn't intefere with our enjoyment.Just a distraction.

Breakfast buffet was great with lots of variety and all the staff we came across were courteous and helpful,

We will be returning ....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Garry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Garry P,

We would like to start by thanking you for the nice review you shared on TripAdvisor about Gran Meliá Don Pepe and for the time you have spent to write it. We are glad that you have enjoyed a lovely holiday. Referring to your experience in our restaurants, we are really delighted to read that you liked the Cappuccino at the amazing promenade with beautiful views.

The unexpected work at the pool area we had to do for safe and healthy reasons. But it is nearly everything done and our clients are enjoying the sun around the whole pool area.
We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our big variety breakfast. We have high standards and we are constantly improving our quality and service.
Thank you again and hopefully we can welcome you soon again.

Greetings from the heart

abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.com

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I'm a new fan of Melia, but the Don Pepe disappointed me in that the hotel is schizophrenic. Some of the rooms are old, depressing in an 80s three-four star faded look. Others (the red level ocean suites) are new and very cool. The website, unfortunately, trumpets the new ones, and by the time I checked in and realised what I was getting, there were no new rooms available (they're also slightly more expensive). I hate it when hotels do that.

On the plus side, really nice staff, great breakfast buffet, nice pool.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank RayKhoury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E: Red GLove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear RayKhoo,

Greetings from Gran Meliá Don Pepe! I would like to thank you very much for your feedback.
I am really sorry to learn that some of our room categories did not meet your expectations.

On the past years, we have been continuously renewing certain areas and outlets of the hotel and it is our intention to continue this way. Our main goal is to overexceed our guests expectations and to create memorable and unforgettable experiences.

Your comments are very welcome and will be conveyed to the rest of the management team to be used to help us in our endeavour to continuously improve upon our standards.

We would love to receive another chance from you.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for anything you might need.

abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.com


Greetings from heart,

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Excellent location on beachfront, great view, shame about the building work refurbishment at time over our stay would have been good to have known this before choosing hotel, but would definitely go back when finished as all improvements for the better. Not sure that the red level lounge was worth the extra and very quiet, also the red level room was missing many of the features offered and we had to chase for them. Would return but probably not book red level again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
4  Thank Zavienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Zavienna,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us in the Gran Meliá Don Pepe. I do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay due to the work. It was something unexpected we had to do for health and safety reasons, always considering the best option for our guests.
Regarding the Red Level Lounge and Red Level rooms they are very much requested for the exceptional service we offer. Indeed there are many extras you can ask for during the stay. Due to our guests have different expectations we send them a card to the room with all possible options. Therefore they can choose up to their wishes to have for example a Wii or Playstation 3, different aromas or different kind of pillows.

Looking forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back and to inform you about all the advantages recording the Red Level Service.
I will be very glad, if the next time you come to Marbella you may contact me, therefore I will assure that you have a magical experience in our hotel.

Greetings from the heart

abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.com

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.4 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#8 of 70 in Marbella
1,429 reviews
2.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,778 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
3.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
977 reviews
6.0 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#13 of 70 in Marbella
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Don Pepe

Address: Jose Melia s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Business Hotel in Marbella
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £151 - £783 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Don Pepe 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Don Pepe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Don Pepe Hotel Marbella
Gran Melia Marbella
Gran Melia Hotel Marbella
Don Pepe Marbella
Don Pepe Hotel Marbella
Gran Melia Don Pepe Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing