We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Spent a week here as a red level guest returning on 13 June. The staff were absolutely wonderful. Dead light bulbs etc were replaced immediately they were reported, good humour and assistance were on tap and we simply could not have been treated any better. Special thanks to Abel and the red glove team. We had access to the Red Level lounge which had snacks, soft drinks and beer available free from 11 each day and a full free bar between 6 and 8 each evening. We liked the way the hotel dealt with the perennial problem of the dreaded towels on sun beds from 4 a.m. When you go to the pool, one of the pool attendants greets you, asks where you would like to sunbathe and then escorts you there and provides you with towels. How very sophisticated! We opted for a Bali bed for 3 days of our stay which we thought worth it. Special thanks to Rafael at the pool who was absolutely amazing and did all he could to help us enjoy our poolside experience. We found the room and balcony to be on the small side but it was well equipped, kept spotlessly clean and had a terrific view of the Med. The hotel is in an excellent location, very close to a host of restaurants in both directions. We would recommend Cappuccino which is attached to the hotel and where the food and service were excellent. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. Breakfast had something for everyone although the selection of cereals (very important to my wife) was poor. Only two minor issues worth mentioning. Firstly, the hotel is quite stingy with the coffee for the in-room Nespresso machine. You get three capsules a day and one of them is always decaff (never understood the point of that). Secondly, the TV channels are all foreign. True, you do get BBC World News which is excellent if you want to understand the latest pig farming techniques in Outer Mongolia but please can we have Sky News? An English newspaper in the lounge would also be welcome. But I digress. We had a wonderful holiday attended by amazing staff. Will we go back? Absolutely!

Room Tip: High floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Mr. Mike B,

We would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Gran Meliá Don Pepe and for publishing such inspiring and motivating words on Tripadvisor, which will help us with our continuing effort to improve the services quality for our guests.

Be sure that we will share your experience with all our team, especially with Rafael. We take good note about your advices for the breakfast and the TV channels. We kindly remember you that every channel can be swapped to original version, therefore most of the movies and series can be watched in English. Please, next time tell us which is your favorite flavor for the Nesspresso machine, we will be delighted to replace them.

Looking forward to meeting you in the near future.

Greetings from the heart,

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 1,871 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from the Don Pepe, we had a wonderful holiday.
Everything about the hotel more than exceeded our expectations; the interior of the hotel and the grounds were well looked after and very pretty.

The quality of the food in the restaurants was excellent, with the breakfast in particular one of the best we have ever seen.

We had upgraded to the Red Level, and the extra facilities this provided and found the extra expenditure worth while.

Every member of staff was really pleasant, and always chatty and helpful. We will certainly be returning for another stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear David L,

We would like to thank you for your kind words regarding your stay in the Gran Meliá Don Pepe.

We are delighted to know that your stay with us was wonderful and the facilities like our Red Level Service, amazing pool area and the restaurants fully reached your expectations.

Especially I would like to thank you for your lovely words regarding our staff, they try to do their job with passion to make the guests feel special and turn their stays into a memorable experience.

Please do not hesitate to come again soon, be assured we will continue doing our best to provide you with more special moments and make you feel home.

Greetings from the heart

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

clean, nice hotel, luxury, very good food, very nice capuccino cafe near the sea, beautiful view, delicious sushi restaurant, good oysters bar, the staff friendly , the only problem with rooms for family with two kids - they have only with mountain view, otherwise the suite is very expensive,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akregiel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear akregiel2013,

I would like to thank you for having chosen us during your visit in Marbella. We are pleased to know, that you had an incredible experience at our hotel Gran Meliá Don Pepe. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the service we provide like our Caviar & Oyster Bar and the Asian Restaurant Tahini.

Thank you again for your kind comments and that your stay with us was special and memorable and the service from our staff fully reached your expectations.

We look forward to look after you and make sure you have a wonderful stay again on your next visit to sunny Marbella.

Greetings from the heart

Able López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This holiday in June 2014 was our 4th visit to this super hotel . The location is right on the promenade which allows a short walk into Marbella Town Centre and the Old Town . The service of all the staff is exceptional , there is also a very talented pianist to entertain after dinner in the lounge bar who has been the resident for over 20 years . I know I shouldn't mention any one specifically , but my wife and I found the Red Glove Service to be a superb part of the hotel staff , which added to our enjoyable stay ,and our " Lady In Red " Anja , certainly made the occasion . We were on the 2nd floor and our room had been refurbished so we found it to be excellent . Having been to this hotel 4 times I would have no hesitation in returning in the future .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Martin B,

Thank you for sharing on Tripadvisor your kind comments about your stay with us at the Gran Meliá Don Pepe.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed a fantastic Gran Meliá experience! Your nice feedback helps us to achieve the excellence in our service.

We are proud to know that you had a wonderful time in our Hotel, and our location and the service from Red Glove Line reached your expectations. We will share your comments with our staff you have mentioned.

On behalf of the team we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Greetings from the heart

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Loved the Don Pepe. Great location. Beautiful rooms, pool, beds, breakfast etc. etc. can find very few faults. The bed was a little hard but that is a personal thing! If you want to really treat yourself stay at the Don Pepe.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkAuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear CorkAuds,

I would like to thank you on behalf of the Gran Melia Don Pepe team for your nice comments regarding your stay with us! Receiving such a lovely review from our guests is the best reward for us.
We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful time and have enjoyed our facilities like the pool area, breakfast and the room. For your next stay we could offer you a mattress topper
which makes the bed softer.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Greetings from the heart

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

After days of searching for the perfect hotel for us in Marbella, we decided to opt for this one. We stayed in April for 5 nights, and there were pros & cons... It is a beautiful hotel, the location is fantastic, and the service cannot faulted. We booked the red level premium sea room on half board basis. We were on the 5th floor, and the view of the sea was amazing! There was a very good variety at breakfast, with platters of fresh bakes & fruits. The let down; part of the hotel was been renovated, and part of the pool was closed. It rained on our first 2 days, and the only indoor pool was cold. The only restaurant where the half board could be used was at the T-bone, where they had a limited menu if you're on half board. We requested to have the half board cancelled and downgraded to B&B, of which we were obliged. The staff are really the star of this hotel, and they made our stay memorable.

Room Tip: The sea view is worth it, and obviously the higher up you are, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oyetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red GLove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Mrs Oyetti,

I would like to thank you for the time you have spent to write us this wonderful review.
The entire team is delighted to know that you have enjoyed your trip to Marbella and we helped to turn it into a brilliant experience thanks to the staff and all the facilities you have tried like the breakfast and the Red Level Service.

We are very proud to see that we were able to make your stay a special and unforgettable one.
I would like to inform you that for half board we have a special menu in our T-Bone Restaurant like you have mentioned and as well we offer the menu of Liquid Garden (Pool bar) and a special tasting menu from our Oyster Bar.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Greetings from the heart

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Gran Melia Don Pepe sits right on the Mediterranean. Its grounds are private but as beach access through a gate which provides quick and easy access to the beach and 'boardwalk'. The grounds of the hotel, specifically the pool area are very nice. The food at the hotel is very good. Most of the rooms provide amazing views of the Mediterranean. We were able to see both Gibraltar and Africa from the balcony of our room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TucsonSams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Mr. TucsonSams,

It is very nice to read your kind comments about Gran Meliá Don Pepe! Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us. It is always a pleasure to know that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and that you have enjoyed the facilities and the surroundings.

Indeed directly from our beautiful pool area you have acces to the beach and the nice promenade where you could have a short walk to Marbella or enjoy a longer one to Puerto Banús. It was a pleasure to serve you and we are looking forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectations again.

For anything you may need, do not hesitate to contact us.

Greetings from the heart

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.4 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#9 of 69 in Marbella
1,441 reviews
2.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 69 in Marbella
1,801 reviews
7.4 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
6.6 mi away
Hotel Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
1 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 69 in Marbella
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Don Pepe

Address: Jose Melia s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Business Hotel in Marbella
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £153 - £1,030 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Don Pepe 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Melia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Don Pepe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Don Pepe Hotel Marbella
Gran Melia Marbella
Gran Melia Hotel Marbella
Don Pepe Marbella
Don Pepe Hotel Marbella
Gran Melia Don Pepe Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing