We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish we could stay there longer...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My family of four spent about three weeks in Germany and Spain. By far, this was our best stop (8 days). The hotel was nice departure from other standoffish luxury hotels in Europe. The sea side room have unbelievable views and the premium is certainly well deserved. This hotel served as an excellent base to drive to places such as Granada (Al Hambra), Cordoba, and it's 40 minute drive from the Malaga airport. Make sure you take a cab and visit the old town in Marbella. One of the Hotel managers Abel (if you read this THANK YOU!) went out of his way to help us in many ways. As a result , we will most likely become regulars at Don Pepe. If you have kids, they will love the pools which are large and beautifully designed. Unlike hotels in the US, you wont see the pool filled with kids with water guns and beach balls. Speaking of the pool, the staff is first class and the options are amazing (One Michelin Star restaurant and another Michelin recommended). One more thing, make sure you try Darci's gelatos. The only negative is that we didn't want to leave the hotel after the 8th day. Can't wait to go back next summer.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nekiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E:Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Nekiv,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen the Gran Meliá Don Pepe after your long journey.

We really much appreciate your comments and we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the hotel beginning from the beautiful sea view from your room and our amazing garden area.

For the children like you have mentioned there is a lot to keep them busy. Our beautiful swimming pools and the kid`s pool next to it or our playground are perfect to spend the day.

The entire team is delighted to know that you have enjoyed your trip to Marbella and we helped to turn it into a brilliant experience thanks to the staff and all the services you have tried like the Restaurants and our Darcis Chocolate Corner

We look forward to welcoming you back and exceed your expectations again.

Greetings from the heart

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 1,882 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel itself seems a little dated but it is still very luxurious. The breakfast is seriously delicious ad there are lots of hot and cold options. The food at the pool bar was average, small and very expensive. The sushi/Italian restaurant downstairs is much better although still quite expensive, which is normal for a 5 star hotel. We have a larger than average room but certainly paid for it. The view of the sea was great and the staff were friendly. I would recommend this hotel but it is quite pricey and not that special.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgraded premium room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GabriellaE134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, Red Glove Service at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Gabriella E,

Thank you very much for choosing Gran Melià Don Pepe as your holiday destination and for having spent some of your valuable time in writing us this review.

It makes us extremely happy to see that you liked our luxurious premises and our amazing seaside location, which are what make us be the perfect choice for your stay in Marbella.

We also appreciate your nice words about our staff. In this hotel our guest are the most important and we work hard every day to give you the best, as that is what you deserve.

If you decide to come back in the future, do not doubt that we will welcome you with open arms.

Greetings from the heart,

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.cm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at the Don Pepe for a week at the end of May. Having stayed at Gran Melia hotels before, we expected a high standard and we were not disappointed. The grounds are kept immaculate as is the pool area. The staff are professional and efficient in all areas and the cleanliness and room facilities are very good together with the service in all the restaurants. We were well looked after by the staff at the Red Level and in particular Anya who even researched for particular shops in the town for us. However we did have a few niggles, we were disappointed that we had to have breakfast indoors as there is an ideal place adjacent to the restaurant for a terrace, which would enable guests to have a choice to eat alfresco! We were also disappointed with the location of the Red Level Zone, this is situated on the first floor of the hotel. To access this from the pool area at lunch time, it is necessary to walk through the hotel and as there is a dress code, which we approve of, a change from swimwear is necessary. Also we were surprised and disappointed to find the you are expected to pay for beds on their private beach, a first for us as we have not experienced this at other 5* hotels!. Despite the negatives, we will certainly be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea View Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, E: Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2014

Dear Jean P,

Greetings from Gran Meliá Don Pepe!


Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us through such a presitious website like Tripadvisor. Your opinion and suggestions are more than welcome and we really appreciate it.

We have learnt that it is better to keep the outside breakfast terrace open longer throughout the year. We pretty much depend on the weather conditions but we have taken your comments very seriously. I have already informed our Food & Beverage Director.

With regards to the dress code, we definitely need to keep up the standards. We are in a five stars resort and most of our guests would not tolerate another guest not wearing a T-Shirt or similar. Thank you very much for your understanding.

I will also share your feedback regarding the price of the sunbeds at Cappuccino Beach Club which is independently managed.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for anything you might need.

abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.com

Warm Regards,


Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We spent several nights here in appalling weather being subjected to torrential rain until our last day when the sun shone strongly. The weather didn't spoil our romantic stay though and we particularly enjoyed wandering around the old town trying out various bars and restaurants. I would love to return for a longer stay and hopefully some better weather.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Scottandrachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Scottandrachel,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for having spent some of your valuable time in writing us this review and for having shared your experience with other users of Tripadvisor.

We are happy to know that you had a good time during your stay in the Gran Melià Don Pepe, despite of the rainy weather, which is not common at all in Marbella. For this reason, we encourage you to come back in summertime, when you will be able to enjoy our fantastic pool area and to go for an incredible walk along the promenade, which is right under the hotel.

Once again, thank you very much and we hope to see you soon.

Greetings from heart,

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager
Abel.lopez.ybarra@melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We just returned from a 6 day vacation at the Gran Melia Don Pepe in Marbella. Unfortunately the beginning of our trip was marred by Air France losing our luggage for 2 1/2 days! The hotel front desk staff could not have been more helpful. They called the airlines many times during those first 2 days to follow up with us. I wish I could remember the name of the young lady who assisted us many times during the beginning of our stay. She was truly concerned and very helpful.
Upon check in we we told we were in room 108. I usually don't like the first floor of a hotel (we booked premium ocean view). But the hotel manager personally walked us to the room which is actually equivalent to a 3rd floor room. He wanted to show us the view…which was beautiful!!! A great view of the sea, gardens and pools!!!
This property has everything you could ever want in a resort. The restaurants are wonderful but they out- do themselves with their breakfast buffet. It truly is as gorgeous to look at as it is to eat. The buffet is served either indoors with open glass panels to the gardens, or outdoors on the lawn.
The lobby is a mix of modern luxury and tropical gardens. Everything is light and airy. The various lounges are equally beautiful and comfortable. Live music is everywhere! Our room was a decent size (the furniture was a tad worn…but really thats being picky). The bathroom is typical for european hotels. A bit on the small side but nicely done in all granite. The grounds and landscaping are absolutely amazing. The pools, lawns, patio overlooking the sea, and outdoor restaurants are all feasts for the eyes. There is hotel staff everywhere to assist with anything you need.
Always important…the hotel is spotless. Staff members are always cleaning and polishing or taking care of the grounds. The attention to detail is seen from the moment you arrive to the time you leave.
The one thing that really impressed me was the concierge arranging for a private early breakfast for my wife and I on the day of a trip to Seville. She knew we on the breakfast buffet plan when she booked our day trip. The tour left the hotel at 6:30am. That morning we came downstairs to find a breakfast for 2 set up in the lounge…fresh fruit, cakes, breads, muffins, coffee and juices…. AMAZING!
The location is also perfect. a shot taxi ride to Puerto Banus, or a shorter taxi ride or long walk to Old Town.
Kudos to the staff for making our trip memorable. And especially for assisting us through a difficult start to our vacation.

Room Tip: Try for a room ending in a number higher than 7 (example - 108, or 209) on the lower floors or your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Ron R,

We would like to begin by thanking you very much, not only for choosing Gran Meliá Don Pepe for your holidays, but also for the time you have spent on sharing such a complete description about our service and property.

We are so glad to know that you could appreciate every single detail of our hotel: the breakfast, the lobby, the lounges, our restaurants, the pool, the room, the views and our unique location in Marbella.

As you mentioned, attention to details is crucial for us, and we are happy that you could notice it in our Staff attitude; our main goal is to make our guests live an unique experience and to leave unforgottable memories in them, despite some negative things that may happen in a long travel (as your lost- baggage). Whenever we reach this goal is a great satisfaction for us.

Thank you again for being such a good ambassador of Gran Meliá Don Pepe with your kind words.

We really hope to see you again in the near future,

Kind Regards,

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

my family and i come here year after year for our summer holildays and we are looked after continously throughout by the red level girls, in particular Anya, she was amazing and helped us throughout our stay.
We come here every year as our son has a nut allergy and from day one they have looked after him, hence coming here the last 5 years.
Compared to other hotels along the golden mile, Don Pepe stands out for its luxury, its grounds, its buffet breakfast, very helpful staff and location.
All the conceirge are helpful, from the cleaners to the pool boys to the red level staff, all amazing, and thank you again for a wonderful family summer holiday.
Special thanks again to Anja in the red level area, always being on hand for our every need, thank you.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone from families to couples, they cater for everyone, and as per usual we will be back again next summer for our family holidays.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Chris M,

thank you for the time spent in reporting your feedback as to your recent stay at Gran Meliá Don Pepe.

We are so glad to know that you enjoyed once more your experience here and that you appreciated above all our staff professionalism, besides our facilities and location.

Anja and the whole Staff (conceirge, cleaners, pool boys,red level staff and so on) thank you for your kind comments and for being such a perfect ambassador of our service vocation!

Looking forward to see you next summer!

Kind Regards,

Abel López Ybarra
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Recently returned from 11 nights at the Gran Melia Don Pepe, and missing the fabulous breakfasts we had to start each day. From the moment we checked in, service was exceptional. Upgraded to the Red Level…. and certainly worth it! The girls were friendly and always on hand to deal with any questions we had throughout our stay (Anja & Ana….) and Rodrigo who kept the food and drink stocked up provided an excellent service every day!
The Kids Club was great for our son, a big thank you to Cristina and Peter Pan…. He met many new friends from across Europe and he was always kept entertained with football and water polo!
Abel from the Management team was brilliant! A real professional and a credit to Don Pepe. We’ll certainly be returning in 2015!! Steve, Rachel & Charlie from the UK

Room Tip: book a higher floor with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abel_lopez_ybarra, Red Glove Service Manager at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Rachel A,
thank you for taking the time to write these kind words about your amazing holidays with the whole family at Gran Melia Don Pepe.
We are so glad to know that our breakfast was a fabolous way to start the day and that your son Charlie enjoyed our Kid Club and had a great time with Peter Pan, Cristina and the other children!
Also, thank you to underline the efforts and the positive and friendly attitude of our Staff! This is very important to us.

Looking forward to see you in 2015!

Kind regards,

Abel López Ybarra,
Red Glove Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.4 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#7 of 69 in Marbella
1,450 reviews
2.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 69 in Marbella
1,817 reviews
7.4 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
1 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 69 in Marbella
363 reviews
1 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 69 in Marbella
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Don Pepe

Address: Jose Melia s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#8 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: £187 - £687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Don Pepe 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Melia, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Melia Don Pepe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Don Pepe Hotel Marbella
Gran Melia Marbella
Gran Melia Hotel Marbella
Don Pepe Marbella
Don Pepe Hotel Marbella
Gran Melia Don Pepe Marbella, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing