We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My mum and I visited this hotel for a short break in the sun for some much needed rest and recuperation. We arrived at the beautiful reception and were greeted with a welcome glass of bubbly. On arriving in our lovely room we found awaiting us, a bottle of bubbly on ice, fresh strawberries and chocolate, fresh flowers and Clarins bath products. Heaven!!!! The decor is stylish, everywhere is spotlessly clean, the food choice in the various eating places is excellent and the breakfast buffet one of the best we have ever had. The champagne and oyster bar was fabulous! The staff are all genuinely friendly and helpful. The hotel manager Abel is exceptional - attentive, friendly and always on hand if needed to ensure your stay is perfect. The spa was lovely and we both enjoyed a relaxing treatment with the very professional therapist. Between us we have travelled to a lot of places around the world but for me this was my first visit to Marbella. I had heard mixed reviews of the resort but I found it charming. The location of the hotel overlooking the beach and set on the long promenade full of shops and eating places was great. It was not overly touristy like some resorts but relaxing and classy. If we had to have one tiny criticism it would be that out of the many tv channels in the hotel room, the only english speaking ones were just news channels. It would be nice to have an entertainment channel to watch in the event you have an early night or are in your room having a rest. It was a lovely relaxing break in a perfect place and we would definitely return. FABULOUS!!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Loha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Louf 60,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful feedback on your recent visit to the Gran Meliá Don Pepe. I am delighted to read how highly you valued the services and all the facilities.

The entire team is delighted to know that you have enjoyed your trip to Marbella and we helped to turn it into a brilliant experience thanks to the staff and all the services you have tried like the Oyster & Caviar Bar, our exceptional breakfast or treatments at our Spa.

We are very proud to see that we were able to make your stay a special and unforgettable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back and exceed your expectations again.

Greetings from the heart

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    394
    109
    34
    35
See reviews for
399
827
56
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a fantastic 5 nights in the Don Pepe, I had not been there for 20 years and thought that it may be dated by now. Much to my surprise the quality and standard of décor and cleanliness is just as good as when I used to stay there in the 90's, if not better. The Staff are fantastic and the Red Level service is well worth the extra money as there is an all day lounge available with cava, wine, beers and snacks from 11am till 8pm.
The general managers attention to detail and customer service is 5 star plus!
I would recommend you take up the 30 minutes free tennis lesson (Given with the red level rooms) The tennis pro (Ernesto) is a very good teacher and excellent with children. My 7yr old son loved every lesson.

Room Tip: Go for the red level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Horacio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E: Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Horacio R,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen the Gran Meliá Don Pepe again after so many years.

We really much appreciate your comments and we are delighted to know that we exceed your expectations regarding the Red Level Service. Indeed the Red Level Lounge with the beautiful Chill Out terrace is perfect to have a drink or a snack during the day or in the evening until 21 hours.
I have shared your feedback with the rest of the team especially Ernesto and they were very happy to know that our effort is highly appreciated by our guests.

We hope to see you soon in Marbella and welcome you again in our hotel.

Greetings from the heart

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

stayed here mid April and paid for red level, high floor and sea view. Good quality room with excellent view and useful balcony. Enjoyed the extras through the red level and the evening cocktails. Nice wlak alongthe promenade to both puerto banus and marbella. New japaneese restaurant was wonderful. Great view from terrace and food sublime. Excellent help from the waitnig staff to chose complimentary dishes.
Red Level staff extremely helpful arranging trips and visits. We had a wonderful and relaxing holdiay and will probably go again.

Room Tip: Pay for red level and sea view. Ask for a high floor - floor seven is just belwo the penthouses and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaPrime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Teresa Pri,

We are so pleased to know that your stay with us was special and memorable and all the services we have fully reached your expectations.

We are very proud of our Exclusive Red Level and it is nice to hear that the service like the daily cocktail in our Oyster & Caviar Bar met your expectations and has helped you to enjoy even more your stay.

As you have mentioned the Asian Restaurant Tahini has indeed a fabulous kitchen and it is very much visited from our guests and from there you have access to the lovely promenade.

We will inform the entire staff about your nice words and we hope to welcome you soon back in the hotel Gran Meliá Don Pepe.

Greetings from the heart

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 1 week in May , and I must say that everything was perfect . The location is close to the casco antiguo and the constitution Park, where we find many playgrounds for our daughter. The service in the hotel was as I expected . The swimming pool , with sea water , is marvelous ; breakfast is something that you have to experience , I travel all year round and had never seen something as complete as that . A special thank to Abel who helped us throughout the stay with our daughter.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Eirecrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Eirecrew,

First of all, I would like to thank you for the beautiful and lovely words you have written in your review regarding your last stay with us at the Gran Meliá Don Pepe.
The entire team is delighted to know that you have enjoyed your trip to Marbella and we helped to turn it into a brillant experience thanks to the staff and the services you have tried like the breakfast. We are very proud to see that we are able to make your stay a special and unforgettable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Marbella and try to exceed your expectations again.

For anything you may need do not hesitate to contact me.

abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.com

Greetings from the heart

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A superb hotel for our honeymoon. The hotel ambiance, staff, facilities & weather made this a perfect setting. Definately recommended & we will return when we can. The red level service was a special touch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Paul O,

Thank you for your comments and for your positive views about Gran Meliá Don Pepe. It is delightful to know how much you have enjoyed your stay and that you had a wonderful honeymoon. The red level service with all the facilities like you have mentioned is a special touch and we constantly endeavor to exceed our guests expectations.

On behalf of the entire team we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

I remain at your disposal for any further assistance.

Greetings from the heart

abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.com

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at the Gran Melia Don Pepe over a long weekend with our two young kids.

Overall the hotel is in very good beachfront location in walking distance (around 20 minutes) from the center of Marbella. The hotel is well maintained and has a very nice garden and pool. Decoration in the public areas of the hotel is nice but feels a bit messy - it reminded us a bit of a furniture shop (different style in every corner).

As we were traveling with small children we preferred to dine in the hotel and we there were quite a few good options. We mostly enjoyed the Cappuccino cafe (for simple lunch) and the Japanese Tahini - both with great sea view. At the lobby bar there was an excellent (and reasonably prices) offer of great wines by the glass (including top wines like Vega Sicilia).

We felt that the service attitude and friendliness of the staff was excellent in all areas. It seems the hotel is very well managed and the people who work there do enjoy that workplace. This reflects in the service. We were also very positively surprised how fast special requests (like extra towels, or a pack of milk) were delivered to the room. Service is certainly a strong point.

However there were a couple of things which were not that great:

We felt that the room - considering the level and price of the hotel - was fairly disappointing. Overall the rooms in the hotel seem to be very small. We booked a mountain view room as these are a bit larger but it felt like an average 4* hotel room. We had a look at a sea view room. Those are even smaller but the view and the balcony give a different feel to the room. If we visit again we will certainly book a sea view room.

We also noted that hotel guests need to pay for the sun beds on the beach. Those are quite expensive for 20 Euro per sun bed. The reason for that is that apparently the beach is managed by a 3rd party and not the hotel. Considering the main selling point of a beach resort is the beach, this was maybe not the smartest decision by the hotel management. Not surprisingly the sun beds on the beach stayed mostly empty all the day, while the pool area was full of people.

Overall a nice luxury resort, slightly disappointing rooms, but excellent service.

Room Tip: Avoid the mountain view rooms (no balcony, city hotel feel). Take a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco_Polo_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Mr. Marco_Polo_73,

Many thanks for taking your time in sharing your experience at Gran Meliá Don Pepe throughout Tripadvisor Community. I am sure your opinion will help other travelers and it help us to know how your stay was.

We are very happy to know that you spent a wonderful time in the Hotel and you enjoyed all our services and location just in front of the beach. Cappuccino, the beach club, and Tahini, our Asiatic restaurant are actually excellent gastronomic options for our guests, as well as our T-Bone grill, located in the Liquid Garden of the Hotel, that we hope you visit during your next stay.

We very much appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and our excellent service; we do our best in taking care of our guests and making sure that all of you spend a magic and unforgettable time in Marbella.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future, I remind at your complete disposal.

Abel Lopez Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned home after a week at the gorgeous Gran Melia Don Pepe. All of the staff, particularly Anja and Abel, made this holiday extra special. There was nothing they would not do if they could to make your visit perfect. Beautiful grounds, great location and very classy decor throughout. Red Level was worth the extra cost and the all day private lounge was perfect for us. Breakfast was marvellous. Hotel restaurants were grossly overpriced but there are so many other dining options nearby that this was not a problem. Will most definitely return again and again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Mr Steven R

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for the beautiful and lovely words you have written in your review regarding your last stay with us. It is really nice for us to know that you have had an incredible experience with us and that you enjoyed our hotel, specially our exclusive Red Level service. I will inform Anja about your comments and all the entire staff at Gran Meliá Don Pepe.

It will be my pleasure to welcome you back.

abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.com

Greetings from heart,

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.3 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
2.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Don Pepe

Property: Gran Melia Don Pepe
Address: Jose Melia s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Business Hotel in Marbella
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Don Pepe 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Melia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gran Melia Don Pepe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Don Pepe Hotel Marbella
Gran Melia Marbella
Gran Melia Hotel Marbella
Don Pepe Marbella
Don Pepe Hotel Marbella
Gran Melia Don Pepe Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing